We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 of 2 Fine Dining in Village!”
Review of Aux Truffes - CLOSED

Aux Truffes
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montee Ryan
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“1 of 2 Fine Dining in Village!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I can't say there are any other choices when it comes to fine dining in the ski village.

We wanted higher end dining and this place was a no brainer. Expect a pricy tab!

I believe their menu is constantly evolving so what you might've tried your last visit may not be on the menu your next visit.

Our visit was in late Winter, early-February so I'm sure the menu was changed since.

FOOD
* I remember the Risotto was very nicely presented and very tasty with some layering of flavours.
* My Tartare duo appetizer was delicious, tender + full of flavour (absolutely zero chewy bits left inside like some restos and some good acidity to the finish).
* My wife loved the molten chocolate cake.

ATMOSPHERE
The atmosphere of the place was nice, but nothing special. I would call it generic higher end.

SERVICE
I recall service was "so-so" with a warm greeting at the start by the host/manager but after he showed us to our table the service and pace was slow if not poor overall meaning not very attentive during a not very busy weeknight with only 3-4 other tables comprised on couples, not groups.

However, I would go back for the food which left us with a positive lasting impression.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjoyLIFE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“very good, but not top rated”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A nice experience, with kind and professional service. However, we expected gourmet quality food and this is definitely lacking.

Fish was overcooked, salad greens slightly wilted...nothing exceptional - especially for the price!

However, lovely ambiance, and an enjoyable evening otherwise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va. Beach
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Romantic, gourmet delight!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Aux Truffes offered superb French food in an elegant, romantic atmosphere. We had the duck and the rabbit, and could not have been more pleased. The service was excellent, and it was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathydiverVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old glory badly faded”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We used to love this resturant and after a six year absence we were waiting forward to get reaquinted.
Sadly nothing is as it used to be. Tired incompetent service, tired decor, average at best cooking is what you get now. The only old over are the high prices which used to be reasonable considering the four diamonds rating on the wall. The four diamonds are from 2002, and they remind you that you missed the boat throughout the night.

In one word - it was atrocious. Sadly we inflicted this place on our family and friends, will not do so again

Helpful?
4 Thank Jakep480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Romantic with mixed service”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The dining room is warm and romantic. We enjoyed the chef's tasting menu - in particular, the foie gras mousse which was outstanding. Service, though, was absurd at the beginning of our meal as we waited nearly 1/2 hour for our cocktail and then another 1/2 hour beyond that for our first course (and 10 minutes after that for the accompanying wine). Adding insult to the situation is the manner in which two particular tables with parties of 6 were fawned over while every other table in the room suffered. After these two tables departed, service was fine.

We would dine here again as the food was very good and the service issue seems like a possible fluke.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aux Truffes also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing