We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to do nothing.”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Manoir Hovey was on our list of things to do last year, in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, on a beautiful lake, But, they had a fire and we were diverted to Ripplecove Inn on the same lake. This year Manoir Hovey was ready for us, a gracious hotel with exquisite cuisine and a wine list that is staggerring. We read our books, hiked the trails and roadways, sat in Adirondeck chairs in the sunny afternoon. When the staff learned we had been turned away by the fire the year before, they upgraded our room to an end suite on the second floor with a fireplace and balcony, where we did the crossword in the morning. A 2 and 1/2 hour trip from Burlington, Vermont (we stopped at the beautiful stone monestary St. Benoit du Lac on the way), we were delighted to leave our car in free parking and enjoy the inn's comforts, extraordinary and fun.

Room Tip: Room 44 at the end has a great balcony and fireplace. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Picture Mount Vernon overlooking a crystal-clear lake, and you'll have an image of Manoir Hovey, a beautiful destination in Quebec's Eastern Townships. Travelers can choose from traditional rooms, furnished in antiques and rich textiles to contemporary quarters with touches of sleek leather and gleaming marble. All are lovely, and most feature a special touch, perhaps a fireplace or Jacuzzi. The price includes breakfast and dinner in the extraordinary restaurant, with a menu mixing local ingredients and a modern Parisian sensibility. The inn offers ample diversions, from a spa experience to a sleigh ride in the snowy woods, but visitors may also enjoy borrowing a bicycle to tour the countryside or hopping in their car for a drive around the lake and a visit to the shops in North Hatley. From your first encounter to your words of farewell, you will have a memorable time at this very special inn.

Room Tip: Manoir Hovey's Website offers a virtual tour of the rooms, which should help travelers make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Though we visit the Eastern Townships regularly, this was our first stay at Manoir Hovey and we were most impressed.

We booked a contemporary room. Those have been recently refurbished and are quite impressive, both in design and comfort. They've managed to keep country charm while working in decidedly urban touches and features. Only complain we had was the AC compressors planted just outside of our window. Noise was our concern initially but we barely heard it in the end... Still it might have made sense to move those elsewhere. Not sure why you'd plant them right next to a window. This is a high end place. All details should be carefully thought through.

Then there's service. Every single employee was friendly and absolutely eager to help. We were escorted to our room at check in, the concierge insisted on showing us directions to our spa, twice a day room service was unobtrusive and I could go on.

Dining was superb. We tried the tasting menu and out of six courses, five were perfect (we didn't care too much for the white fish, a bit overdone). We added the all-Canadian wine pairing which was both original and tasteful. Finally, service was spotless, true to Relais et Châteaux standards.

We can't wait to return. We'd especially love to visit in the Summer or Fall. Spring is nice and quiet but lacking the show nature uts on in the two former seasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and one away from the AC compressors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steilkurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first time to Manoir Hovey and we have been pleasantly surprised. We were given a recently renovated room and although a bit on the small side, it was tastefully decorated with a modern twist. Our room had a huge balcony overlooking Massawippi Lake. We sipped Champagne looking out at the fantastic landscape, and chatted away. We elected to dine at the Manoir's restaurant and were not disappointed given that this charming Manoir is part of the famous "Relais and Chateaux". Everything we tasted was exquisite and very refined. This is definitely a place to discover. I wished we could have stayed a second night!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have been to Manoir Hovey many times during the last ten years. It is charming; unapolegetically French; wonderfully and mindfully Canadian; and dedicated to both service and "keeping its' customers satisfed." (Mark oversees the reservation and service process and know, with his wisdom and gentility, you are in good hands!) The food is 5 star; the rooms are designed to please; and the inn manages to hold onto its vital past while evolving into what will "hopefully" be an equally vital future. Well done and a journey worth taking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelReine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a charming country inn in the Eastern Townships of Quebec Province in Canada.. The rooms are bright, well maintained and kept spotless. High quality products and linens. Our large deluxe room had a whirpool bath, separate shower and a fireplace. We went there for cross country skiing and the Mount Orford State Park is about 30 minutes away, with plenty of traked trails for all levels. The best part of Manoir Hovey is the dining room.. They have a MAP where you get breakfast and dinner included in the room rate. The food borders on the spectacular. We have been going to Manoir Hovey fo several years running and the chef really has grown over the years. Whereas the food was always excellent, it is now superb. The presentations, choices and cooking techniques are up to the standards of the finest restaurants in the world. The completely bilingual staff wait on you had and foot. Cannot say enough about the front desk staff ,in seeing that all our needs were met. The dining room staff led by the maitre d' Frank, the sommeliers Patrick and Chantal and the breakfast manager Katherine couldn't have been more accomodating. We were treated like visiting royalty during our whole 6 night stay. Though not inexpensive it is a wonderful value for what you get. Can't wait to go back next year. We travel there from our home in California and the overall experience is well worth the trip.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms are wonderul. Whirlpool tubs and fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We returned to Manoir Hovey after a first visit ten years ago. The memory of the cosy, genteel country-chic common reading room with the fireplace enticing us to spend some time in this 5-star inn. We had made reservations last year for february but a fire at the inn cancelled those plans. Some rooms have been redecorated with a sparer, more modern look but we wanted the 'Laura Ashley' feel. We booked a De Luxe room on the second floor, with private balcony with view on the lake. Very pretty room with wood pannelling, floral wallpaper, winged armchairs and antique framed paintings of fish and landscapes. Beautiful view of the lake. Comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with a large spa-jet bathtub. The only problem is that the bed rests against the hallway wall. When people walk by, you can really hear it. Also, our room was near the exercise room, so when someone is on the treadmill you can hear/feel it. We had brought our skates and snowshoes but it was too mild to use either! The ice on the lake was still good however, so we walked to town, enjoying the view on both sides of the lake. Many ice-fishing holes had been drilled, so we could see the thickness of the ice. North Hatley is tiny but it has a few antique shops, a bar-restaurant and a few coffeeshops with view on the lake. In the summer, there are a few beaches on the lake and the inn also has a heated pool. The main attraction at the inn is the food at it's 'Hatley' restaurant. Breakfast is generous and includes choices from a buffet, a menu and a daily special. You wil not need to eat lunch. Supper is fabulous gourmet dinning highlighting regional foods and presented by a very pleasant staff and team of sommeliers. This is not your t-shirt and flipflop, ketchup-and-Pepsi kind of place but it's not snobby or snooty. It is town and country casual done in a well-mannered, elegant way. The pub also serves excellent gin martinis! Just be prepared to pay for the 5-star rating...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcyMontr_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
269 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 15 in Sherbrooke
531 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 15 in Sherbrooke
356 reviews
3.2 mi away
Manoir Le Tricorne
Manoir Le Tricorne
#4 of 12 in North Hatley
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.p. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: £134 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Canada - Quebec
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing