We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison 1890

Maison 1890
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant- traiteur- Boutique - Pret-a-mangerRestaurant-Catering - Boutique -Take out
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food is terrific. It's adventurous enough for foodies but even picky eaters can find something they like. Don't forget dessert! The cheesecake might be the best I've ever had. And the chef had a pasta du jour of ravioli stuffed with truffles which was outstanding. I'm guessing almost everything they serve is made fresh from scratch; the pasta was perfect.

Their servers are excellent, even in a packed restaurant when most other servers would get flustered.

The atmosphere is a nice mix between formal fine dining and a fun cafe environment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A jewel in the heart of the Laurentians.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Maison 1890 is a most welcome addition to Ste-Agathe. We have had a cottage in the area for over 30 years. Most of our weekends and holidays are spent here and there has been little in the way of a quality place to go for an evening out (excepting LESVOS /B&B on Lac des Sables).

What a delight, from the welcoming smile on Tania's face to the suprisingly interesting menu and wine list (all reasonable). The decor is warm and friendly, like being welcomed into someone's home, and the food, the FOOD!!! OMG! Fabulous on all counts. The food is why we will certainly come back and bring our friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Gastronomy, Small Price - a foodie must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Tania and her accomplices (notable mention for Renée) really know how to take care of their clients' The restaurant was completely full on a Tuesday lunchtime and they took care of me marvellously. I did have the luxury of time. The meal started with a plate of Maison 1890's home prepared Smoked Salmon, what a treat! And having made the trip from Montreal (1h15 minutes by car) I could not miss out on their famous duck dish which was skillfully executed to perfection! Dessert was a creme brulé with laté, why complicate life? Thank you to Tania and Chef Benchlouch for the warm welcome! A foodie must when in the Laurentians

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavieBoy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
“Excellent food, excellent service, very reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ate both lunch and dinner here. We loved the atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and attentive, the food was excellent without exception. The prices are very reasonable, much less that you would expect to pay for this quality of dining experience. This will be a regular stop for us whenever we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Adolphe-d'Howard, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Abiance, fine cuisine and friendly welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was a real treat to visit Maison 1890 for t he second time with friends. We were welcomed cordially and were given a varied menu on three pages. My friends ordered mushroom soup, a grilled cheese sandwich and crème brule - mushroom soup, cajan chicken sandwich and lemon pie - and I ordered mushroom soup, warm goat cheese on grilled vegetables and crème brule.
We completed our lunch with a great coffee and cream. This restaurant is well worth a visit. It is recommended you make reservation well in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison 1890 also viewed

Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Maison 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing