We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautifully Preserved Building

This is a beautifully preserved historic building that is away from the center of the town... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2017
trainfan2000
,
Hamilton, Canada
senior mystery tour

our 50 plus senior group from juniper visited the old court house and were thrilled with the... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2016
LeonaH67
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
5
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This is a beautifully preserved historic building that is away from the center of the town. Unfortunately it was closed when we visited but it was worth seeing the restored exterior of the building. There did not seem to be an organized parking lot associated with the building and we found ourselves parking on a lawn. Would like to visit again sometime it was open.

Thank trainfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

our 50 plus senior group from juniper visited the old court house and were thrilled with the history and tour.it was very interesting

1  Thank LeonaH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I attended a wedding here and sat in the gallery. It was a wonderful setting and we enjoyed it immensely. It is great as a historical renovation, but it is particularly great for events such as this

1  Thank heatherpX5783SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We visited the Old Carleton County Court House with the Garrison Club on a history tour. It is hard to believe that this old landmark was once used as a barn!! The pictures of the restoration are amazing. It is worth a visit to see how they heated this court house in the winter. If you love history, you will enjoy this wonderful historic site.

1  Thank Astrid1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Very interesting old landmark that is part of the history of Woodstock and Carleton County and gives you the idea how justice was handed out almost 200 years ago. Apart from the mandatory portrait of Queen Victoria behind the judge's chair, is is quite plain inside . It has several stoves in the various rooms, but only two in the back of the large courtroom and the pipes travel upwards and then to the front of the room where they join the chimney. It looks like an early attempt to increase the efficiency of the stoves, but there is a very high ceiling to above the balcony and it would probably have been quite cold during the trials that took place there in the winter. Apparently, after the old jail burned down they used to keep the prisoners in one of the rooms at the back on the second floor behind the balcony. It must have been rather crowded if there were more than just a few prisoners. Worth a visit, especially if you are a history lover.

1  Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Another amazing historical Landmark in the Woodstock area.

Many wedding photo shoots are done here with memories that will last a lifetime..!
Come and see and share in our history in Carleton County..

Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have been to weddings, special private events and concerts here. Great acoustics but chilly in winter in the periphery go the building. It is heated by one central pot-belly stove.

Thank NewBrunswick57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews