We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of winter get-away”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We returned to Manoir Hovey after a first visit ten years ago. The memory of the cosy, genteel country-chic common reading room with the fireplace enticing us to spend some time in this 5-star inn. We had made reservations last year for february but a fire at the inn cancelled those plans. Some rooms have been redecorated with a sparer, more modern look but we wanted the 'Laura Ashley' feel. We booked a De Luxe room on the second floor, with private balcony with view on the lake. Very pretty room with wood pannelling, floral wallpaper, winged armchairs and antique framed paintings of fish and landscapes. Beautiful view of the lake. Comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with a large spa-jet bathtub. The only problem is that the bed rests against the hallway wall. When people walk by, you can really hear it. Also, our room was near the exercise room, so when someone is on the treadmill you can hear/feel it. We had brought our skates and snowshoes but it was too mild to use either! The ice on the lake was still good however, so we walked to town, enjoying the view on both sides of the lake. Many ice-fishing holes had been drilled, so we could see the thickness of the ice. North Hatley is tiny but it has a few antique shops, a bar-restaurant and a few coffeeshops with view on the lake. In the summer, there are a few beaches on the lake and the inn also has a heated pool. The main attraction at the inn is the food at it's 'Hatley' restaurant. Breakfast is generous and includes choices from a buffet, a menu and a daily special. You wil not need to eat lunch. Supper is fabulous gourmet dinning highlighting regional foods and presented by a very pleasant staff and team of sommeliers. This is not your t-shirt and flipflop, ketchup-and-Pepsi kind of place but it's not snobby or snooty. It is town and country casual done in a well-mannered, elegant way. The pub also serves excellent gin martinis! Just be prepared to pay for the 5-star rating...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcyMontr_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Manoir Hovey is in a stunning location. Alas, on our recent visit it was quite icy so we couldn't walk out to the lake and enjoy the setting. We arrived about 2 PM. Our room was ready and quite appealing on first glance. The furniture was a mixture that one could find either charmingly ecclectic or odd. I thought the textiles made it work. The view from our doors to a lovely patio and on to the lake was lovely. We were impressed that the gas fireplace had been lit and the room was cozy. We unpacked and settled in--planning our afternoon. Then we noticed it was rather warm. Remembering that we had been shown how to turn off the fireplace and lower the thermostat on the heat, we set about doing so. Ah! The fireplace would not turn off and the heat could not be lowered to a comfortable temperature. I went out to the desk. They sent maintenance. It could not be fixed. They offered to change our room (let's remember, we had already unpacked and settled in). I looked at two other rooms--neither had the charm of the first and one required a long walk down an unappealing (and scuffed) hallway. We chose to stay in the original room and spent two days with the window open to keep from roasting. We went to dinner--absolutely fabulous. Chantal, our server, and Patrick, our ?, were wonderful. Chantal made the description of each dish sound fabulous--and each dish was fabulous. Great choices, presentation and ingredients. Nice setting. Incredibly expensive wine list. Great evening. Morning came--time for a shower. The shower went from absolutely freezing to scalding at less than 1 minute intervals. No kidding. After leaping out 3-4 times and trying to adjust the handle, I realized it was hopeless and just stepped back in-- hurrying and repeatedly darting to the back of the tub. No relaxation. My husband chose a bath--looking forward to the jacuzzi. The cold water pulses were so vigorous that it wasn't possible to get a nice warm bath and, guess what, the jacuzzi didn't work. I told the desk. Again they offered to change our room (a bit late once your shower and bath have been ruined). We stayed two nights. We ate dinner again, with another bottle of over-priced wine. Don't you think they could have apologized just a bit--acknowledged the continuing problems with the room with some idea other than having us pack up and move to a less appealing location (the place was almost empty)? Breakfast, by the way, was very average--although they do have a stunning selection of teas and the croissants were outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Fantastic food, really mind blowing, great view and okay rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahR0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I am very proud to say that my wife and I have stayed at Hovey Manor more than a dozen times over the past number of years.
Each experience better than the one before.
The setting is Superb , the Inn is Superb, the dining is an experience in all that culinary excellence can possibly be.
The offerings of the menu are incomparable in my experience.
However, as in all things in life it is People that will always cause an experience to elevate from outstanding to some thing that defies description.
Such is the case at Hovey Manor!
From the moment someone meets you at your car, to the reception experience to the dining staff, and the genuine smile that is on everyone's face as they seek to engage you in satisfying your every need.
And I do mean every need.
We have need for minor special accomodations due to some halting health issues, nothing requiring specific Handicap accessability , rather a bit of a challenge that we had not mentioned in reserving our stay.
Howwever upon arrival this last time in late October, it was mentioned at the reception desk.
Immediately a special accomodation was made, it gets better!
The very next day a more accessable room became available and it was quietly and immediatley made available to us for the one night remaining in our Two night visit.
This meant that the Young Woman the first day had made note and the next day Young Man approached us to offer the change , and "Upgrade" in our room.
All the right things had been done , yet they went beyond the right thing to do the Best Thing!
Prior to this most recent stay my wife awoke one morning to say "This is my favorite place on earth"
With very good reason.
If you are reading this, go no further.
Reserve the experience in your life to Visit the wonderful Hovey Manor and all the outstanding people who make it a memmorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just right for every guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Set in the beautiful Eastern Townships surrounded by mountains and trees over looking lake Massawippi lies the romantic lakeside in the Manoir Hovey. We arrived in the evening and were greated by the friendly front desk clerks Julia and Lydia. We were then taken to our rooms in one of the cottages. We had our bags carried up to the room. We ate an amazing gourmet dinner at the main building which was outstanding. We were attended to by serveral waiters and waitresses. We felt like royality!! The room rate includes, dinner and breakfast. Wine is separate. The rooms were decorated country style and the beds were very confortable. We will go back again in the winter season.

Room Tip: Rooms separated from the main building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If u don't mind being in an area with not much to do but enjoy wonderful food, accommodations and service this is the perfect place to celebrate an anniversary or just get away from it all
We particularly like the cabins- private and very comfortable. We have been there in every season and continue to return year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here last weekend, very professional staff on arrival, ugraded without asking for it which meant we had hot tub bath, nice! The room was beautiful with cabin feel, really cosy. We took their bikes for big cycle on the Saturday, great. Track in the village all along the river. Arrived back to well deserved hot tub. Dinner was the main event in our minds. On arrival the Sommelier breezed by us without greeting us but then he doubled back on himself to bring us into the restaurant, strange manner. The wait staff explained there would be amuse bouche and predessert but they subsequently forgot our amuse bouche and we were waiting for a good while before starters arrived. No matter, they made up for it! Scallops were to die for and ravioli too. Unfortunately the venison I ordered for main course was disappointing- I had it cooked rare as advised but found it full of connective tissue and quite tough and chewy. The steak in the other hand was totally gorgeous, melt in the mouth. We finished with one desert and one cheese plate accompanied by the local ice wine, went well together. Overall our meal was great but a few mistakes that I wouldn't expect from this level of establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GodMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
259 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
353 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
507 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: £141 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Canada - Quebec
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing