We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionnal!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A La Cornemuse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A La Cornemuse
Ranked #6 of 11 North Hatley B&B and Inns
Joliette
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionnal!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a good choice!Everything was perfect. The food:excellent! I wasn't expecting breakfasts with 3 services and so much taste.The room : very comfortable. The host : always ready to answer our questions on the area or make suggestions. He described and explained to us the history of the b&b in a very interesting way. The house inside is simply beautiful! We enjoy the outside as well, on a beautiful terrasse with a glass of wine, after our bike ride. It was our first stay but not our last one. I look forward going back to a la Cornemuse!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Upon arrival our hostess inquired about whether we had any restrictions in our diets, and the next morning for breakfast, we had a gourmet breakfast that was perfect for both me and my husband. For breakfast the second morning, the host made another delicious meal. Many thanks! The inn is very interesting with lots of references to Scotland, bag pipers and sheep! And the bed was very comfortable. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a bedroom which had a handicapped accessible shower and we were given a lovely room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portland_yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Arrived late during the night, no shop or restaurant were open and we were hungry. Host was so kind she offered food even though this is a bed and breakfast only. Never seen such generous host before.

Many many thanks to the hosts. A very clean place, AAA service, rich historical victorian interior well preserved, delicious breakfasts.

I will return for sure and highly recommend that place ! I liked it so much that I stayed for an extra night.

Room Tip: This place is only a 7 min. walk away from the hearth of North Hatley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Often neglected in favour of the Laurentians and especially the Mont Tremblant region, Quebec's Eastern Townships are well worth a visit for a variety of reasons - ski slopes, picturesque villages, charming country inns and, especially for the quaint intermingling of French and English backgrounds and flavours. Typical of such areas is that around Mount Orford and North Hatley. And, for those who haven't the budget for the splendid Manoir Hovey, you might want to try the very special Scottish flavour of "La Cornemuse," which could be translated as The Bagpipe Inn. It recently won the award of best B & B in the Townships. Over a century old, the inn belonged to a Scottish settler called John Gray and was one of many properties he owned in the area. Hosts Jocyln and Diane took it over in 1999 and accentuated its Scottish flavour, with rooms such as St. Andrew's, Mary Stuart, Robert Burns, Edinburgh, etc. with Scottish flourishes throughout. A hearty four-course breakfast (there are 21 different menus) is one of the highlights and they are proud to make it so personal rather than leaving guests to cope with a buffet. They are very helpful about local attractions and have an arrangement with an excellent nearby gastronomic restaurant for a discounted or "forfeit" dinner, of which we availed ourselves and which will be reviewed separately. breakfasts and afternoon tea for groups can also be served outdoors, overlooking the golf course, but atrocious weather prevented us from enjoying that feature. The room was comfortable and if we had any reproach it was that the inn could do with a bit of internal improvement, which is of course tricky and expensive, given its designation as a historic building. All round, though, a memorable and inviting experience.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the golf course, such as the St. Andrews, with balcony and sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Many thanks to the staff for making me fell welcomed to your sanctuary, had a great time at your B&B. Clean, beautiful and comfortable. Stroll to the lake after a sumptuous breakfast made my day. Hope to visit again!
Paul

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The room was soooo romantic and cozy. We had a very gourmet breakfast... and been told it was special savours from Scotland!!

We arrived and played chess in the comfort of big old chairs with nice sips of scotch... ; )

We were impressed by the 4 o'clock tea served by a butilfully dressed women rememering the old time in scotland, but all in the comfort of this B&B in North Hatley.

Room Tip: We were in the Marie Stewart room and it was very cozy... I don't about the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phanchoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

On a recent visit to distant relatives in the Eastern Towships, I spent 2 nights at la Cornemuse upon recommendation and everything was as expected. Clean,comfortable room, great views and attentive service. The breakfast meals were a total delight! Would recommend.
Lauren

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
1.0 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Le Cachet B&B
Le Cachet B&B
#1 of 11 in North Hatley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge La Chocolatiere
Auberge La Chocolatiere
#2 of 11 in North Hatley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Raveaudiere
La Raveaudiere
#5 of 11 in North Hatley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Le Coeur d'Or
Auberge Le Coeur d'Or
#8 of 11 in North Hatley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A La Cornemuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A La Cornemuse

Property: A La Cornemuse
Address: 1044 Massawippi, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A La Cornemuse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A La Cornemuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A La Cornemuse North Hatley, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing