We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good For NT Members But Not Sure For Payees”
Review of Bodiam Castle

Bodiam Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bodiam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A majestic 14th Century moated castle, with ruined interior and splendid grounds. Take part in various medieval activities, all year round. Admission price covers entry to castle and grounds. Opening hours are 10:30 til 5pm or dusk if earlier. Please note that last entry to the castle is at approx. 3:20pm during winter.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having visited Smallhythe Place (NT) and the KESR railway my wife and I visited Bodiam Castle for our last property on the way back and found it very impressionable.Though it is only the outside complete and with a shell inside it is still worth the walk inside (the video is very informative) to feel the size. As with the title of my review being NT members it makes the car park (£3) and the Castle free so I am not sure for customers having to pay (Adult £7.20 Child £3.60 Family £18.00).
We cannot review on the restaurant as we did use it by taking our own food and drink.

Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamcastleNT, Visitor Experience Assistant at Bodiam Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback. You are correct that NT members are able to enjoy the castle and grounds, and parking without charge. The entry fee for non-members has recently been updated to cover both the castle and the grounds. We needed to make this change so we can continue to conserve the medieval sandstone castle and its landscape. These changes also allow us to be able to offer a wide range of additional activities, such as our costumed interpreters, our interactive castle game 'A Knight's Peril', and many demonstrations and events throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 210 reviews
"car park"
in 184 reviews
"large fish"
in 24 reviews
"medieval times"
in 18 reviews
"medieval life"
in 15 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 91 reviews
"feed the ducks"
in 21 reviews
"ticket office"
in 28 reviews
"sir edward"
in 15 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 23 reviews
"steam train"
in 42 reviews
"steep steps"
in 19 reviews
"nt members"
in 23 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 23 reviews
"tea room"
in 48 reviews
"gift shop"
in 52 reviews
"kent and east sussex"
in 21 reviews
Filter

1,108 - 1,112 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Never get fed up visiting here. Our Sons (9&12) love the internal part of the castle climbing letting their imagination run wild. A must visit for all.....there are plenty of staff at hand to offer such a vast array of knowledge and with so much passion too.

1  Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamcastleNT, Visitor Experience Assistant at Bodiam Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are very happy that you and your sons enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just a beautiful Sunday morning stroll followed by a beer at the Castle opposite. Free to stroll the grounds.

Thank RockOptika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Was shocked when we visited last Saturday and was told that just to walk around the grounds we had to pay an astonishing £7.20!

We usually would have a little walk around, have an ice-cream and even stop in the cafe onsite to spend our pennies. But no way will we be doing that now if there is an entrance charge plus the parking at £3.00.

What a shame that they have become so greedy.

and they are very cheeky as they don't tell you about the new charges until you have already been charged the parking fee and parked your car up. They should advise us before entering so we can decide whether to be ripped off or not.

6  Thank sunspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamcastleNT, Visitor Experience Assistant at Bodiam Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback. We've updated the entry fee to cover both the castle and the grounds. We needed to make this change so we can continue to conserve the medieval sandstone castle and its landscape.
Based on your feedback and feedback from others, we are reviewing our signage and its positioning too in an effort to make people aware of the changes earlier on in their visit when they arrive.
Entry to the castle and grounds, and parking remains free for National Trust members. We are happy to refund the parking cost of those few paying visitors who are unaware of the changes and subsequently decide not visit on that occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It's how a castle should be. Whilst the internal are ruins, it's in fantastic shape for something nearly 800 years old. Volunteers are helpful, informative and entertaining.

1  Thank russellfeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamcastleNT, Visitor Experience Assistant at Bodiam Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodiam Castle also viewed

 

Been to Bodiam Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing