We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of C'est la Vie

C'est la Vie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In an ancestral, serene and warm frame, we propose you the GRILL-STONE. This concept, unique in the region, consists of a VOLCANIC STONE warmed at high temperature offering an ideal natural surface for a cooking without added fat. The menu proposes a wide choice of meats and fishes such as filet mignon, ostrich, tuna, bison, seafoods, kangaroo, deer, wapiti, camel etc. We shall welcome you and shall assure an attentive and personalized service. The Chef owner also proposes you some specialities. The cellar presents a wide selection of wines, private imports as well as a good choice of wine by the glass. So, a selection of dish to take out is offered to you. A private room is also available according to certain conditions
Sterling, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Trip advisor pointed us to this unique restaurant and we are thankful for it. I'm a little cautious of tourist restaurants and decided to check out the advertised restaurants in trip advisor. Decided on C'est La Vie based on the lava rock cooking and high recommendation. I had the trout with rosemary with cream of tomato and vegetable soup; my family enjoyed duck breast cooked on the volcano rock and the Canadian sampler of bison, deer and elk, with an extra of kangaroo. We finished off with tiramisu and crème Brule -- all of it was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaPhillips33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    51
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more than excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I just came back from Mont Tremblant. During my stay there only for 2 days, I went to C'est la Vie twice with my friends. I really love their cuisine on the volcanic stone. All their 3 sauces for the meat are great. I hope to go there again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty, home-made, Belgian (Continental) style food.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This resto specializes in food cooked at your table on lava stone, heated to super high temperature). Fish, shrimp, beef, lamp, etc. with very good soups, salads. All kinds of fondue. The food is simple, but very special because of the freshness of all products, lots of fresh herbs, and they are not afraid of strong flavours. The wines are well chosen, ask for the wine chosen by the father of your server (a lovely blonde woman, who owns the resto along with her brother).
Lots of aprè-ski groups, tourists, and locals as well. Right next door to Cheval de Jade, another fab resto in the area. You don't have to go into the ski area of Tremblant, in fact this resto and Chev. de J. beat all the restos in the area for fine food, deliciously prepared with flair and innovation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“One of our favourite restaurants ”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for several years and just love it. We've never tried the hot stone cooking because the a la carte is just too good! The steak tartare is excellent - so good that hubby, who never eats that, orders it here. We order the shrimp & scallop with blue cheese main course as an appetizer to share (just with shrimp) - with French bread to mop up the rest of the sauce - it is fantastic. Hubby always orders the filet and raves about it - and the sauces & dauphinoise potatoes too. I've tried many of the mains - the fish with sundried tomatoes, the duck, the pork shank with a mustard crust - it's always a difficult choice knowing everything is just so good. Service friendly & efficient & the decor is warm & charming. We eat out a lot and recently hubby commented that this was one of the best meals we've had in the area, hands down.

Helpful?
1 Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went there looking at Trip Advisor first, but it was not has we read out. I mean, they let you cook your steak, ok, I get it, pretty cool, but when you order a tenderloin, they bring it on a hot stone and you cannot start eating it until your cook is ready (I eat my steak medium rare)

When you get to the end of the meal the steak is pretty much overcooked, I did not like this experience at all, service was way too slow also. Wine list is not big but expensive. Will not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien G, Owner at C'est la Vie, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear sir or madam... Or young man maybe?;-)

It is true that our concept of cooking on stone is particular.
This is why when one of our guests chosen a grill-stone for the first time, we well take time to explain to him(her) how to use it to maximize his(her) experience.
We how explain him(her) to use the wide edges of the wooden board in which is put down the hot stone by putting there the piece of meat chosen to cut it in smaller pieces than he can cook to his taste and at his pace.
And if our host is not comfortable with the concept, we never refuse to cook his(her) meat traditionally.
You qualify your experience of ripoff … As well blame a restaurant with hamburger for serving some grounded meat …
You blame us for our thin selection of wine and their high prices …
The wines list have 45 wines, all of excellent quality.
The first price is $26.00 the bottle and the average vacillates between 35.00 and $40.00. More 6 choices of wines proposed in the glass.
You also blame us the slowness of the service …
Allow I to bring to your attention a small detail, whom I am on, will enlighten you
In a traditional restaurant, a waiter can take from 2 to 4 plates at the same time.
Our grill-stones weigh 5 kilos (11lbs). It means a round trip by guest.
Then it is possible, if the restaurant quickly filled, for example, that the service is slightly and by moment, a little slowed down.
Do you understand?
Now, let me propose something to you.
Although you visited us in February and you stayed a whole month before expressing your disappointment while keeping your anger intact all this time.
Although you are a quite new contributor of this week with to your credit 4 contributions throughout Canada … Quite posted the same day … 3 other short contributions of a single sentence.
I suggest paying off you in double
Made we simply reach a proof of your passage in our establishment or communicate us some details like how much were you, what you and the persons (s) which(who) accompanied you (have) ate and which day (one Thursday one Saturday?), in which place you were sat (the room is quite small). With this information, we are capable of finding your invoice very easily.
But I doubt that you do it.
Even if you were taken by some regrets, please don’t delete your critic, it is the perfect example of the kind of dishonesty used to calm I do not know which kind of resentment. Always with covered face.
My name is Fabien Gilissen
And you?

Cher monsieur ou madame...Ou jeune homme peut-être? ;-)
Il est vrai que notre concept de cuisson sur pierre est particulier.
C’est pour cette raison que lorsque l’un de nos invités choisi une pierrade pour la première fois, nous prenons bien le temps de lui expliquer comment l’utiliser afin de maximiser son expérience.
Nous lui expliquons comment utiliser les larges rebords de la planche de bois dans laquelle est déposée la pierre en y posant la pièce de viande choisie afin de la découper en plus petits morceaux qu’il peut faire cuire à son gout et… à son rythme.
Et si il se trouvait que l’un de nos hôte ne soit pas confortable avec le concept, nous ne refusons jamais de cuire sa viande traditionnellement.
Vous qualifiez votre expérience d’arnaque… Aussi bien reprocher à un restaurant à hamburger de servir de la viande hachée…
Vous nous reprochez notre maigre sélection de vin et leurs prix élevé…
La carte est composée 45 vins, tous d’excellente qualité.
Le prix de départ est de 26.00$ la bouteille et la moyenne vacille entre 35.00 et 40.00$. Sans parler des 6 choix de vins proposé au verre.
Vous nous reprochez aussi la lenteur du servir…
Permettez moi de porter à votre attention un petit détail, qui je suis sur, vous éclairera
Dans un restaurant traditionnel, un serveur peut emporter de 2 à 4 assiettes en même temps.
Nos pierrades pèsent 5 kilos (11lbs). Cela signifie un aller-retour par invité.
Alors il se peut, si le restaurant s’est rempli rapidement par exemple, que le service soit légèrement et par moment, un peu ralenti.
Comprenez-vous?
Maintenant, laissez-moi vous proposer quelque chose.
Bien que vous nous ayez visité en février et que vous soyez resté tout un mois avant d’exprimer votre désappointement tout en gardant votre colère intact tout ce temps.
Bien que vous soyez un tout nouveau contributeur de cette semaine avec à votre actif déjà 4 contributions d’un bout à l’autre du Canada…Toutes postées le même jour…Les 3 autres contributions courtes d’une seule phrase.
Je vous propose néanmoins de vous rembourser en double.
Faites nous simplement parvenir une preuve de votre passage dans notre établissement ou communiquez nous quelques détails comme combien étiez vous, ce que vous et la(les) personne(s) qui vous accompagnait(aient) avez mangé et quel jour (un jeudi…un samedi?), à quel endroit étiez vous assis (la salle est toute petite). Avec ces informations, nous sommes en mesure de retrouver votre facture très facilement.
Mais je doute que vous le fassiez.
Si vous étiez pris de quelques regrets, surtout ne supprimez pas votre critique, elle est l’exemple parfait du genre de malhonnêteté utilisée pour assouvir je ne sais qu’elle vengeance ou frustration et ce, toujours à visage couvert.
Je m’appelle Fabien Gilissen
Et vous?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C'est la Vie also viewed

 

Been to C'est la Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing