We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but for the money okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Average, but for the money okay.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I would put 3 and half circles if I could - but opted to round up to 4.

Average. We went for a last weekend before escape weekend. Kids loved the pool, Room was lacklustre. Not horribly dirty, but there was lots of dust around the fan in the bathroom, and there seemed to be an ant issues in the room as there was ant traps set up.

Breakfast in the morning was free. The standard toast, bagels and cereal. Suited our purposes but I was diappointed there was no fruit. The Lady operating the breakfast seemed rushed off her feet. She was doing her best, but the garbage was overflowing, and sometimes they were short on coffee. Maybe we just arrived when it was busier than expected. Certainly not her fault - she was doing everything she could.

It's a good convenient location. And I would consider staying again..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
An excellent critique. Because the 41 motel-style rooms open directly to the outdoors, we have a pest control company spray around the outside of doors and set pest traps in the rooms in order to greatly reduce the chance of pests becoming a problem. As the saying goes, an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

In the past, we had only tracked the number of rooms rented before deciding whether the breakfast lady could also be assigned to help with the laundry. This didn't always work well because 30 rooms, for example, might contain anywhere from 30 to 120 people. We have since added a guest count to our daily log spreadsheet to better estimate her availability.

I'm also disappointed that we didn't have fruit that day. Since fruit doesn't keep well, we depend on the local markets having fresh fruit available each day. It's rare that they disappoint us. You seem to have caught us on one of those bad days.

Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
43
36
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The desk person was very friendly and attentive so that was good. As soon as we opened the door to the room we were hit with the smell of old, stale, smoke that has been there after years of use.

The room was clean-ish but it felt a little scuzzy. The only visible signs of something askew, was red marks on the blanket, and although I doubt it was blood, that's what I kept thinking it was.

We were attracted by the price, but you get what you pay for.

You may want to pick another place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khoward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of the Howard Johnson of Woodstock. We do not allow guests to smoke in the rooms, but when the housekeepers clean they sometimes leave the windows open and because of the exterior rooms the smoke can easily drift in from other guests smoking outside their rooms. For the convenience of our guest we keep our front desk open 24 hours and If you would have let us know about this problem we certainly would have moved you to a more suitable room. I am very sorry you had a bad experience with us and I would like the chance to rectify the situation. It is our goal to provide our very best to each and every guest.

Respectfully,

Andy Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodstock hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

There was a prominent sign for a restaurant at this Motel but it was no longer in operation. They served a free continental breakfast for guests. personally I find that Motel rooms like the one I had at the HJ Motel in Woodstock NB to be overpriced at very close to 100 dollars per night. That is the going rate at many Motels these days bit I think it is squeezing tourists for their money based on the fact they have few options if they travel to certain areas. Woodstock NB is just a small town, with no big sightseeing spots. There is a nature trail near the HJ Motel in Woodstock NB. When I was travelling up to Woodstock NB from Saint John NB by bus, I spotted a bear cub by the side of the highway near Oromocto NB which is more populated and further south than Woodstock NB. I guess the message is if you plan on walking any nature trails in the summer around any smaller places in NB keep in mind that there are bears around no matter what anyone says to the contrary, Bears are dangerous opportunistic omnivores who are not so picky about what they eat. My stay at the HJ was uneventful but the coffee in my room was not so great. I have had coffee in many other Motel rooms that I did not throw away because it tasted "odd."

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, NS
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel around 9:30 on June 30, 2011. We were greeted at the front desk by the Manager, Andy Kumar. He was very professional with our reservations as well as being friendly and helpful with information I wanted. My grandchildren wanted to get into the pool and he assured me that they had time to do so. Our room was very suitable for our needs and the grounds were well kept. All the staff we dealt with were also friendly and courteous. Their attitude made us feel happy and we liked it so much we stayed there again on June 8, 2011. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethAnnHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I'd like to borrow your time travel machine some time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My room was clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. Staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was a little sparse, but overall I think my stay was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Explorer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed here one night when returning from Ontario. The room was large, and was clean. The bed was comfortable. The price was reasonable. We saw nothing wrong with it, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K.C.NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojowoodstock, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your kind words and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcome you back. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Ugh, from the pink tinted television, to the saggy mattresses, this was the worst night ever. The rooms were clean but oozed of scuzziness. There was a snowstorm during the night, and when it stopped in the morning, we called the front desk and they told us to come down to the lobby (which is external to the rooms btw) and grab a shovel and shovel our own way out. My son had to shovel a path for guests to get down to the restauraunt to enjoy a stale continental breakfast. There is a pool, it is also external to the rooms, and the entire place was very humid. Everything was soaked and sopping wet with 2 inch puddles in places in which to tread through in order to get to the change rooms which had no hooks or shelves.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xBellaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
11.0 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stiles Motel
Stiles Motel
#3 of 4 in Woodstock
45 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
Address: 159 Route 555 | Exit 188 of Trans Canada High Way 2, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7M 6B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson, a Woodstock hotel on Trans-Canada Highway.Located in the heart of the St. John River Valley at the intersection of the Trans-Canada Highway and Interstate 95, the Howard Johnson Woodstock Inn is minutes from the downtown area. This Woodstock hotel is also close to the Carleton Civic Center, New Brunswick Community College, Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club and Hartland Covered Bridge, the longest covered bridge in the world. Howard Johnson Woodstock is a pet friendly place. Since the Hotel only offers a limited amount of guest rooms that are designated for pets, you must notify the hotel at time of booking to ensure availability and also upon check-in with the Front Desk Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Howard Johnson Woodstock
Woodstock Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing