We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The air conditioner was noisy, the carpet was shabby, the bed was horrible. Go to the Best Western. Apparently it's decent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrounstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

I have to admit, I was concerned about some of the bad reviews I had read on here, but it was just a stopover and the price was right! We were there on 2 different nights, in 2 different rooms, and although you can tell it's dated, there also look to be ongoing updates. Our rooms were clean, the bathrooms we saw all looked to be recently re-done, the pool was large and clean (no smell of chlorine what-so-ever) and the manager was very accomadating. We didn't test the restaurant, as there didn't look to be much life in there, but who eats at the hotel when you're travelling? Get out and see the town! I actually don't reccomend the 4 room apartment, at least the one we were in as the 1 bed does seem small, and the TV is out in the livingroom which didn't work for us, and it does need some more updating. If you've looking for a stopover spot, this is a good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We have not stayed in a Howard Johnson motel for years and based on this one it will be many year before we stay in one again. I checked in early and were told our room was not ready yet, but they would give us a two suite with a full kitchen, so we said yes. When I say "old" I mean 1950's old. In the bedroom was a one double bed that was suppose to be a queen. It had an old window type air conditioner that when I turned it on at bedtime it didn't work. The bath room was right of the 50's with pink toilet and sink and black tiles.
I must say that the mattress was ok and the shower was very good.

The kitchen and the other room had old furniture and old carpet. There was also a window type air conditioner in that room and it had to do double duty for the bedroom. The kitchen as plastic mini blinds so the lights that were on outside during the night shined in the bedroom, because we could not close the door between the rooms because of the air conditioner problem.
They had a decent continental breakfast, which was included, good free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sljvlj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Sheets had hair on them. Only one desk clerk on staff to service the whole hotel. . Asked for clean linens, but he wasn't sure he could leave the desk. Wanted to give us a room next to the indoor pool but we refused since the smell of mold and chlorine was unbearable. Finally brought us some different sheets and we changed our own bed. Paint in the room was old, chipped and yellowed.Complimentary breakfast was poor. Person on staff in "restaurant" was not very efficient. Chanced a coffee and left. Howard Johnson would roll over in his grave if he saw what his name was attached to. Sleeping in your car would be an improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ouananiche_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This was a one night stop for us on the way from Ontario to Nova Scotia. I read the reviews of the four local motels and we chose this one as it was $30 cheaper than the Best Western and we just wanted a place to sleep. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, but dated, and the bathroom sparkling. Water pressure was only so-so, and the shower was modified to prevent the water from getting too hot, a good safety feature. It was comfortable, but I would have liked it hotter. High speed internet was welcome and worked fine. We also appreciated the in room coffeemaker, with decaf available from the front desk. The beds were comfortable. The pool was being painted so was closed. Sitting out front of the room offers a panoramic view of the countryside.

They offer a free continental breakfast of bagels, toast, waffles, muffins, cereal, juice, and coffee at the in house restaurant, which is open for dinner.

There are lots of places to stay along the Trans-Canada. This one is perfectly fine, especially if you just need somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We found the place late at night on our way to Montreal. We booked on the Internet and the room cost $80. The room itself was quiet and clean. The 2 towels were skimpy white motel towels. The numbers on the outside door are small and hard to read unless you are walking right next to them. The Internet wasn't working when we arrived at night, nor was it working in the morning. We called the front desk and after two tries it worked. The breakfast was on the cheap side, no skim milk, little fibre in the cereals...but there was a cup for Tips. I think this place has room for improvement...

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank sun044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed in Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock for the first time. We were here visiting family. I looked at the website and was reluctant to stay because of the reviews from the previous guest. But I wasn't ready to pay over $120 for a room which one of the local hotel was charging also. We stopped at the hotel and my wife asked to look at the room before we stayed.
To our surprise the rooms were very nice and the bathrooms were very clean. We had the convenience of parking the car in front of the room. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ryan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.0 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
11.0 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Houlton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
80 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stiles Motel
Stiles Motel
#3 of 4 in Woodstock
48 reviews
7.6 mi away
John Gyles Music Room & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB

Address: 159 Route 555 | Exit 188 of Trans Canada High Way 2, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7M 6B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £54 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson, a Woodstock hotel on Trans-Canada Highway.Located in the heart of the St. John River Valley at the intersection of the Trans-Canada Highway and Interstate 95, the Howard Johnson Woodstock Inn is minutes from the downtown area. This Woodstock hotel is also close to the Carleton Civic Center, New Brunswick Community College, Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club and Hartland Covered Bridge, the longest covered bridge in the world. Howard Johnson Woodstock is a pet friendly place. Since the Hotel only offers a limited amount of guest rooms that are designated for pets, you must notify the hotel at time of booking to ensure availability and also upon check-in with the Front Desk Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Howard Johnson Woodstock
Woodstock Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing