We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely country pub with gourmet food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Bodiam
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A good English pub/inn adjacent to tourist attraction, Bodiam Castle
Hastings
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A lovely country pub with gourmet food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I organise a monthly social meal for a local charity and this month I decided a country pub would be a good idea. This pub and restaurant seemed to fit our requirements so I contacted the landlord/chef, James. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He prepared an excellent menu from which we could choose. As there were 18 of us we naturally let him know our choices a couple of days in advance. My first visit to this pub and the ambience in the bar was very welcoming, as were the barmaids. The restaurant had a very comfortable feel with some very interesting historic documents on the walls. Service was excellent and the quality of the cooking would rival many a high class establishment. When James put his head into the restaurant to make sure we were all OK there was a round of spontaneous applause - that says it all. 18 very happy people. I'm looking to going back again soon - very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    126
    31
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub, great food, friendly and polite service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely late lunch on a sunny Sunday. Pub was busy and it was difficult to find a table outside but we waited and were rewarded by a lovely lunch and we had a good mixture including roast, fish and chips and baguettes! The waitress was polite, friendly and efficient, as were the bar staff. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BodiamNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This oldy worldy pub opposite the car park to visual castle does great food. The decor is wonderful and the whole pub and toilets immaculate. A heat host. We had a meal and then got permission to leave the car and walk to the castle saving on car park charges.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty big meals in village pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited Castle Inn in April 2014 with partner for late dinner.

I was staying nearby at the Prince Regent holiday home in Bodium and wanted a local late dinner one night so we headed here and there isn't anything around Bodium.

It was casually busy but soon filtered out and got quiet but it didn't spoil night. I ordered a chicken and mushroom tagliatelle and my partner ordered the burger and chips. I was expecting normal pub grub but was pleasantly surprised by the quality and portion size. There was also a good selection of drinks and special beers on tap.

The atmosphere was friendly and there were a few dogs welcome with drinkers. It is quite dark in there to make a more relaxing atmosphere, maybe a tad too dark, but nice with candles around.

Bar staff were friendly and even chatted with us about the area when it was quiet which was nice as some country pubs don't welcome non-locals sometimes.

Can't think of any cons really! would definitely eat and drink here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelakittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lunch today at The Castle Inn , food was good and the service friendly and considering there were about 15 of us it very quick. Many thanks ,we will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Ewhurst Green, East Sussex
 
Robertsbridge, East Sussex
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing