We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of my life... a definite "worth every penny" experience!”
Review of Le Cheval de Jade

Le Cheval de Jade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$72
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fine French cuisine. Fresh regional produce. Gastronomic menu, table d'hote. Gluten free menu. Vegetarian dishes, bouillabaisse, fish, seafood, locally raised meat. The chef, Maitre Canardier, prepares Caneton a la Rouennaise upon reservation. Awarded a Four Diamond rating by the CAA/AAA.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life... a definite "worth every penny" experience!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Tremblant and our meal at Cheval de Jade was definitely a highlight! We each chose the Discovery menu and also allowed them to pair each course with wine... Simply outstanding! Sure it was not inexpensive, but rarely do you have the chance to experience the best of the best of a master chef. Service was also exceptional. Just incredible..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Toronto1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    41
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer can now start!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On a wonderfull saturday evening, on a balcony we were celebrating the birthday of a close friend. We all had the"decouverte" menu. What an experience, service, meal, atmosphere. The scallôps, the new salad,and the magret the canard were outstanding. We also appreciate the wine recommandations.
Thanks again....we will return very soon!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PPHmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great and so close to our summer abode”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We often overlook what os close by as we are tempted for the exotic or something beyond our immediate area. Well, tonight to celebrate my wife's birthday I chose a restaurant that is listed as number 1 by many other reviewers of restaurants in Mt. Tremblant Quebec not far from our summer cottage. Thank you to all of you that paved the way. In short it was a memorable evening. We were greeted warmly at the door, shown to a great table and guided through the menu and wine list by knowledgeable servers. Now, as to the food, the appetizers that followed the inventive amuse geule (Matane shrimp, mango and lemon cream) were superb though perhaps overly generous. My wife's main dish of seared scallops and my monk fish were fresh with an accompanying sauce that was light but so right. The cheese plate and the dessert did not disappoint. So, all in all it was a great evening and we promised to come back and in particular to try the duck dishes that are the Chef's specialties that need to be ordered the day before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional food!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a wonderful restaurant! Homely, extremely friendly staff who really know their food and wines, we felt comfortable, welcome and appreciated the second we arrived.
The food was delicious, refined, fresh, excellently cooked and we even got a lovely visit from the chef after our desert!
We left the restaurant extremely satisfied, not too full, and would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. No matter where you are from, it's definitely worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this restaurant after reading reviews that suggested it would offer an exceptional dining experience. We were not disappointed. We were celebrating the end of a wonderful cycling and golf holiday. Because of this, we opted for the gastronomic menu and had the accompanying wines recommended by the sommelier. The menu selections offered a delicious variety of flavours and combinations that were quite unique. Frederique was a welcoming and helpful hostess. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cheval de Jade also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cheval de Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing