We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends”

New Sarum Family Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Saint Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We always enjoy eating here. Friendly staff and a nice decor. Waitress gave us lots of time to study the menu and we never felt like we were rushed to leave. Food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford,ON
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Service, Average Food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After reading the other reviews here I thought we would give this place a try after a day trip to Port Stanley to ride the train. We visited on a Sunday afternoon after 1PM. They were not quite half full as we were a little later than normal lunch time. We were seated quickly and our drink and appetizer order was taken within 5 minutes. We ordered mozzarella sticks that came out with our drinks in minutes. They were good but it's hard to screw up deep fried cheese. My wife ordered the Montreal Smoked meat sandwich, Fish and Chips for me and spaghetti and meatballs for my soon to be 3 year old. The meals came quickly and were very hot. Being an old style diner I thought the frys would be fresh cut but they were frozen. The fish was average but not spectacular and the same goes for the other meals. I would give this place another try because the service was great but next time maybe try the chicken that they are famous for. The meal was $45.00 before tax and tip for one appetizer, two mains, one kids meal, two soft drinks and a kids chocolate milk. I just expected more out of a $60.00 lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for what it is”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Took the family here for Easter lunch due to ease of service, access and location. Food was good (had the Easter special so can't comment on the menu), service was fine. Great VFM, super service. Bottom line though: wouldn't go here unless it was a family outing and we needed to keep the masses happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is as advertised..A great family restaurant. Large portions,reasonable prices unhurried service in a very relaxing atmosphere.surrounded by a number of old antiques including a player piano. This home style restaurant is noted for its roasted chicken. The portion is large and succulent in taste. Highly recommended for the whole family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Thomas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Seniors Haven”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I don't much care for the food have been there many times. Atmosphere is nice, service great and prices fair.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Sarum Family Restaurant also viewed

Saint Thomas, Ontario
Saint Thomas, Ontario
 
Saint Thomas, Ontario
Saint Thomas, Ontario
 

Been to New Sarum Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing