We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
John Gyles Music Room & Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were traveling from Bangor Me to PEI and had scheduled a stay at John Gyles Motor Inn. The only problem was our flight was 2 hours late and we did not arrive until after midnight. We called ahead and the Inn keepers stayed up for us. It was so nice for the to wait on us. You might say they "Left the light on for us" The room was clean, comfortable and half price of others in the area. I will stop again when the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you are traveling through New Brunswick, this motel is an excellent place to spend a night (or more). It is only a minute off the TransCanada highway, on a beautiful site overlooking the St. John river. It is far enough from the highway to be quiet; I enjoyed a very sound sleep. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean, comfortable and in good condition. There is a mini-fridge in each room, a must if you travel with a cooler full of food, as I do. But the treasure of this motel is the restaurant,"Heino's German Cuisine", a major attraction in the Woodstock area. I did not arrive until 9 p.m., but was still able to order dinner. Heino never lets guests go to bed hungry. The food is very tasty; I can vouch for the quality of both the sauerbraten and the roast beef. Be sure to leave room for dessert, because Heino has a repertoire of cakes that is truly stunning, all made from scratch in his kitchen. (Both the Black Forest cake and the Amaretto cheesecake are fabulous.) Breakfast is served to guests from 8 to 10 a.m., but I like an early start and departed at 7 a.m., so I never sampled the breakfast fare. I plan to stop here regularly; it was thorougnly refreshing.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be equally good, although the upper floor would have a better view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed at the John Gyles recently. The rooms were not exceptional, but they were clean. What really is fantastic are the meals. They serve breakfast to room guests, and supper to both guests and non-guests. Our dinners were extremely delicious and good portions. But breakfast is the star of the restaurant. Home-fried potatoes like my father used to make, bacon that is all taste and NO fat, and rye bread so good that we made a detour to visit the bakery near port Elgin! Everything was also reasonably priced. Sorry if I got side-tracked on the food, but I will remember these meals in the depths of winter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We chose this motel as a convenient overnight stop before crossing the border to USA. Our main consideration was that it had a restaurant which is open on Sunday evening - although there are hotels in Woodstock, I wasn't sure if we would be able to get dinner on a Sunday after a day's travelling. We were in luck - we had an excellent dinner and breakfast. The motel room was very pleasant, if a bit dated, and included air-conditioner, fridge, table and chairs, and armchair. Unfortunately though, we couldn't get the wi-fi to work . The motel is well signposted off the Trans Canada Highway, south of Woodstock.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on the way from Ottawa to PEI. It was conveniently located, had clean rooms and the staff were efficient and friendly staff. The motel has a great view of the river across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustSayinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly and both dinner and breakfast were delicious. I intend to be passing through again and I will definitely plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeswench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We drove from Ontario to New Brunswick and had a lot of trouble finding a room for the night. We were lucky to happen upon the John Gyles. The motel is definitely dated, but our room was clean and comfortable. Close to the highway and very quiet. We had a great rest and enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant in the morning (Try the hashbrowns, very good).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lswoods74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
7.6 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
7.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Houlton
67 reviews
10.1 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
80 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stiles Motel
Stiles Motel
#3 of 4 in Woodstock
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Gyles Music Room & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Gyles Music Room & Inn

Address: 1182 Route 165, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7N 2T7, Canada (Formerly John Gyles Motor Inn)
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £47 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Gyles Music Room & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the breathtaking views of the Saint John River. Maliseet hiking trail is only minutes away. Come explore the history of John Gyles. Our rooms our cozy but modest and clean with all the amneties. Our restaurant offers food and spirits with live music on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your John Gyles Music Room & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Gyles Music Room & Inn Woodstock, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing