We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corner Pocket Brasserie - CLOSED

Corner Pocket Brasserie
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Corner Pocket Brasserie is located at the Griz Inn, at Fernie Alpine resort. Ski In - Ski Out. Lunch menu features hearthy lunches, pizzas, salads and much more. Dinner menu presents pizzas, vegetarian choices, steaks and fish. Normal opening hours 11 am - 10 pm - during ski season. In off season the restaurant is available for private events, weddings and corporate functions.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Corner Pocket was our drinks & dining HQ during the Ski Canada Test week March 3-8, 2013. They hosted a couple of lunches as well for the ski techs looking after skis at the test plus a welcome event for the test team. The food was well above average for a typical ski area eatery and the high wood beam ceilings and panoramic view of the Elk Chair base made for a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worst Nachos I've ever had. Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The nachos were disgusting. It was underdone, had to send it back for a second cooking, I dont believe that the cheese is real cheese, if it is it is the absolute worst quality cheese I've ever had. we were the only table in there at 4:30 on a friday and the service was terrible. I would never go back. If you skimp on cheese, what else do you skimp on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zostarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernie
1 review
“the best lunch i've had at ANY ski hill ! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

well i haven't been everywhere but of all the ski hills from whistler to kicking horse to mnt. baker in the U.S., the corner pocket takes the cake.
Great food, timely service and pleasing staff.
being a chef by trade, it's hard to not criticize when you know so much better than what we north americans accept just because we're trained to comply with "the price tag",.. or any "authority",.. but in this restaurants case, as with most things in life, ... you get what you pay for.
it's not a place where you'll get the pre-fab'd burger and fries from ANY and EVERY pub in corporate choked north america.
REAL CHEFS MAKING REAL FOOD !! :)
i will always go back.
thnx!!
(my visits have been all season over the last 3 years,.. T/A won't let me state the 2011 and previous years, so i'm just gonna mark the dec. 2012, for convenience sake.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devotinous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Have sampled all of the restaurants on the mountain and Corner Pocket is unquestionably the best...consistently excellent food, good service and cheaper than Lizard Creek (which is good but depends on what you order)

Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on the hill for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

A lovely restaurant overlooking the base of the ski area. A very varied and interesting menu for lunch. I had superb Chicken and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce, for example. Lunched there 3 times and was a little peeved when on one day the tip was automatically added to the bill. We later found out that this was not policy. This trick had been increasingly evident in Banff on my last visit there. I did not expect it here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leacherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Pocket Brasserie also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing