We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bodiam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A good English pub/inn adjacent to tourist attraction, Bodiam Castle
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This oldy worldy pub opposite the car park to visual castle does great food. The decor is wonderful and the whole pub and toilets immaculate. A heat host. We had a meal and then got permission to leave the car and walk to the castle saving on car park charges.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    131
    32
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty big meals in village pub!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited Castle Inn in April 2014 with partner for late dinner.

I was staying nearby at the Prince Regent holiday home in Bodium and wanted a local late dinner one night so we headed here and there isn't anything around Bodium.

It was casually busy but soon filtered out and got quiet but it didn't spoil night. I ordered a chicken and mushroom tagliatelle and my partner ordered the burger and chips. I was expecting normal pub grub but was pleasantly surprised by the quality and portion size. There was also a good selection of drinks and special beers on tap.

The atmosphere was friendly and there were a few dogs welcome with drinkers. It is quite dark in there to make a more relaxing atmosphere, maybe a tad too dark, but nice with candles around.

Bar staff were friendly and even chatted with us about the area when it was quiet which was nice as some country pubs don't welcome non-locals sometimes.

Can't think of any cons really! would definitely eat and drink here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelakittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lunch today at The Castle Inn , food was good and the service friendly and considering there were about 15 of us it very quick. Many thanks ,we will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were not expecting such excellent service on this bank holiday weekend. We sat outside in the sunshine after visiting Bodiam Caslte. The food arrived within 5 minutes of being ordered. Service was really excellent. Good quality pub grub at around £10 per head. Very good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food, but bit pricey”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 6 and booked a table to ensure we could be seated during a busy back holiday weekend. The service was quick and the food was superb. My only gripe was I thought it was a bit expensive at. £3.50 for a bowl of chips and £5 for ice cream!

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Ewhurst Green, East Sussex
 
Sedlescombe, East Sussex
Robertsbridge, East Sussex
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing