We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad room service, even worse food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge La Porte Rouge
Ranked #8 of 21 Mont Tremblant B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Great location, bad room service, even worse food.”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights at this auberge. Here are our praises and complaints:

Praises:

• Auberge La Porte rouge is located in Village Mont-Tremblant, right on the shore of St-Louis lake, offering a beautiful view from the superior rooms.
• Service was good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Complaints:

• Our stay included one dinner and 2 breakfasts. While the dinner was fine (albeit on the pricey side since you're expected to still pay a hefty tip for the "free meal"), the breakfasts were horrendous. They used processed eggs in a box to cook our scrambled eggs, the bacon and sausages were reheated and hard, and the fruit was dried out. Nothing short of disappointing.

• When we first arrived, we found hairs in the sink and one of the drinking glasses had a disgusting brown crust at the bottom. The next day, after breakfast, we went back to our room right after the cleaning ladies had cleaned it. Oh the smell. It smelled like someone had literally taken a dump in our bathroom. I went to the room next door to ask the cleaning crew for an explanation, and they said that the old mildewy mop they used to clean our room was to blame for the stench. Nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louismomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our 200km cycling trip. Beautiful room with a stunning view of the lake and terrific dinner and breakfast as part of our package. The bike path runs right through their property--can't get closer than that for a quick get-away in the morning. Though mid-September and leaves were starting to turn, the lake was still "swimable" and the kayaking was great, right from the corner of our property.
Staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in one of the basic rooms which as has been described is a bit like a motel room. It was clean and basic and had great views of the lake. it is on the main road though so you do hear some traffic. The pool is lovely and the general location is very good. We paid for the all inclusive package and told them that we were vegetarian. The breakfasts were good and hearty. The dinners consisted of 4 courses and coffee and while they were very nice I have to say that little consideration was given to us being veggie or having a child with us and each night we only had one option from the main courses. It is worth noting that although we had paid for the all inclusive, we got caught out yet again with the additional and expected 15% tip that was added onto each and every meal which hiked the total up quite a lot.
The staff at the reception were delightful and couldn't have been more helpful. The ladies in the restaurant were also lovely. The main waiter in the restaurant however was rude and unhelpful and made us feel like second class citizens. Think of him as Basil Fawlty without the humour but don't let him spoil your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bansteadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the view is sensational, the staff is charming and the food is great. What more could you ask for? If you want to go to the France but don't have the time or money, a trip to the Laurentians is a great alternative and Auberge La Porte Rouge is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have double whirlpool tubs with great view of the lake (Lac Mercier).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthenasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Excellent hotel. We travelled the bike path and stayed one night in Auberge La Porte
Rouge. Very friendly staff, even had a room to put your bike inside overnight. The food in their restaurant was excellent!! Our room had a great view with a balcony.
When returning to this area would certainly book my stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

After staying at La Porte Rouge for four consecutive years, I thought it was time to write a review of the Augerge which is reflective of our experiences over this time period.

We have travelled throughout the world. We have been skiers for innumerable years. La Porte Rouge captures the ambience of l'ancien village de Mont Tremblant while meeting the expectations of those who associate Mont Tremblant with the Intrawest culture.

I should note at this point, that we feel that when we visit a culture where English is not spoken, we feel obligated to communicate in the language inherent to the community ... "when in Rome do as the Romans do." The fact that all the employees of La Porte Rouge are fluently bilingual is a "bonus" in our opinion, for visitors to Quebec. More significantly, all the employees strive to meet the needs of their guests, regardless of culture/language spoken. Bravo!

La Porte Rouge accomodations are simple but very, very, clean. One can quibble about details, but don't forget the forest for the trees: L'Augberge Porte Rouge doesn't claim to be a 5* "resort:" what it does offer is experienced, friendly, attentive staff and, if one is a skier, particulary efficient rooms. What more could one ask?

La Porte Rouge has an answer to the latter question: some very fine dining. A new chef this season has taken the dining experience to a new level. Combine chef's artistry and creativity with a pricing which is incomparable and La Porte Rouge offers incredible value for one's money.

Yes, there are menu items which are "optional" and more expensive ... but think about the reality of their situation ... one cannot offer a complete 5* Michelin menu at the price being charged by La Porte Rouge. Le nouveau chef est formidable. Forget about "buying up" on the menu: his daily offerings, in combination with his presentation, reflect the oustanding value offered by the Augerge.

La Porte Rouge is a hidden gem amongst the Intrawest "vibe." We highly recommend it to one and all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My girlfriend and I went here for a romantic getaway and boy were we happy that we found this place!
We stayed in the luxurious rooms which were very comfortable. The food was excellent! I love french fine cuisine and they know how to cook up a mean meal!

All in all we had a very relaxing time and we have recommended this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
#20 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Sommet des Neiges
Le Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Porte Rouge

Property: Auberge La Porte Rouge
Address: 1874, Chemin du Village | J8E 1K4, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge La Porte Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Auberge La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Porte Rouge Hotel Mont Tremblant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing