We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just got back from a one night stay. Staff are very friendly, but a little too much at dinner time. Food was not as good as I expected for a 4 star hotel. The warm spinach salad was bitter and the cream brûlée had the texture of a pudding. The scallops were good. They advertise a four course meal in the package but you have to pay extra for the entree. We had a massage which was very relaxing but she did not take in consideration the knots I mentioned I felt in my upper back. The 4 person spa were appreciated for the intimacy. even though it rained all day it was covered. I asked for a margarita but I think she forgot the tequila :( at 9$ a glass I expected some tequila in it. The staff is very helpful and nice but bar service is hard to get before 3pm. The rooms are very clean and nice. The location is great. Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy more of the activities due to the rain but that is Mother Natures fault. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are willing to pay extra for a nicer meal and breakfast which is not included. This is very rare when you buy a weekend package at that type of establishment. It was very expensive for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issybella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Issybella00,

Je constate que dans l'ensemble vous avez apprécié votre séjour, concernant les repas les déjeuners ne sont pas inclus, ils sont à votre discrétion, les informations à cet effet sont sur notre site web. Vous pourrez essayer notre nouveau menu table d'hôte à compter du 28juin 2013. Merci pour votre recommandation aux autres, nous faisons notre possible pour nous améliorer, notre équipe prend vos commentaires en considération. Heureusement que malgré le mauvais temps plusieurs parties de nos installations qui sont acceciblent sans frais avec votre hébergement.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir cet été

Salutation Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Each week I spend a night in SPAWATEL for business north of Montreal. With Brigitte and Lise, I don't have to worry, my invoice is always ready, the key is on the table of the room and the air-conditioning is running for me! So I get a good night's sleep doing business the next day in Laurentians.

Some weeks, by coincidence I meet Claude, the owner, and it happens that he pays me a beer. Thanks for that! That philosophising is always good for me, it puts me in a better mood. With the beer, Claude always gives me a personal tip: "John, why don't you relax for a while in the spa before retiring in your room!?" My answer is always the same: "I don't have time for that these days!" Well, my new answer is: "Claude, I made my reservation for a weekend with my wife this summer!" Because with those 7 spas in your place, the all new patio with the traditional scenery of Lac-des-Sables and the biking trails, I can't resist anymore to have some fun in your place! And Anny won't neither.

So, this summer, Claude, I'll pay you a beer and you'll be able to see me in a spa, with my wife. No computer, no mobile: only me and my wife and my bathing suit instead of my suit and tie! Can you believe me?... I bet you a beer!

Thanks to all of you and keep the good work!

Sincerely, John.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour M. JeanKid,

Merci pour vos mots encourageants et de provocation pour me faire boire de la bière, en effet nous avons atteint une complicité après tes nombreuses visites à notre Hôtel et il est toujours agréable de parler ensemble de divers sujets. Tu travailles fort dans ta chambre plutôt qu'aux spas, mais tu en profiteras avec ta tendre moitié cet été, tu peux lui faire visionner notre visite virtuelle 360° qui est sur notre site internet pour voir nos nouvelles installations de spas extérieurs

Salutations, Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.

P.-S. Brigitte et Lise te font un bizou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I'm sorry, I read a few reviews on here and I suppose we all
have our standards.
I am not disappointed so much with the rooms, be
they as they may, not the best quality.

What gets me is that it is called "Hotel Spa" of which it is neither.!
The "spa": 2 above ground bains tourbillon which accommodate 4 each.
Under a canopy (not to sturdy looking) that hides any possibility
of enjoying the sun .
Where was the outdoor pool they spoke to me about on phone?.
Oh it must have been the one we saw overlooking the terrasse, the one
covered in snow. I've been to spas in the winter & outdoor pools are
accessible as well.
Equally the indoor tourbillon is in a small room with an elliptical machine,
a treadmill and a bike. Does this mean that for a quiet "spa" atmosphere
people can work out as I soak in the tub about 4 feet away from me?.The
space is not any bigger than that. I wont even talk about the "sauna."

The indoor pool: equipped with an industrial sized filtration motor that runs
ever so loudly situated & visible in the corner, exactly where the
lawn chairs are spread out for you to sit and enjoy some "quiet time"
Where is the nice soft music? the peace one can enjoy at a spa.
Or the relaxing smells of lavender and eucalyptus.?

Now for the "Hotel" part. Hotels have 24hr desk clerk and service.
They don't close their office and shut down the front desk at 11pm.

Its all about the nice details, plastic flowers don't cut it for me either.
As well, it doesn't cost much to have a pot of coffee running for the guests.
If you want recurring customers it truly is in the detail.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013
Google Translation

Il est bon de comparer des pommes avec des pommes, car vous avez opté pour une chambre supérieure à prix moindre. Tout est compris dans le prix des chambres. Notre publicité ne mentionne pas que la piscine extérieure est ouverte l'hiver. Le petit spa est un atout pour notre clientèle y séjournant. Personne de l'extérieur ne peut venir dans nos spas et piscine intérieure sans hébergement. Nous avons affiché que d'autres spas seront installés au printemps pour le confort de nos clients

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

After a busy business week, what a relief it was to be there. Welcoming friendly staff and the owners are all about making sure you enjoy your stay... and they succeeded with us! We had unlimited access to the indoor and outdoor jacuzzis, sauna, and indoor pool and I received a fabulous massage. The food is good, rooms are clean and comfy. You get a beautiful view of the lake and by seeing the large patios they have, summer time visits seem like a must. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieAndDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for your good comments JulieAndDonald,

In summer we have seven terraces around the hotel with the access to all of our privately owned facilities, new walking trail from the hotel and of the beach activities accessible such as Canoe, Kayak and Pedal Boat, we will gladly to welcome you again!

Pleased to receive

Claude and Lise Fleurent, owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Last leg of our Petit Train du Nord trip. By far the best place we stayed at! Great amenities, excellent cuisine, upbeat friendly staff. Hot tub, pool, close to lake, you name it; this place has it all!
Will definitely come back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get accommodation here if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hello Mr. PWMM,

Is always pleasant both for us and for our staff to receive feedback and praise. We ensure to maintain our hotel at the forefront.

thank you

to the pleasure of welcoming you again

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A super clean and well-appointed room awaited us - not large, but with thoughtful conveniences.
Best of all, the price - $90 per night for two nights - the restaurant looked good, but as vegans
we found small, excellent restaurants in the mountain village of St. Agathe des Monts. Quiet
and well run. You could quarrel with the four star rating, but the facility with a small, very clean
pool and spa services ensured a fine holiday.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a suite if they are not busy on week nights provides a 4 star experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susangibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thanks for your comments, that are very positive.

Our low prices dosen't reflect our 4star rated hotel with so many serices.

Our goal is to maintain a low price policy at all time, to make sur our appriciated costemers will come back all year round.

Au revoir

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We went here in family to spend the New Year's Eve.
The location is perfect, view to the lake is awsome. We had a superior room which is not so big (a lot smaller than other 4* we had), an individual bathroom with jacuzzi, electrical fireplace and wall installed flatscreen tv. The bad was comfortable.
We had a package of 2 nights including the New Year's eve dinner. The price was acceptable for 2 nights, 7 service dinner for 2 and unlimited access to indoor pool, indoor/outdoor jacuzzi. There was also an outdoor pool but due to the weather, it was closed.
just 5 minutes walking near hotel we did some crosscountry skiing (there are many routes from easy to very difficult). The hotel gave us a 10% coupon to use it there
The receptionists were very helpful and welcoming.
We can recommend anytime this property to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Auberge Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013
Google Translation

Merci pour vos bons mots, il nous fait tellement plaisir d'y lire votre constat sur nos services. Notre personnel lit attentivement les commentaires et ça nous monte le moral.

Merci et au revoir

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
1 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
386 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
214 reviews
12.5 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Auberge du Lac des Sables
#4 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
77 reviews
9.1 mi away
Auberge & Spa le Refuge
Auberge & Spa le Refuge
#2 of 2 in Morin Heights
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Hotel Spa Watel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Hotel Spa Watel

Address: 250 rue Saint-Venant, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Hotel Spa Watel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Hôtel Spa Watel is an establishment with 31 cozy rooms: 10 with fireplace and therapeutic bath for two. You will find all the conveniences needed for a very pleasant stay: private bathroom, telephone, colour cable television, high-speed Internet, air-conditioning, whirlpool bath, safe, hairdryer, etc. This quality hotel provides a panoramic view of Lac des Sables and the beautiful Laurentian mountains. The Hôtel Spa Watel is located next to the famous theatre Le Patriote and a superb public beach. Relax in one of the four massage therapy rooms or enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the indoor and outdoor spas or the dry and wet saunas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Hotel Spa Watel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing