We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yah...I wasn't all that "Happy" when I saw the room.”
Review of Happy Club & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Club & Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Edmundston
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yah...I wasn't all that "Happy" when I saw the room.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There are always pros and cons when staying at a mom and pop motel. I get that. I usually stay at the Best Western or Days Inn when commuting to Toronto. This time I decided to change it up and based on the reviews here, booked a night at Happy Motel.

The owners were delightful. Ample parking. The room was clean.

Room felt like I was in a college dorm. The Wifi was awful. The bathroom small and cramped.

I don't expect a lot from a motel with minimal amenities, but those amenities "HAVE" to work.

Next time I will stay at the Days Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backman_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
55
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I'm traveling from Calgary to visit the Maritimes, and this place fit the bill perfectly. The warm welcome I received from the lady at the front desk made my day!! Others have written about the rooms and features so I won't repeat the message, but all in all it was a good, quiet night and well worth the money!! If a person wants more upscale, then by all means pay more, but for the price range it was great :) I'd stop in again for sure!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MikeFitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,367 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I loved Joanne when we stopped in for check-in. We had made our reservation she said she would try to get us a bottom floor room and she did that, which we appreciated. As others have noted she has a great sense of humor and takes an interest in each customer that comes through her door. The room price was reasonable, until the Canadian taxes are added in, but the motel has no control over that aspect. Our room was large. When you walk in there's a small foyer with the bathroom ahead. You need to turn into the bedroom. Lots of storage area, plenty of chairs. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotless. Both heat and A/C available. There is an area outside where you may just sit and chat or read that I thought was really charming. Joanne not only recommended an excellent restaurant she made markings on the local map to ensure we got there. That was a big help. We were really thrilled with our last night in New Brunswick. The business card now only says "Happy Motel".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Located "right" on a busy street hardly qualifies as a convenient location. Vinyl flooring and cheap furniture hardly elicits value ... unless you really are looking for cheap. No closet and Dollar Store towels go hand-in-hand. If all you're looking for is a low priced room, this might fit the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idoforms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have stayed here many times on business, and booked my crew here as well. This is absolutely the best deal in NB. A very fair price gets you an immaculately clean room with a comfortable bed, microwave and small fridge, in a central location.
Joanne has been the perfect hostess for myself and crew, and has made every effort to accommodate every request.
You can stay at the BW for $120, that's fine, or you can stay here for about $60. An easy call.
Furthermore, if you've got business in the generally overpriced (except for Motel Leo) nearby town of Grand Falls, you're better off staying here and driving to and from GF.
Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATidalBore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is an older, no frills motel that has been renovated and updated.

While I have never posted on this site, I have travelled extensively and, at one time, spent almost every working day on the road, mostly at the higher-end hotels (the company paid...). This is the absolute cleanest room I have ever had. The owner even explained how they went with linoleum flooring and blinds so there would be no dust. Excellent choice for anyone with allergies.

Good quality bed. Mini-fridge, microwave and TV.

Cute place with a real attention to detail. Absolutely refreshing. This will be my choice for accommodation in Edmundston. It is a pleasure to support a small business where they are even more a clean freak than I am!

Polite and very accommodating. Given their very low price, book directly so they can make a living and you do not get stuck with one of those non-cancellable bookings through the online services.

Room Tip: facing parking lot is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Travelling from Halifax to Montreal, we just want a clean, safe place to sleep, not too far from the highway, without paying an arm and a leg. Happy Motel is just that, and a little more. Immaculately clean, conveniently located near a convenience store, a coffee shop, a restaurant chain, a fast food place, and a pharmacy, at half the cost of the other hotels ... we just loved staying here and will plan to stay here each time we drive from Halifax westward. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmundston hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Edmundston
Days Inn Edmundston
#2 of 10 in Edmundston
1,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Edmundston Hotel
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Edmundston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Edmundston
Travelodge Edmundston
#8 of 10 in Edmundston
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Edmundston
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Roma Motel
La Roma Motel
#6 of 10 in Edmundston
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Club & Motel

Property: Happy Club & Motel
Address: 33 - 17th St. | Route 2 Exit 18, Edmundston, New Brunswick E3V 2L4, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Edmundston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmundston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Club & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Happy Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Club And Motel
Happy Club Hotel Edmundston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing