We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lakeside tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here as part of a family holiday to Quebec. Rooms (39 & 40) were very large, beautiful & interconnecting - we had an amazing corner balcony & views over garden/lake in room 39. Had dinner in restaurant on 2 nights - very good & interesting food. Chef was very accommodating in preparing plain versions of the main courses for our fussy son! Other evenings we ate out in North Hatley - a short 5 minute drive & pretty village. Lunch at Tap Room to be recommended too. Beautiful grounds & views of lake. Loved the paddle boards & kayaks. Hotel arranged riding, fishing & boat trips which were excellent. All in all, a really good location for a very relaxing end to our trip. PS - hotel was very accommodating with a late check out due to our evening flight which was much appreciated.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    140
    57
    19
    5
See reviews for
132
777
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were greeted at Manoir Hovey by an attentive front desk person and a rainbow. And it just got better. Our room was in a free-standing cabin decorated with French touches - lovely. We found the dining to be excellent as well. We would highly recommend Manoir Hovey to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLAMTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We went there for our 30th anniversary, the deluxe room we reserved and were charged for was a superior only. We were surprised to find the room was ready early at 2:30 pm, when we arrived for our massages. The room though had a spectacular view overlooking the serene lake and manicured gardens, in full boom. All through the property grounds were clusters of comfortable chairs overlooking the lake for relaxing and reading.

Before dinner we went to the outdoor pool (heated at 90 degrees) and then an even more refreshing dip in the lake. The dinner was exquisite.

At the pool we each had one glass of house wine (a Pinot Grigio and a Sangiovese) listed on the pool bar menu at $8 each. Upon checkout we were charged $29 for the same 2 glasses of wine. They were served in smaller pool plastic wine glasses half filled to 2.5 ounzes each. I expressed my concern upon checkout, and the lady only said I will check with the pool bar and make sure it doesn't happen next time. She disappeared, and did not correct my bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mita_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The garden and setting at Manoir Hovey has to be seen to be believed: it is simply breathtaking and the food is exquisite. However, we were very disappointed with our room which looked onto a rock cliff/back parking lot (R. 12). We arrived at 6:30 pm and when I saw our room, I asked if there was a lakeview room available, and was told that there was, but that it would cost an extra $80! I also had a terrible sleep because the kitchen door under our window slammed about every 5 minutes. At midnight, I finally complained to the front desk and he managed to stop the slamming. At 5 am, it started again. Super unimpressed. Upon checkout they gave us a $90 discount for the slamming door (they charged us low-season rates instead of high-season rates).

Room Tip: If you have a room at the back, make sure to ask if the kitchen door slamming issue has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent 2 lovely days at the Manoir Hovey in early August. Service was excellent and staff were very helpful. Upon our arrival, a staff member (Charles) was assigned to give us a tour of the resort, which was extremely interesting and helped get us oriented. We found the gardens were beautiful. My favorite activity was sitting in an Adirondack chair in the gardens & reading, while enjoying a terrific view on the lake and the surrounding mountains. We really appreciated the peacefulness & tranquility of the resort.

Another big plus for us was the quality of the food and service in the main dining room. We had one table d'hôte dinner and one six course tasting dinner there. Both meals were excellent. As far as we are concerned, this restaurant is one of the best in Quebec. Highlights were the boudin of sea scallops, the torchon of foie gras (part of the tasting menu) and the extraordinary cheese plate with a wonderful selection of local cheeses, perfectly accompanied with a mixture of warm toast, grapes, raisins & other dried fruit. Yum! There is also a very impressive wine list. The sommeliers are very knowledgeable & helpful with the wine selections. Based on other reviews on TripAdvisor we thought that service in the restaurant may be a bit of an issue but we found it perfect. If ever it was a problem in the past clearly the Manoir Hovey has addressed it.

One recommendation - although our package only included breakfast & dinner, one day we opted to have lunch outdoors on the patio of the Tap Room. It's a beautiful site - one of the nicest patios you will find anywhere. The food is excellent as well.

Overall we found the Manoir to be a wonderful place to relax. The food is wonderful as well. There is a lot to do at the resort or nearby if you are so inclined but it is an excellent place for a short stay to relax & unwind. The resort is pricey so we won't necessarily go back often but we plan to return for short breaks in the future from time to time when we feel the need for some quality pampering.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are lucky enough to be there during a sunny day in the summer time, you will find yourself in wonderland. The pool, the lake and the beautiful garden all make for a wonderful time. Without mentionning the terrific restaurant and well decorated rooms. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff was very friendly and always smiling. Soon arrival we were given a personal tour of the hotel and grounds. Many outdoor activities in the summer from kayaking to Tennis to swimming in the pool or enjoying the tranquil gardens. Hotel is quaint in nature set in a historic mansion but offers much luxury, exquisite pillows and robes in room. Spa services available sounded very royal however we dud not stay long enough to enjoy them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlOverTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#2 of 7 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
#1 of 3 in Lac-Brome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Property: Manoir Hovey
Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Canada - Quebec
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing