We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our second weekend at Watel. Location is excellent, an hour and a half drive north from Montreal (and this is a Friday 5 pm traffic I am talking about). You are in Laurentians, but still not too far from home. We did not use the 'spa' facilities so I can't comment on that.

ROOM: Both times we had the superior room, with double jacuzzi and fire place. Room was spacious and clean (I checked). Huge windows and the magnificent view. Loved the big bathroom, it even had a night light. There were candles (and matches) provided for the hot tub in the room. Nice touch. I don't know what other rooms are like, but it's definitely worth paying a little extra for the comfort of the superior room.

RESTAURANT: We had supper and breakfast included in our package. Supper was OK. I would not call it 5 course dinner, but it's a solid three-course. I do think they need to review the way the supper menu is written. It's really hard to figure out what things are. For example Mille feuilles de bébés épinards. I thought it was spinach in puff pastry, but it really was a spinach salad. Coquille à la volaille was simply pasta with chicken. Just call the things what they are, fancy names raise the expectations of the diners which, when not met, lead to slight let down. The English translation of the menu also could use some help (and not from google translate). The wine was good and had a fair price. For dessert we had the crème brulèe - it was excellent! The breakfast was also very, very good - eggs, bacon, potatoes, fresh fruit..we loved it.

From the first contact (we made the reservation by phone), to the check-out, including staff in the restaurant, everyone was welcoming and caring.

Overall, this is a great value. We had a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirela_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Responsable réception at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. I'm sure this way help some people undecided. We are very pleased thet our Hotel satisfied your needs.
Thank you to all the personnel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Loved it. Staff was nice, the room was great. We will definately go again.

Room Tip: mentio tripavisor when you book, you will be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ROBINWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Booked a weekend here - although I tried hard to convince myself to find something else - trip advisor reviews only 50% recommended. Glad we followed through and stayed here. Spa Watel is a solid 3 star hotel that will surely meet all your needs, comfortably. If you are looking for luxury, i.e. overkill AC and ice 24 hours- you may prefer to upgrade. However, those of you who are looking for a beautiful lake/beach, an outdoor pool, a picturesque hot tub and a clean and spacious room for a mere $129 CDN a night, you will surely be happy here! Spa Watel is a well established and well cared for hotel. The owners are friendly and accommodating: fulfilled a request from a far away family member to have flowers and champagne in our room upon our arrival, let us have a midnight soak under the full moon and conversed with us both in English and in French. The location of Spa Watel is also perfect! Close enough to town that a 20 minute morning walk took us to breakfast, a 7 minuter drive found us spectacular golf, and then for dinner we walked a mere 2 blocks to a highly recommended local restaurant (Lez Vos). I would recommend Spa Watel to any of my friends (with or without children).

Room Tip: we had the classic (basic)... if you need a fridge, upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watel, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thanks for your kind review.
Hope to see you soon.

Claude Fleurant
Owner
Hôtel SPA Watel
Sainte Agathe des Monts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It's a 3-star. A good one. Not exceptional, by far, but a honest 3-star. Sometimes I read reviews here and I can't help but think some people don't take into consideration what kind of place it is they are reviewing. You can't ask a 3-star hotel to give you everything a 5-star gives you for the price of a 3-star...

Anyway, this place was good, with a nice view of the lake. OK beach right on the other side of the road. You can go for free with a card they will give you at the reception. We had a nice suite, with a large whirlpool tub and a fireplace. It was clean and comfortable.

My only small complaint would be that the kitchen has a bit more ambition than talent, with really nice looking plates and great ideas, but an undercooked salmon and too liberal use of oil and balsamic vinegar.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jflafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your comments on your stay with us.
As a valued customer, your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we are using this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us directly at (819)326-7016.
Sincerely,
Lise & Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband & stayed overnight as we were travelling through to Algonquin National Park. It is an odd setup in terms of structure. We opted for one of their spa rooms which were quite roomy & have a spa bath as well as separate shower/toilet - overall quite comfortable. The odd thing was that to reach the room, you have to run the gauntlet of other guests with your luggage to reach these larger end rooms as the thoroughfare to the rooms is also the front enclosed verandah with a view over the lake - & quite narrow. We arrived in the evening & everyone was having an aperitif on the verandah - as you would!
We chose to eat in the town & come back to the hotel for a coffee - unfortunately the coffee machine was out of action. These things happen but disappointing nonetheless.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faulk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

What a deception! We paid 125$ for a night in what can be discribed as a cheap motel with a view. The rooms are ugly, the beds highly uncomfortable and the pillows as thin as the walls. There was confusion over the breakfast (included or not) even thought I was told at reservation, a month before, that it was, in fact, included. I had to insist!

It's the worse ratio quality / price I've seen in years.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsaGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The pictures in the website were taken from quite a distance for good reason. Just pulling up into the parking lot, we were disappointed with the front terrace area, the caretaking of the building's outside itself and the gravel parking lot which was badly laid out and insufficient for the amount of rooms.
We were given a tour upon arrival. This hotel advertises being a spa since it offers jaccuzzi tubs, saunas and massage services. The outside jaccuzzi area was an eyesore to look at. No gardens. Miniput-type mats laid out as pathways between cheap gazeebos. Not a single nice thing to look at anywhere around. We were told that if we wanted to use the jaccuzzi, we had to remove and replace the covers ouselves. If we wanted to use the saunas that were only big enough for 2 ppl, we have to come turn it on 15 minutes in advance and I suppose take the chance that none of the other guests would jump in and take our place.
The food was good but the restaurant service was aweful. I was never asked if i'd like something else to drink after I downed my first drink in the first 10 minutes of having sat down. The tables were so close together that we had to whisper to keep our conversation quiet, not to mention the waitress having to ask the lady behind me and I to move our chairs up so she could squeeze by. My boyfriend only got his desert well after others that had shown up after us. The decor in this place was WAY outdated! I had an uncontrollable laughing fit at the table about how unbelievably decieving the website had been.
We took one of the newly renovated rooms with jaccuzzi tub because I'm pregnant and didn't want to use the other jaccuzzis because they'd be too hot. The room looked nice at first glance but then we started noticing how badly and carelessly these rooms were done. The TV cord hung down below the flatscreen and plugged into a horribly visible outlet right there a foot or so below the TV, the stain they used on the cheap looking flooring in the bathroom was splattered onto the base of the shower stall and toilet and worst of all...NO SOUNDPROOFING WHATSOEVER!!! That's right, in this brand new, romantic suite, we could hear our neighbors above and beside us!
We were looking for a little romantic getaway before our baby's born and didn't expect any more than what was advertised on their site. At least we got to have a good laugh.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
1 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
386 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
214 reviews
12.5 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Auberge du Lac des Sables
#4 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
77 reviews
9.1 mi away
Auberge & Spa le Refuge
Auberge & Spa le Refuge
#2 of 2 in Morin Heights
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Hotel Spa Watel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Hotel Spa Watel

Address: 250 rue Saint-Venant, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Hotel Spa Watel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Hôtel Spa Watel is an establishment with 31 cozy rooms: 10 with fireplace and therapeutic bath for two. You will find all the conveniences needed for a very pleasant stay: private bathroom, telephone, colour cable television, high-speed Internet, air-conditioning, whirlpool bath, safe, hairdryer, etc. This quality hotel provides a panoramic view of Lac des Sables and the beautiful Laurentian mountains. The Hôtel Spa Watel is located next to the famous theatre Le Patriote and a superb public beach. Relax in one of the four massage therapy rooms or enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the indoor and outdoor spas or the dry and wet saunas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Hotel Spa Watel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing