We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For Money”
Review of La Roma Motel

La Roma Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Roma Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Edmundston
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This low-priced motel is located in a delightful setting just a couple of minutes off the TransCanada Highway. The rooms and swimming pool are clean and the food is excellent. The owners go the extra mile to ensure your needs are accommodated. Highly recommended as a comfortable place to stay. Very much look forward to my next visit.
Barry K

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
41
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It has been a year since I have been at this motel. Again I had a very nice greeting and was surprised to see that in the year they have upgraded the room furnishings. I love the hospitality, the price and the size of the room. I enjoy this motel and plan to stop there again next week on my way home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We hadn't planned on staying at La Roma on our trip through NB but circumstances forced us to stop (bad weather and a lost wallet)
Went we arrived it was late (probably 9pm) there was a nice man at the desk and was very sympathetic to our situation (no id or credit card).
Luckily for us there was a room available and our dog was even permitted in.

The room was basic, clean and had a full bathroom.
There was no noise from the highway or adjacent rooms.

Good value, understanding owners and a good nights rest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here on our way to and from the maritimes. The motel is very accessible from hwy 2 (exit 21). Rooms were clean, pool was clean and the service was prompt and friendly. Food in the restaurant was good and prices were economical.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at La Roma (notice I didn't use the word "slept") on our way to Cape Breton. First impression upon entering the room was not good. The room had such a strong odour of mildew and Fabreeze. I have a strong aversion to chemicals and the smell nearly knocked me over. The décor was definitely dated (but that is not really an issue as long as everything works).

The blinds were not in good shape and they were light coloured so the light from the parking lot glared in through the window all night and the parking lot lights were BRIGHT! It was like daylight in the room. We did not sleep very well and in fact we decided to just get on the road at 5:00 am because we were so uncomfortable and unhappy.

As for the beds...as I pulled back the sheet I noticed a very tiny bug scurry away...not sure what it was but it left me feeling very nervous and a little creeped out all night. Could have been a fluke.

Now for a positive...the grounds are lovely and a nice bonus that they have a pool. This place has a lot of potential but they need to drop some money on updating the rooms and improving things. It was $120 to stay the night...maybe for the area that is not too expensive, but in general that money should get you a decent place to sleep. In my books the room was probably only worth $60-75/night TOPS. Spend the extra $20 and book the Days Inn, in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadajen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edmundston hotels

Bridgewater, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I had called 2 days in advance of my trip through here and indicated that I was on a motorcycle and might be a little late in arriving. I would be on the road for 13+ hours and would be quite hungry. Sandra(the co-owner) said the dining room closed at 8. Due to weather I arrived at 8:15 and they had kept the dining room open for me!! Awesome homecooked meal and a glass of wine. Highly recommended for bike tourers and families.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninjaboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

While being just average or a little better the rooms are clean, thew price is low and the motel is easily accessible off the Trans Canada.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmundston hotels
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Edmundston
Days Inn Edmundston
#2 of 10 in Edmundston
1,389 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Edmundston
Travelodge Edmundston
#8 of 10 in Edmundston
312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Edmundston
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edmundston Hotel
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Edmundston
2.1 mi away
Happy Club & Motel
Happy Club & Motel
#4 of 10 in Edmundston
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roma Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roma Motel

Property: La Roma Motel
Address: 32 Ch Iroquois, Edmundston, New Brunswick E7C 1X5, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Edmundston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Edmundston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Roma Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-owned business awaits you on a peaceful site by the Iroquois River. Relax by taking a walk by the river or a swim in our outdoor pool; finish with a nice home-cooked meal in our licensed restaurant. Only a short distance from shopping with some local browsing. Our clean, comfortable rooms include free coffee, local phone calls, free parking, free WiFi and the possibility of bringing your pet (with some restrictions). Everything necessary to get a good rest before heading on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Roma Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roma Hotel Edmundston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing