We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge La Porte Rouge
Ranked #7 of 21 Mont Tremblant B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our stay was August 16. We lucked out and took the superior room package. The room was clean with two balconies with a street view and lake view. We thought the price was reasonable. Customer service excellent. Complaints zero.

We would return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July as part of a cycling package on Le P'tit Train du Nord. Our room (standard room) was not large, but it was very clean and comfortable. The room faced Lac Mercier on one side, with a small balcony, and faced a fairly busy street on the other side. We were concerned that street noise at night might be a problem, but it did not trouble us. Traffic was pretty minimal at night. The hotel provided secure storage for our bicycles. Breakfasts and dinners at the attached restaurant were included with our package, and the food in the restaurant was very good. Service in the restaurant was also good. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel provides access to a public beach on Lac Mercier, directly opposite the hotel, as well as a small private beach with a nice pool. There are kayaks, canoes, paddleboats available for use at the private beach. We will definitely stay at La Porte Rouge again. However, I think next time we will spend the extra money for one of the superior rooms. They are larger and in a separate building, closer to Lac Mercier and directly opposite the private beach and pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Forest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Basically motel accommodation with small rooms on two levels but car park opposite if no room outside. View over lake is good with jogging/cycling path between hotel and lake. Nice area to walk around or swim and much quieter than the ski resort up the road (mini-Disneyland!). Got a really good deal with golf, dinner, B&B. Restaurant is under separate ownershio and as other Reviews say they do ask for a tip but why not - they do the work, are friendly, have good food and deserve a tip even if the food is "free". To summarise nothing special but would definitely go there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a clean, simple hotel with amazing tasty food. The price includes breakfast - real one, with toast, eggs, pancakes, etc. The dinner has several choices and 4 courses. All well made and the service is excellent too. You can have a bottle of wine for 30 or 300 CAD, depends on you. The only thing you have to pay is the tip that is not much.

Notice that the taxes in Mont Tremblant is much higher than other places.

Room Tip: The only bad part of this place are the old fashioned rooms. I tried the superior room in my second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroPatricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselman, Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Are you looking for simplicity instead of big hotel chain - but want the view? The Inn is located at entrance of Mont-Tremblant (easy to find) and ideal for peafeful retreat. Room was clean, basic and dated, but with private balcony overlooking lake Mercier. There is a small beach (ideal for family), bike trail, a c-store nearby, a bank, a few restautants, etc. If you need to get away and do nothing to regain your energy without emptying your wallet - this is the place. It was simple, but the view was worth it. My forfait included room, dinner & breakfast. Note that service at restaurant is a bit slow and food could be better (average...), but overall, I am very happy and would recommend it.

Room Tip: You have choice between std room, room with fireplace or chalet - all with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grmartineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal quebec canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Went for a 2 night stay in January for the 2nd time. We enjoy staying in the newer section with a gas fireplace, so nice after a walk on the lake on a very cold day! It's nice to go for a walk in the village after supper with snow falling under the old fashioned street lamps. The owners are very welcoming and no problem to speak English (in case you're from out of town). You get a supper and full breakfast with your stay. I had the salmon for dinner (very good), you have to try the bison dumplings! The sirloin is very good too. For desert: chocolate spheres with coconut cream : > )
The bus stops right across the street if you want to go the mountain.
The internet is wireless,and works perfectly in your room.
We will be back, probably in Jan 2014.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandjudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Nothing bad to say, loved it, food was amazing, atmospere at the restaurant is very coint and I just never wanted to leave. Rooms were clean, very comfy beds, employees are very very nice. I've booked again for another great experience. Ski slopes are all nearby, take advantage! You're near the village as well if you want to go shopping. The area of the auberge is very pretty and quiet, woodsy feeling. Loved it!! You can even see deer crossing the lake that faces the auberge.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
#22 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mont-Tremblant
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#10 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel-Motel Le Boise Du Lac
Hotel-Motel Le Boise Du Lac
#9 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Porte Rouge

Property: Auberge La Porte Rouge
Address: 1874, Chemin du Village | J8E 1K4, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge La Porte Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Porte Rouge Hotel Mont Tremblant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing