We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG! LITERALLY the best ribs I have ever had!”
Review of Le Rio

Le Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rio Restaurant, located in the heart of St Sauveur des Monts on 352 Rue Principale, is the home of the “Best Baby Back Ribs in the Laurentians”. A favourite of locals, the Rio offers mouth-watering fresh home-cooking, including fall-off-the-bone Baby back ribs, and the famous Rio Brisket Sandwich, Confit de Canard, Chicken Supreme, Filet Mignon, Crevette Papillion, and Filet Doré, and a long list of appetizers that will surely tempt your palate. The outdoor terrace or cozy interior and friendly staff will help make your visit a dining experience to remember.The Rio’s Promise to You; As the owner of The Rio, we are responsible for choosing the ingredients that go into your favorite foods. We have chosen to use only the finest ingredients available. We start by making our products in-house every day. Our sauces are handmade in small batches using the best bases available. Premium baby back ribs, fresh chicken, fresh mushrooms, premium calamari, are a few of the examples of choice ingredients we use.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OMG! LITERALLY the best ribs I have ever had!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

It takes something significant to get me to write on TA, but as much as I had been thinking for days about getting mussels down the road, my boys obviously preferef to try this famous rib place I had heard about.
Mussels have been forgotten.
You must go here if you are having dinner in town

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Stanbec


Thanks for your review. Thanks for The GREAT comment, happy you enjoyed your dinner at Le Rio and hope to see you real soon..
Cheers
Équipe Rio Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    110
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just finished a meal here after reading all the positive reviews and I have to say Rio's service and food lived up to expectations. The service was OUTSTANDING - the waitresses were genuinely friendly and helpful making sure our two (young) boys were happy. (They quickly brought crayons and a huge paper for drawing and changed the television screens from golf to Bugs Bunny).

Our meals were excellent - the reputation for ribs is well deserved and the whole place smells delicious as you walk in the door.

The wine menu was a little limited but the waitress let me taste the wine before ordering and I was well satisfied with my choice.

The kids food in particular was impressive - good quality chicken nuggets were actually real whole breaded chicken breasts. My picky eaters ate the whole thing!

Overall a great choice, especially for families. We'll be back!

This was

Helpful?
Thank Montrealchiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Montreal Chiquita;
Your review is great and much appreciated.
We at Le Rio really make an effort to make sure your dinner and evening an enjoyable one, After all you deserve the very best.
Thanks again for your spectacular review and hope to see you real soon,
Have a great summer.
Have a Great Day!!
Équipe Rio Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Best ribs and more...”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I had dinner at Le Rio with my family and we were all very impressed with the food and the service. The ribs are the best we've ever had, including the fish n' chips and salads. A special thanks to Mitchel for the personalized care. We will definitely be back and recommend Le Rio to all our family and friends. Thanks again Mitchel and see you soon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Felice

Thanks for your review. Thanks for The compliments, we at Le Rio are truly happy you enjoyed your dinner at Le Rio and hope to see you real soon..

Cheers
Équipe Rio Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We reserved for 16 people and they did a great job handling all of us together with different bills.
Ribs were excellent, so good in fact we bought the sauce to take home. Fries were awesome, salad delicious. Everything was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 613KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear KL:
Thanks for the review, it was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and hope to see you real soon. Équipe Rio Mitchel

Ps; Enjoy the Rio Sauce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“a great date!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we had an excellent night at Le Rio. The food was great and the ambiance was very pleasant. As new parents, we rarely get out, and we were not disappointed by our evening away. We both ordered the table d'hôte and passed several delicious hours enjoying each course as it came. The owner came to our table and welcomed us, the service was nice (although a little bit slow at times) and the food was really outstanding. There was a great selection of choices on the table d'hôte menu .Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Tamaby:
Your review is great and much appreciated. We at Le Rio really make an effort to make your dinner and evening an enjoyable one, I do apologize if the service was slow at times, we have had a very busy summer with most of the customers coming at the same time. We do our best. Thanks again for your review and hope to see you real soon,
Have a great summer & Have a Great Day!!
Équipe Rio
Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Rio also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Le Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing