We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Boutique Hotel in Fernie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernie Slopeside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel in Fernie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, we were there in late June and we had a great stay. I enjoy the total package from relaxation in the fully equipped rooms to the surrounding activities, e.g., Ariel Park, Zipline, Biking, hiking etc. Housekeeping Staff was amazing. Jim from Maintenance was excellent too. We will be back in September. Great rates for the summer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    19
    12
    12
See reviews for
34
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well presented Slopeside property in the heart of Fernie Alpine Resort area. Right location, right size, right price. We arrived very early Saturday morning from Calgary and wondered if we would have to wait for our room to be ready. We needn't have worried. Our initial impressions of the hotel were very favorable, especially the friendly professionalism of the staff at reception. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was amazing. The water pressure was the best I have ever had. We took advantage of the special offer from Groupon and it was worth it. We have stayed at many larger hotels in Fernie, for us this hotel is the one to stay in. I will come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We come to Fernie Slopeside Lodge two or three times a summer. We were amazed to see the rooms which were refurbished. This had to be one of the best values for the amount we paid and the services we got. The entire hotel got a facelift and the rooms are spotless. The Front Desk lady was telling me that the new management has renovated the entire hotel. Job well done. The only concern i have is we had to walk 5 minutes to get to the restaurant. We bought another voucher from Wagjag for July 11th trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 3rd floor. View is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Visited Slopeside Lodge in early March. Spent two nights there. The Lodge is very convenient to the ski area. It's very down to earth, and the staff were quite accommodating. The only real downside was that the parking area was very difficult to access due to heavy snow.

Room Tip: The 200 wing is ground level. It was very accessible. Ski lockers are on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, General Manager at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jody A,

Thank you for your review of Fernie Slope Side. We are glad to hear our location was convenient for your vacation needs close to all resort amenities and chair lifts.

Our apologies with the parking, the resort snow removal try their best to be as efficient as possible for all guests.

We hope to see you again next season.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warman, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Slopeside Lodge. We came for the 3rd night free special offer and were at the lodge for our whole stay in Fernie. Check-in was easy and hassle free. The lockers for boards and gear are super handy (your room key opens your locker). Housecleaning was quick and efficient; we would leave for breakfast and by the time we returned our beds were already made and the bathroom was re-stocked and cleaned!

The free internet was convenient. We didn't utilize the free tea/coffee station, but did enjoy the hot tubs. The hot tubs are small, but we had one to ourselves the one time that we went and thankfully they were nice and HOT - just what you needed after a day on the hill.

The proximity of the lodge to the hill is incredible. We could see when the lifts from our room and didn't have to walk that far to find food. There are so many options for food you really don't have to leave the resort area at all.

The one thing that bothered us was the thin walls. There were no staff in the lodge at night so if fellow tenants were loud in the hallways or TV room, there was no one to shush them. The tenants in the room next to us were sometimes loud but it was more annoying then anything else.

The staff at the lodge are super friendly and helpful. They were all courteous, polite and knowledgeable. We hope to return here with our friends next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountainside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamThiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, General Manager at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Team Thiessen,

Thank you for your great review of Fernie Slope Side. We are so glad to hear that your stay was to your expectation and you made full use of the ski lockers and hot tubs.

Our apologies for the noise inconvenience. Security is available at any time of the night if required, please don't hesitate to contact them if needed.

We hope to see you again next season.

Kind Regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived in Fernie and discovered we were a 10 minute drive to the hill so decided to check the handful of accommodations at the bottom of the hill. We were lucky enough to find a few reasonable priced rooms with a great view at the Slopeside. The room had basic furnishings with rooms recently painted and some new furnishings. There was a mini fridge and coffee maker however no microwave. If you feel the need to warm up food there is a communal microwave in the lounge. Rooms were clean and bathrooms had been updated. There is no restaurant in the lodge itself but you will find a Kelsey's a few minutes walk away in the building next door. There is no pool and the 2 hot tubs are only opened late in the afternoon. This room could use a bit of cleaning and perhaps new tiled floors and a bit of paint. All and all, for the money we paid and the time spent in the room, the Slopeside is an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 178lyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, General Manager at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear 178lyndam,

Thank you for your view of Fernie Slope Side, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback.

Since January 2014 the Lodge has gone through a progressional renovation and has had some more recent updates to furnishing, bedding and appliances since your stay with us in February 2014.

We do hope that we will see you again next season.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having read other reviews I felt I had to add my own.
Late arrivals will need check in at the nearby Lizard Creek hotel as the reception closes at 8pm for the slope side.
The rooms were warm, clean and a good size, we had a family room for 2 of us. A nice size clean bathroom shower over bath with plenty clean towels supplied.
TV tea and coffee making in the room with a small fridge in the room.
A 1st floor lounge area has tea and coffee on the go all day and the use of a microwave is available here.
Ground floor lounge has a TV and comfy chairs and sofas.
On the whole I found the Slope Side lodge, welcoming, friendly, warm and comfortable. The staff are all great and willing to help. The rooms are cleaned on request and all bedding and towels were excellent.
Walk out ski in on the hill was fantastic, a short less than 5 mins to the hill and lifts, ski all the way to the door, lockers in the lower ground floor for all rooms, with great access.
Hot tubs 2 on the lower floor were clean and very welcome sight at the end of the day, extra towels supplied here to, also 2 showers for pre bathing shower.
Convenience store right next door with all daily needs catered for.

Room Tip: Book early for family room, lower ground floor rooms are pet friendly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, General Manager at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Dave A,

Thank you for your positive review of Fernie Slope Side. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking. We are pleased that you made use of the facilities we offer and the location was ideal for your vacation needs.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Slopeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Slopeside Lodge

Property: Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Address: 5339 Fernie Ski Hill Rd, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada (Formerly The Wolfs Den Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Slopeside Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernie Slopeside Lodge, located at the base of Fernie Alpine Resort, is a comfortable ski in/ski out hotel- style accommodation. Relax in your room, complete with cable television, coffee maker and fridge. The Lodge features two indoor hot tubs, lockers for ski and board storage and laundry facilities. Located steps from the village plaza, including Kelsey's Restaurant and the Slopeside Deli, and 5km from the City of Fernie, the Fernie Slopeside Lodge offers convenience for guests to enjoy all that the Elk Valley has to offer in the winter and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fernie Slopeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolfs Den Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing