We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If u don't mind being in an area with not much to do but enjoy wonderful food, accommodations and service this is the perfect place to celebrate an anniversary or just get away from it all
We particularly like the cabins- private and very comfortable. We have been there in every season and continue to return year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here last weekend, very professional staff on arrival, ugraded without asking for it which meant we had hot tub bath, nice! The room was beautiful with cabin feel, really cosy. We took their bikes for big cycle on the Saturday, great. Track in the village all along the river. Arrived back to well deserved hot tub. Dinner was the main event in our minds. On arrival the Sommelier breezed by us without greeting us but then he doubled back on himself to bring us into the restaurant, strange manner. The wait staff explained there would be amuse bouche and predessert but they subsequently forgot our amuse bouche and we were waiting for a good while before starters arrived. No matter, they made up for it! Scallops were to die for and ravioli too. Unfortunately the venison I ordered for main course was disappointing- I had it cooked rare as advised but found it full of connective tissue and quite tough and chewy. The steak in the other hand was totally gorgeous, melt in the mouth. We finished with one desert and one cheese plate accompanied by the local ice wine, went well together. Overall our meal was great but a few mistakes that I wouldn't expect from this level of establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GodMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

lucky to make it back to North Hately again after too many years away. Its nice to see the institutions like Hovey Mannor still going strong.

Service is impeccalbe, Sommeliers know more than some nobel prize winners, and it all somehown managers to maintain that boutique family flavour despite the utmost in professionalism.

they strive for personal service, when my sister got married there they bended more than a few of their internal rules to make it happen and make it happen seamlessly...

keep up the good work!

Room Tip: second story looking north up the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Postindustrialnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked our reservation at Hovey Manor on a recommendation from a colleague who had stayed there about a year ago and loved it. We were also delighted with the accommodation, the service, and the food.

The common rooms were lovely with comfy furniture designed for reading and chatting and each one had a fireplace that glowed with warmth at all hours. Our room was comfortable and spacious with lots of room for a small sofa and a gas fireplace. The balcony, with chairs and a table, looked over the lake. Service at the front desk was always prompt and pleasant.

Breakfast at Hovey was generous with a buffet table with yogurt, assorted fruit, granola and cereal, fresh fruit juices, and a selection of fruit compotes. In addition, there was a selection of hot dishes: eggs, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, and a daily special. Coffee was excellent and the tea selection outstanding. All loose leaf teas were served in individual tea pots.

Dinner was also outstanding. It was served in three courses: appetizer, main, and dessert. In the four evenings that we ate at Hovey, nothing disappointed and there was much to delight. In particular, the scallops and Fois Gras were excellent, the sweetbreads, roasted quail, and venison were delicious, and the cheese table is not to be missed. Between each course a delightful amuse bouche was served. I would suggest that Hovey offer more wines by the glass as many diners would prefer to have a better selection of wines in smaller portions.

We had a wonderful time at Hovey Manor and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our fall mini get away takes us to this wonderful elegant rustic resort tucked away in the beautful Eastern Townships, Quebec. We choose this time of year to enjoy the brilliant colors and take in a few of the charming wineries along the way.Not our first visit and certainly not our last.

Hovey Manoir offers us top notch accomodation. We enjoy the cottage on the hill with a wood burning fireplace, jazuzzie tub and comfy king size bed. The staff are most accomodating and the food/service is out of this world... it's no wonder it receives the Relais Chateau honour...

Room Tip: We love staying in cottage 34.. but a similar suite in the house is very nice and you don't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Its sits by a lake, the buildings are in white, the fires are lit, service is warm and competent. Its a nice place.

Food is good, the wine cellar is voluminous, the sommelier knows what she is talking about.

Breakfast is sometimes a disorganized affair, long wait, room service is a lot better.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My spouse and I choose Manoir Hovey for a getaway weekend, and were most happy we did !
Up front, I have to agree with the vast majority of comments on the beautiful setting, wonderful food and top-notch service, both professional and wholehearted, all worthy of its Relais & Chateaux accreditation. This place isn’t cheap, but I am convinced that it is worth every penny. Instead of repeating many of the excellent comments published here, I will offer a few examples of how minute details can transform a great experience into an exceptional one:

- During our personalized tour of the premises at our arrival, past 7 PM on a Friday night, I noticed that the heated pool was already covered - it had been a rather cool day. The desk person spontaneously offered to have it removed so I could go for a swim before diner.
- At diner, the restaurant staff was most considerate to my seven-month pregnant spouse, by offering her a comfortable seat and adapting a recipe to her special dietary needs.
- The wine steward was very helpful and acute in her recommendations, and even once didn’t refrain from suggesting, in a very professional and polite manner, a different selection.
- Even if it was quite late, we had the pleasure after dinner to have coffee and liqueurs served in the adjacent library room, a very agreeable place to read and relax.

Overall, we simply enjoyed our stay. I would definitely recommend Manoir Hovey and am most eager to visit again some day.

Room Tip: We had a standard room, which was located on the forest side, so no lake view. However, this didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
259 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
353 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
508 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: £141 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Canada - Quebec
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing