We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Well Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was a perfect stopover traveling for Ontario to Halifax. The hotel was easy to find since it was located right off the highway. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending a local restaurant since their restaurant was not open. The room was clean and well maintained. The furniture was a bit dated but we did have a fridge and microwave in room along with lcd tv. The bed was comfortable for a good night sleep. We made a quick stop for the breakfast and grabbed some muffins and coffee to go. Overall it was well worth the price and we will definitely stay here on our return and in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Room was reserved (A Suite) ?, got to room @7pm , Jan,19,2013 , room temperature (5c )Had to wear our coats for nearly one hour, We left for a family get-together @ 8.30 , room at that time was warm but drafty as air was leaking thru a discustingly dirty air conditioner , (which I don't believe had been cleaned for a long time ) . Advertised as " inroom free wifi & coffee maker "- (NOT OUR ROOM.) We were told pool opens @ 9am in the morning & our grand-daughters were anxious. The girls put on bathing suits & got dressed to walk about 1000' (across the yard) to the pool, after 9am , in 5" of snow as they hadn't bothered to plow & no one had bothered to sand the extreamly icy parking or walkways , (one of their customers fell on ice , and when they complained were told they had better be careful ).The pool was closed for several hours due to chemicals , not good for the girls, ( should have been done night before) , So , proceeded to continental breakfast , nobody seemed to be looking after it, very sparce, certainly not what was expected.Our room had cobwebs in the corners ,dust on horizontal surfaces & floors were not that clean , very drafty windows (one of which room preparer had not bothered to close the outside pane), and it rattled all night . Most all the windows had ill fitting ( did not cover all the window) cheap vinyl mini blinds that did not blank out neon lights or daylight . Cupboards were dirty & crapy , old food in cupboard , crumbs on top of toaster , stove situated in a dangerous spot in an alcove with approx. 2' in front for you to stand ,(did not use) , but imagine a flare-up and not be able to jump away ? exposed 40amp. elect. cord thru hole in wall , extension cord under a dirty carpet plus 3 other extension cords laying exposed on floor, (1 of which was coiled up & strapped together, don't think this is acceptable ) & get this , a 1950's type fuse panel full of 20 & 30 amp fuses ? , I am not an electrician , but I have been around the building industry all my life & it appears to me that no electrical upgrades have ever been carried out . Motel appears to be fooling around with our safety, WE WERE SLEEPING HERE
It sort of makes you wonder how it carries Howard Johnson name ? We could see outside light around top of door from inside our bedroom. Overall experience as a guest , Quality of accomodations , Quality of guest room , Cleanliness of guestroom , Stay again ?, Would you recommend ?,- I WOULD NOT . Motel is in my opinion old & outdated , sub-standard , makes you wonder why Howard Johnson allows its name to be associated , and , makes you wonder where our public safety people are , are motels not regulated for our safety ? If Motels did their jobs , then they wouldn't be getting reviews like this , times are tough , if I were still in business I would be trying to build good relations , give a good product , And employ a dedicated , trained team , proud of the company they work for, and for this , it has to START AT THE TOP. There has to be a system for higher standards in this & the food industry . I realize I am only one , but if this business steps up to the plate , I'm sure they will be rewarded in time , for their efforts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This Howard Johnson motel is one of the old-style road-side structures that is all about basics. We stayed at this location because it is the last stop before entering the US and it accepts dogs. We arrived in a snowstorm and were warmly welcomed and quickly checked in. There is an indoor pool which we did not have time to use. The buffet breakfast is not fancy, but gets you going. The room we had was reserved for pets with a wooden floor instead of carpet. It is one of the most spartan rooms I have stayed in for many years -- but it was clean, which is number one in my priorities. The mattresses were firm. The bathroom was in need of a rebuild, since there was a hole in the bathtub and the drain had no hardware in it. It also had the dreaded "slow drain" problem found in many motels. Too long a shower and you are up to your ankles in soapy water. Thin towels and blankets rounded out the "basic" category, but fortunately the electric baseboard heat was reliable and the thermostat accurate, so we did not need heavy blankets. As a matter of fact, the heating system was one of the things that this motel has over many others that use electric blowers -- at least here the heating was super quiet!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Howard Johnson in Woodstock, NB.

Our pet friendly rooms do not have carpet, reason for this is actually a sanitary one. Some pets like to mark their territory and some pets simply are nervous due to traveling or new surroundings. So by offering non carpeted rooms to our guests with pets any accident that may occur can be easily and quickly cleaned. At the same time still offering a very clean and “scent free” room for our next guests.

Our location is an older property and upgrades are always underway. However if at any time you have an issue with anything at all Please feel free to contact our Front Desk so that we can resolve your concerns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I would recommend this hotel. My room was looked like it had been renovated in the reasonably recent past, and was clean and well maintained. The price was definitely right. I doubt that you'd get better value for money in the area. I didn't go for a swim, but passed by the pool and it looked lovely. The free breakfast was adequate, with boiled eggs, cereal, and waffles/pastries as options.

One other comment - They advertise free WIFI, but my devices weren't able to pick up a signal. To be fair, I didn't check with the staff, so maybe I was missing something.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br2brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are glad that you were pleased with the Howard Johnson in Woodstock NB. Hopefully during your next stay with us you will be able to take advantage of the pool.

It is unfortunate that you had issues with your WiFi. Please do not hesitate to contact our front desk for any questions or concerns that you may have as we are open 24/7 and here to assist you in any way that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights because the price was really good. We don't have a problem staying in older motel as long as it is clean. When we arrived we got a really old room which is fine but there was a really bad smell. It almost smelled like urine. The bathroom was really dirty. We were scared to open our luggage because we didn't want our clothes to smell. We ended up getting a refund and going at the Best Western which was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank spot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding our property. I do apologize that the room was not up to your expectations. The room type you had booked was one with the kitchen and it could be possible that the guest who stayed the previous night might have cooked something that left a foul smell in the room.

We did try to offer you another room, but were turned down. We are glad that you were able to find an alternate accommodation to your satisfaction. We take our cleanliness very seriously and hope you give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I got a great deal on the price for a quick getaway, and it was nice. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, there was a free continental breakfast that was fairly extensive. The only down side was the tub, there were no nonslip grips in the bottom and i had to put a towel in there with me to keep from falling during showering, it was that slippery. The other part was that the pool was in a different building than the room, which would be fine in the summer but in the icy cold of winter you basically have to drive to and from the pool, unless you want to walk outside with soaking wet hair in below zero weather. The room had a fridge and microwave, which was great for reheating my coffee from the easily accessible Tim's down the road. In the off season the restaurant is closed in the evening, so you will have to go down the road to Murray's or into the main street of Woodstock.

Room Tip: There seems to be three types of buildings, there are two motel strip drive up sections, a two-story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinity1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed one night at this motel and were pleased with the accommodations. It isn't the newest motel on the trans Canada, but it served the purpose we needed it to serve. We had a swim in the indoor pool, and then retired to the room. The bed was comfortable. We had a microwave and fridge so we didn't need to go out for dinner. The bathroom was brand new. The air conditioning worked. Some of the wooden furniture was a little worn, but we weren't moving in. What we needed was cleanliness and comfort and we found that.

The continental breakfast was quite good. It was what we needed to keep us going for our trip. There were choices of cereal, boiled eggs, coffee, hot water for tea or hot chocolate, milk, juices, bagels, toast and even waffles to toast in the toaster. For under $90.00/night who could complain about that?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.7 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
John Gyles Music Room & Inn
2.1 mi away
Stiles Motel
Stiles Motel
#3 of 4 in Woodstock
48 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Peak Sunset B&B
The Peak Sunset B&B
#1 of 1 in Grafton
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB

Address: 159 Route 555 | Exit 188 of Trans Canada High Way 2, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7M 6B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson, a Woodstock hotel on Trans-Canada Highway.Located in the heart of the St. John River Valley at the intersection of the Trans-Canada Highway and Interstate 95, the Howard Johnson Woodstock Inn is minutes from the downtown area. This Woodstock hotel is also close to the Carleton Civic Center, New Brunswick Community College, Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club and Hartland Covered Bridge, the longest covered bridge in the world. Howard Johnson Woodstock is a pet friendly place. Since the Hotel only offers a limited amount of guest rooms that are designated for pets, you must notify the hotel at time of booking to ensure availability and also upon check-in with the Front Desk Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Howard Johnson Woodstock
Woodstock Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing