We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true dream holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Francis V
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true dream holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I began with some expectations to my first holiday in England. Many years I have been saving to visit this beautiful country. But when I arrived at the cottage, the reality was many times better than I ever could have dreamed. By Terri with a homemade Victorian Sandwich, fresh eggs, butter, milk and board I was warmly welcomed into the cottage.
And what a perfect cottage it is!!!
Everything was there, perfect en very compleet kitchen, super soft sheets and towels. The cottage was perfectly clean. In the bathroom were several soaps, lotions ready to use. The big screen TV and the wood burning stove for cozy evenings. Amazing views in living room, kitchen, master bedroom. Beautiful bird concerts, foxes and pheasants. It was amazing and I enjoyed every minute of it!
Walks through the area, admire the castle, beautiful skies and sunshine on my face. Every morning with a smile up to another perfect day in this amazing cottage. After visiting an attraction ride back to the cottage with a bigger smile with the idea to again enjoy this gorgeous cottage at a perfect location. My dog has also enjoyed this holiday. Lying on the grass, with his nose in the wind and listen to the birds. The long walks in the beautiful surroundings were lovely.

Thank you Terri and Mike for your hospitality! Thanks to this cottage my first vacation in this great country has literally become a once in a lifetime holiday!

I wish every tenant the same great time as I may live in the cottage with my dog!

Francis & Joep

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that having waited for a long time to come to England we were able to provide for you accommodation beyond your expectations.
we hope that maybe we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful setting, lovely host and a great great price!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Can't say enough good things! Terrie was fantastic and helpful even rang me to give directions as she was worried we'd get lost! The cottage is gorgeous the fireplace was all set up everything was amazingly clean the beds comfy the kitchen had bread butter milk tea coffee sugar and a homemade Victoria sponge! :) it was a lovely relaxing stay the TV had sky so plenty to watch there's no one nearby so silent at night and a pub just down the road! Such a relaxing stay the shower was also lovely in the morning shame had to be a short visit! Definitely want to come back

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
We are delighted you liked the cottage and the surroundings. Hopefully you will be able to stay for longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed last year and liked it so much we returned. Once again we had a lovely holiday!

Terrie's hospitality and helpfulness is simply outstanding.

I highly recommend staying here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location & cottage”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a rare childfree weekend so decided to leave our home in London and appreciate some of the East Sussex countryside. We were taking our dog so needed dog-friendly accommodation.
I don't think we could have been happier with the cottage - it was immaculate, well supplied with all mod-cons and kitchen essentials (and more). It also had a warm and comfortable feel.
The garden area is well contained so we could let our dog out without fear of him running off.
We met Terrie, who had baked us a welcoming cake - just one of the examples of the 'above & beyond' service you can expect.
We will definitely go back with our kids again - they will love the area and we feel the cottage is big enough to accommodate a family of 5 and a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate but comfortable feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Not a long enough stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the furure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
1 review
“Amazing cottage and location - perfect break”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were welcomed with homemade cake, eggs and bread. The cottage was stocked with everything you needed, very clean and comfortable. I took a dog with me, and he loved it too - great garden! The location is truly amazing - you need a week to make the most of it! Will defo be returning!
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Many Thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailTrave...
San Francisco, CA
1 review
“A perfect cottage in a verdant setting, lovingly managed”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have been traveling for three months in Europe, having stayed at a variety of places. this was hands down the best. The Cricketeer's is lovely, fully-stocked, clean, romantic place for a couple, or a small family. I searched hard to find a place such as this and I was not disappointed. Located in Sussex, near Kent, it is well-located to see many historic places (castles, gardens, towns etc). A stone's throw from Bodiam Castle, walking easily to the Castle Inn pub with nice food. Our main challenge here was that driving in England is quite difficult on the narrow roads. Also, do not rent from Enterprise rent a car. They invented damage and are scammers. The Gravesend Enterprise location manager should be given the boot!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cricket Pavilion. It is a shame you had a bad experience with the car rental company. I do hope you get this sorted out.
However please note this is not a company recommended by us. Hopefully your comments will aid other travellers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSDILAN
Pinner
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cottage to relax in quite”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Old cricket pavillion was a great cottage, it has everything under the sky. Terri was very helpful and welcoming. The cottage was well maintained it was very clean. To welcome us Terri has even baked cake. Home away from home. Love the environment. Great holiday will definitely go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Really pleased you liked our cottage and look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing