We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Service at Rio!”
Review of Le Rio Restaurant

Le Rio Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Rio Restaurant, located in the heart of St Sauveur des Monts on 352 Rue Principale, is the home of the “Best Baby Back Ribs in the Laurentians”. A favourite of locals, the Rio offers mouth-watering fresh home-cooking, including fall-off-the-bone Baby back ribs, and the famous Rio Brisket Sandwich, Confit de Canard, Chicken Supreme, Filet Mignon, Crevette Papillion, and Filet Doré, and a long list of appetizers that will surely tempt your palate. The outdoor terrace or cozy interior and friendly staff will help make your visit a dining experience to remember.The Rio’s Promise to You; As the owner of The Rio, we are responsible for choosing the ingredients that go into your favorite foods. We have chosen to use only the finest ingredients available. We start by making our products in-house every day. Our sauces are handmade in small batches using the best bases available. Premium baby back ribs, fresh chicken, fresh mushrooms, premium calamari, are a few of the examples of choice ingredients we use.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A cute little unassuming place which is famous for its ribs. My boyfriend had the ribs which were good and I had the chicken supreme which is chicken stuffed with brie and asparagus..its to die for.
Its reasonably priced and the staff are super friendly, especially the owner who make the effort to come round and see you.

You can't go wrong with choosing this place!

1  Thank ElisaEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Eliza,
Thanks for your review. Thanks for The GREAT comment,happy you enjoyed your dinner at Le Rio and hope to see you real soon..

Cheers
Équipe Rio Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hands down the best rack of baby back ribs I have ever eaten. I am currently visiting Quebec from Scotland, and we made a stop at Le Rio during a trip north. The entire experience was exceptional, from the staff to the food. We had the most pleasant, friendly waitress and the service was impeccable. The food arrived and the ribs were incredible, the meat falling off the bone.

To top it off, the owner paid us a visit and gave us a little background to the baby back ribs and was very sincere and friendly.

All in all, I would recommend this to anyone in the area. And if you're not in the area, make it a destination to visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Colin:
What a great review.
L`equipe Rio Thanks You.
We are all a team and that is what makes Le Rio Very Special.
We at Le Rio are here to make absolutely sure your dining experience is one to remember, as well as ours to remember our special guests.
Hope you have a great vacation while visiting. Safe Travels
Cheers
Mitchel & Équipe Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Texas I thought I had experienced the best ribs but oh how I was wrong!! Amazing caramelized ribs that fell off the bone like nobody's business. Thank you Mitchell and your wonderful staff for your hospitality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sebastien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Sebastien;

Thanks so much for the great review, we appreciate your compliments and never take anything for granted.
Hope your trip back to Texas was safe.
See you Soon.
Cheers
Équipe Rio
Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We happened to be in Saint Sauveur for the afternoon and decided to eat at Le Rio based on recommendations we had read. We were not disappointed in ay way! The ribs were excellent, salads fresh, and burgers juicy. We all thought the food, service, and friendliness of the staff were outstanding!

1  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Charlotte;
Your review much appreciated. We at Le Rio really make an effort to make your dinner and evening an enjoyable one, After all you deserve the very best we can give. Thanks again for your review and hope to see you soon, happy and safe travels.
Have a Great Day!!
Équipe Rio
Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had dinner at Le Rio this past weekend. As other reviewers mention, the ribs are scrumptious: fall off the bone tender and perfectly seasoned. The duck confit was also very good, but not as good as the ribs. The ambiance was good; the clientele was diverse and provided a good vibe. Although the owner did not come to our table or greet us, he did thank us as we left. The service was friendly as well. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SRQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SRQC;
Thanks for the great review, it was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and hope to see you real soon.
Note: I apologize for not greeting you when you arrived as I have been under the weather, but I promise next time you will be greeted like royalty.
Équipe Rio Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Rio Restaurant also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Le Rio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing