We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting meal”
Review of Cafe Guacamole Y Salsas - CLOSED

Cafe Guacamole Y Salsas
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fun authentic Mexican food in a cute little family-run establishment. Located in an open plaza on St-Jovite street.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting meal”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well, how does one start a review? We selected this establishment due to the recommendations we saw on Trip Advisor. I will tell you that the food was ok, nothing special, which is what we expected. But, what presented itself to us, once we were seated, really did "take us aback".

The restauarant was relatively quiet. There are about a dozen tables and at the time (about 8:00ish), we (4) and another table were the only diners.

A couple with a toddler arrived and sat at a table near us. Five minutes later mom proceeded to change the diaper of her toddler right at the table. Yes, right at the table. And the dutiful dad then followed the waiter to discard the soiled diaper.

What is one to make of this? Were we to have "diaper" on the menu? Was that a special?

Yuch! Made us want to puke. Maybe, this is acceptable practice in Mount Tremblant.

In any event, we couldn't even comment on the food after that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We very excited to try this restaurant. Unfortunately, it was not at all what we expected. The service was fine but the food was not what we would call "good mexican" food. We spent $94.00 for four people with no alcohol.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good tasty food”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The food is authentic and the service is good. We had small child and the waitress was very attentive to him.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sorinakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than the same Mexico.”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stopped for a quick lunch after ski and we were glad did. The food was excellent, in fact some of it better than what we've had in Mexico. Fresh and tasty. Friendly and personalized service. Try the Tacos al Pastor for something different and tasty!


Do look around to find the place, it is not easy to find but definitely worth the detour!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and personal service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This little place is an absolute gem. Best meal of the two days in Tremblant! Bright, simple, and traditional decor in a cute location. Home-made chips, tortillas, salsas and sauces. All the food was plentiful, tasty, authentic and fresh, lovingly prepared and served by the owner. A must-do if you even remotely like Mexican food! Even the candy at the end was special :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EKJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Guacamole Y Salsas also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing