We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bill G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wonderful peaceful location, convenient for so many Kent and Sussex sights. Clean, modern, perfectly equipped with extra welcome provisions of cake, eggs and other basics. Terrie was more than helpful with booking and was there first thing after I arrived, giving useful advice on the local area. Dog friendly as my cocker spaniel confirmed.
I look forward to another stay soon, but it looks like you are pretty much fully booked! There must be a reason for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howietrip...
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Peaceful Retreat.”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The ease and regularity of communication when arranging from Australia made the booking a breeze. Easy to find at the end of a dead end laneway - no through or passing traffic. Cottage was perfectly presented with everything a travelling family could want - including a freshly baked cake on arrival ! Beautiful peaceful location - perfectly situated close to great food at the Castle Inn ( good kids menu), and easy walking distance to Bodiam Castle - ideally suited to explore 1066 country. Children wanted to stay longer. Highly recommended - would come back and stay in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of presentation of the property as a whole.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage and area to be one you didn't want to leave.
We hope to see you again on your next grand tour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCG56
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We loved our stay at The Old Cricket Pavilion. The location is wonderfully peaceful, with only the sound of sheep and birdsong to interrupt the tranquility. We really appreciated the warm and generous welcome we were given, including a gorgeous home made cake, milk, eggs, bread, butter and jam. The pavilion is spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. We really appreciated all the little extras in the kitchen, as well as toiletries, comfortable beds, nice linen. Bodiam is a beautiful area to explore. We walked from Bodiam to Salehurst and back on tranquil country paths, had a trip to Birling Gap, (windy!) and visited Sisssinghurst. A perfect weekend retreat and we could have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed our wonderful countryside and found the cottage to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmisbyWI
Smisby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing peaceful solitude.”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our 4th stay at the old cricket pavillion and whilst Terrie makes regular improvements to the property ie; brand new mattress this time, we really don't want much to be changed. This is a unique property at the end of a no through private lane, next to a recreation ground with views of the steam trains, a dog friendly pub at the other end of the lane and topped with morning and evening walks around the beautiful and very photogenic moated Bodiam castle (NT property).

Absolutely stunning with hosts that feel like family - already booked to go back in several weeks time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling
Liked least: Nothing all perfect as usual
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and like the cottage the way it is. We will continue to update as and when necessary whilst keeping the feel of the cottage the same. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesbron
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, well equipped and fitted to a high standard set in a secluded location with views across open country”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As a family with very young children this was an excellent cottage in a great location with plenty to do. The cottage is finished to a high standard and the garden is spacious and secure. Set down a secluded lane the cottage is within walking distance of the spectacular Bodium Castle and the Kent and East Sussex Steam Railway. The cottage has lovely views of the countryside and even a summer house.. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in the Pavilion .We are very lucky with it being so close to Bodiam Castle and all the walks surrounding it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal M
Tienen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Escape to the Country at its best”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our second stay in Bodiam and once again a very enjoyable experience. If you are looking to escape to the country and enjoy peace, privacy, wonderful views, delicious home-made cake (which is awaiting you upon your arrival) and walks on your doorstep, this is the place to be! Just like the first time we were sad to go, so we will definitely be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkdixie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fully Equipped Cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here for the December New Year break and what can I say.... Simply perfect! Very spacious cottage (we were 6)! We were welcomed by Sharon and found a lovely cake on our arrival! The place is clean, the place was spotless and the views were lovely - needed the change from London! The apartment is fully loaded... We even had the luxury of a slow cooker! Everything is kept to high standards and the living room is very cosy! The fire warms up everywhere quickly!
There is barely any cell reception but fully connected on wifi plus there is a house phone in case people need to reach you. Ideal place for your dog with a fenced huge garden (more like a field)! Lots of nice walking routes too!
Well done and will definitely recommend and visit again when the opportunity arises!!! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to your liking. We hope to welcome you back someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing