We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Clagett`s Cabin”
Review of Hotel Quintessence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quintessence
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Quaint historic cabin, decorated in style. Everything you need is in the room. Comfortable bed, cozy fireplace, nice bathtub, lots of privacy, own patio, beautiful view, surrounded by woods. Close to everyting if you are not a real outdoors person. The staff at the hotel is attentive and friendly and not pretentious. We enjoyed an excellent dinner in a nice ambiance. However the standard breakfast was not worth the value. The coffee was weak and luke warm and did not reflect the grandeur of this hotel. We hereby would like to invite the owner(s) for a coffee at our home:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aksiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

First of all - it all starts with a great welcome from the valet staff followed by a personalized service at the frond desk (and all the way to our suite). The corner suite is beautiful - nice bathroom amenities, free internet, fireplace and a great lake view. The jacuzzi, saunas and infinite pool with the lake behind were only steps away from our room. By far one of the best hotels I've stayed at!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent two nights in one of the turret suites and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It made our wedding anniversary a special event. The atmosphere is elegant and the staff attentive. This is an expensive destination but well worth the price for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The "Turret Suites" are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We loved our stay at Quintessence. Beautiful location, perfect rooms, attention to details, and helpful professional staff. My only complaint would be about the spa and gym facilities. The workout area is tiny and has very little equipment or space for yoga, stretching or free weights. For the price of the rooms this would be a simple fix to make it a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As many reviews have said, the location is beautiful, rooms are first class in terms of space and furnishings. Staff is very courteous. The valets went far out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The front desk staff was equally friendly but sometimes their information was inaccurate or you had to pursue to a bit to get a quick or thorough answer. But overall a hotel and service level worthy of the price and reputation. Our room was on first floor which you had to walk through the bar and past the spa to get to it. Given that the hotel was very quiet and the bar was always empty it wasn’t a problem, but I’m not sure I’d want to be in rooms 11 or 12 at the height of ski season. We had a great stay but there were a few minor things worth noting: 1) As many reviewers indicated, the restaurant service was great but the food quality was lacking, especially at dinner and at the prices. 2) The spa is a limited service and limited facility spa (e.g. no manicures, pedicures) . 3) The pool has a very limited amount of seating and since people “reserve” seating by leaving their towels and magazines all day it is hard to get seating. But all those issues are minor and by far this is the best hotel in Tremblant.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are right by the spa and you have to go through the bar to get to them, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wonderful stay in an outstanding location.
Staff are extremely accommodating and helpful.
Everyone goes out of their way to help.
Rooms are extraordinarily comfortabl.
Bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds we ave ever slept in.
You could not do better.
Valet staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel itself is gorgeous and on the whole the staff are very polite and friendly to the guests. We stayed in an executive suite which is a bit larger than the entry level Q-suite but is situated at the corners of the hotel, offering a more private setting. When I booked on the hotel website I was expecting a proper suite, i.e. living area separate from sleeping area. The pictures on the website are a bit deceptive as they appear to show a separate living area but if you look carefully there is no wall behind the sofa in the picture. Anyway, it was a nice room but at first I was not happy about it not being a true suite.

When we arrived our room was not yet ready so we had lunch on the terrace which was a beautiful setting but the lunch menu was a bit limited. Then we went to the spa to arrange for massage reservations. The spa receptionist was friendly and accommodated our request for 2 massages on the following day and offered for these massages to be done in our room, we said that would be great. We requested 1 female and 1 male massage therapist. She said that wouldn't be a problem and gave us the names of the therapists, which I wrote down on a copy of the spa services pamphlet. The following day we returned to the hotel for our massages and at the time of the appointment 2 male massage therapists showed up at our room. Immediately we told them that we were expecting 1 male and 1 female therapist and we gave the name of the female therapist that we were told would be doing one of the massages and one of the male therapists said that she was busy. He then called the spa to confirm this and after he got off the phone he confirmed that the female massage therapist was unavailable. We then told them that we would have to reschedule for another time because my husband was not comfortable with a male massage therapist and they said that one of us could still have a massage. We said that unfortunately this would not work and they packed up their things and left. I then called the spa to explain what had happened (although they were already aware) and they said the same thing, that 1 person could still have a massage. How ridiculous was this! What is my husband supposed to do, watch? Read a book? No, this would not be acceptable. I asked if they could reschedule the massages and they said that they had no availability for the same day but could do the following day at 1:30 but we had already made other plans for tomorrow so this would not work. I then called the concierge to explain what had happened and she offered to make reservations for us at the Spa Scandinave for that evening and we agreed that would be acceptable and she said she would call us back to confirm. We waited about 15 minutes before deciding to go to the front desk and find out what was going on. We arrived there and found that the concierge had taken some guests that had just arrived up to their room. We thought this was a bit odd considering what had just happened and the fact that there were 3 other front desk staff available who could have attended to this task (or to our situation) but I guess they decided on what was more important. We gave the clerk our phone number and asked for the concierge to call us. About 15 minutes later we received a call from the concierge to confirm reservations at the Spa Scandinave for 6:30 PM. We were told that we would have to return to the hotel to pick up a 'coupon' to take to the spa. As we had decided to do some shopping at an outlet mall off of the highway outside of Mt. Tremblant this meant that we had to return to the hotel (driving past the Spa Scandinave) to pick up the 'coupon' and then drive back to the spa which is about 10 minutes from the hotel. We thought maybe the 'coupon' was giving us a discount considering the inconvenience that was caused to us by the earlier mix-up by the hotel spa but no, this was just so that the Spa Scandinave charges could be put on our room account. We don't really care about whether the Spa Scandinave charges are on our room account or on a separate bill that we pay at the spa itself, they're all going to the same card. It seemed that no one thought about whether or not that would be a convenient option for us. Anyway, we had a pleasant experience at the spa, the massages were great as they have always been for us at any of the Scandinave spas that we have visited. We thought on our way back to the hotel that they might try to do something a little special for us at turndown service or when we got back to the hotel to apologize for the mix-up with the massages and the inconvenience it caused us, i.e. wasted time coming back to the hotel for the massages that never happened, having to rearrange our entire day around not having the massages when planned and having them much later in the day at 6:30, having to return to the hotel for the 'coupon', etc. but in the end there was nothing. The person I spoke to on the phone at the spa apologized and the concierge apologized when I first told them about the incident but other than that there was no acknowledgement of the mistake. I suppose that the hotel did make the reservation for us at the Spa Scandinave instead of us having to do it ourselves, so that must be worth something right? I guess we expected too much, but our expectations are based on our previous experiences of staying at other hotels of similar calibre.

If we did not have this unfortunate experience while staying at the hotel our review would have been very different, as nearly everything about our room and about the hotel itself was beautiful and perfect. The valet staff in particular were very helpful and very friendly. Unfortunately the way this incident was handled (or not handled) left us with a bad taste in our mouths about the service from particular staff/departments at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 101 is right above where the hotel garbage bins are stored. This is only a problem on Friday m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TTP538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#3 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sommet des Neiges
Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
#5 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant
Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant
#9 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quintessence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quintessence

Address: 3004, chemin de la Chapelle | Mont-Tremblant, Québec, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#3 Spa Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#5 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range: £194 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Quintessence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier 5-Star luxury boutique hotel in Tremblant Hôtel Quintessence is Tremblant's preeminent boutique hotel, offering unparalleled beauty, comfort, luxury and service in the heart of the Laurentians. Inspired by old-world estates, Hôtel Quintessence is your exclusive waterfront retreat featuring 30 luxury suites on picturesque Lake Tremblant for a memorable vacation. Discover this destination, awarded 'Best small hotel in northeastern America' by Conde Nast Johansens and 'Best luxury hotel' by Trip Advisor with all the services that only a grand hotel can offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quintessence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintessence Hotel Mont Tremblant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing