We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful Mt. Tremblant ski week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge La Porte Rouge
Ranked #8 of 21 Mont Tremblant B&B and Inns
Ontario,
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Another wonderful Mt. Tremblant ski week”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

After staying at La Porte Rouge for four consecutive years, I thought it was time to write a review of the Augerge which is reflective of our experiences over this time period.

We have travelled throughout the world. We have been skiers for innumerable years. La Porte Rouge captures the ambience of l'ancien village de Mont Tremblant while meeting the expectations of those who associate Mont Tremblant with the Intrawest culture.

I should note at this point, that we feel that when we visit a culture where English is not spoken, we feel obligated to communicate in the language inherent to the community ... "when in Rome do as the Romans do." The fact that all the employees of La Porte Rouge are fluently bilingual is a "bonus" in our opinion, for visitors to Quebec. More significantly, all the employees strive to meet the needs of their guests, regardless of culture/language spoken. Bravo!

La Porte Rouge accomodations are simple but very, very, clean. One can quibble about details, but don't forget the forest for the trees: L'Augberge Porte Rouge doesn't claim to be a 5* "resort:" what it does offer is experienced, friendly, attentive staff and, if one is a skier, particulary efficient rooms. What more could one ask?

La Porte Rouge has an answer to the latter question: some very fine dining. A new chef this season has taken the dining experience to a new level. Combine chef's artistry and creativity with a pricing which is incomparable and La Porte Rouge offers incredible value for one's money.

Yes, there are menu items which are "optional" and more expensive ... but think about the reality of their situation ... one cannot offer a complete 5* Michelin menu at the price being charged by La Porte Rouge. Le nouveau chef est formidable. Forget about "buying up" on the menu: his daily offerings, in combination with his presentation, reflect the oustanding value offered by the Augerge.

La Porte Rouge is a hidden gem amongst the Intrawest "vibe." We highly recommend it to one and all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My girlfriend and I went here for a romantic getaway and boy were we happy that we found this place!
We stayed in the luxurious rooms which were very comfortable. The food was excellent! I love french fine cuisine and they know how to cook up a mean meal!

All in all we had a very relaxing time and we have recommended this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

So I didn't know what to expect when looking at this place, in particular about the all-inclusive food being nouvelle-cuisine. We were there in Chalet D for the Christmas holidays and had an excellent stay. Our cabin was one bedroom, full kitchen, fireplace (with new wood preloaded every day I might add), one bathroom. The place itself is fine and the room service is great. It's a bit outdated and all but the price more than makes up for it when you compare to the similars.

As to the food, here is a list I just put together to give you a look at the type of stuff they serve. If I were to sum up the food I would say that they try very hard to be elegant and elevated in their cuisine, they often mess up the small things. For example you might get yourself a plate of deer osso bucco and have that be completely great, although the potatoes on the plate are way undercooked. If you can't cook potatoes right, should you be messing around with venison, duck, frog legs, etc?

The salads were also woefully underdressed and oily (not enough vinegar in the mixes). Anyway, here is the list I compiled to give you an idea.

You always get the soup of the day, no choice. 4 choices of appetizer (1 you pay more for, and for our entire stay that was an extra $13 for foie gras). I believe 5 choices of main meal, with 1 being extra ($8 extra for the beef tenderloin). 4 choices for dessert (1 being extra, the creme brule for $4 or 5).

soups:

cream of onion (good soup)
cream of colliflower & oka chees (all 5 of us agreed this was the best soup, excellent)
sweet potato (great soup)

appetizers:

frog legs (two of us thought they were terrible)
foie gras (extra cost $13)
different salad every night (terrible for the most part, badly underdressed and overly oily without the vinegar)
escargot (was very good)

sea bream (excellent fish, I enjoyed it. almost like a halibut)
tilapia something (my brother liked it, decent white fish)
beef bourgignon (solid. good)
duck breast (was FANTASTIC)
scallops (was FANTASTIC)
deer osso bocco (believe it was good, friend had it)
Traditional Christmas Dinner (brother had it twice and enjoyed it)
pork flank (was tasty, very similar to a nice pulled pork)
chicken drumsticks (two of us disliked it bigtime)
beef tenderloin (extra cost $8)

desserts:

almond tartlet (i liked it and got it twice)
cheese plate (wife got this 3 times. was oka 3 times and blue cheese once. she got the 3 oka nights and the piece of cheese got smaller and smaller each time, weird)
chocolate mousse & blackberries (was good)
fruit trifle (my friend got it twice and loved it)
creme brule (extra cost $4, none of us tried it)

I'm forgetting a bunch of these, but that will give you a good idea of what's up with the menu. The review below mine...ridiculous. The menus CLEARLY state that you will pay more if you order the "extras" on the menu. In our case foie gras, beef steak and creme brule. I have no idea how they screwed that one up but disregard their comments. There are no surprises, just have to be able to read. I don't necessarily agree with the practice of charging extra for these things (creme brule being an extra $4 or 5 when I've technically already paid for my dessert?), but be that as it may, it was clearly stated.

The english spoken at Porte Rouge is mostly excellent. One night we had a very french lady who really spoke none, but they asked us as we came in if it was ok (and it was, I understand it).

As for breakfasts, it was very good, but I would suggest you get there at the crack of dawn if you want to eat quickly and hit the hill for the 8:30 opening. They open at 7:30 but we found we could waltz in at 7:20 with no problems and get served immediately. They even provided a boxed breakfast one morning when we were in a particular hurry, so that was very accommodating of them. You can select from the typical breakfasts known to most in Canada and the US: french toast, bacon, eggs, sausage, toast, pancakes, etc. You can also order the "extra" breakfast like you can at night, for extra cost. Again this is clearly stated.

Porte rouge is within easy walking distance of most of the village (depanneur and Boni Choix are just down the road, so quite nice for picking up a few extras). I would suggest you do your shopping in Saint Jovite which is on the way to Tremblant and about 10 minutes away from the old village. Much cheaper than Boni Choix, but you will find it will be a lot more francophone, so be aware of the language barrier.

As a whole I would certainly stay there again. Excellent surroundings, proximity to the mountain, friendly staff, for the mostpart excellent food (in our 5 opinions over 4 days and nights). Hopefully my review will help clear up some of the cloudiness surrounding their food offerings.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarvis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is lovely, and cozy, the rooms are quite nice. The staff make this hotel standout.
We had gotten the package which included breakfast and supper; at both times, we were
asked for an extra 10.00 dollars, even though we had been assured it was an all-inclusive. After my questioning the staff, they said it was the cost of the lamb and the eggs.
Though we complained about the wapiti (elk) as it was so though, I could not eat it, I was
offered a 2.00 refund! That was hilarious, since I had just paid the extra 10.00..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
738 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Prior to going to Auberge La Porte Rouge I read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Many of them commented on the friendly staff. I must say those comments are certainly true. I have never been made to feel so welcome as when we checked in. The ladies were friendly and helpful with suggestions on getting to the ski village. Dinner was included and we enjoyed excellent service by J.P. I had a wonderful dinner of cream of onion soup, fresh garden salad and deer osso bucco. Almond tartlet for dessert. Wonderful location beside a lake. Our large room overlooking the lake was warmed by a gas fireplace - very cozy and relaxing. We were just a short drive from all the excitement and commotion of the ski hill. I highly recommend this gem in the old village for those who would enjoy a quieter evening and a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This is not an overly fancy hotel. But if you want to get away from it all, be in the mountains and on a lake, and have wonderful meals, this is the place for you. The restaurant serves gourmet food. Portions are small compared to American type places - more European. But you get great quality and service. Pleasant to eat outdoors or inside. We were there in summer for 4 days and got to try a variety of food. Bfast is big and beautiful.
Activities are nice - you are on a lake and can rent boats - their pool is lakeside. And we also rented bikes right there for tons of great biking.
The price was good for what you got. We would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ggman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Average accommodations with very small old tv. Nice big bathtub, very very clean room. Quite central with public beach next door and grocery stores, bars and restaurants just up the street. Do NOT take the package with meals included if you don't like Nouvelle Cuisine. One stalk of asparagus and 4 shrimp do not a supper make!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
#19 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Sommet des Neiges
Le Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Porte Rouge

Property: Auberge La Porte Rouge
Address: 1874, Chemin du Village | J8E 1K4, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge La Porte Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Auberge La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Porte Rouge Hotel Mont Tremblant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing