We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Resort in Muskoka still has it”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed 24 October 2013

At over 100 years old this resort has atmosphere and it still works. Many recent upgrades. We were there for an autumn outing and golf (at their own course, The Rock). Had a rustic cottage all to ourselves just before Thanksgiving weekend. Moderately priced with fantastic view, great breakfast, and we lucked out with the fall weather. Dinner menu and food were good but limited due to off-season. Staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: Look for the bargain packages, including the stay and play (golf). There are hotel rooms in several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuslinchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were on a jaunt.ca with golf at the Rock. The golf was fantastic! The jaunt advertised accommodation as a one bedroom suite but that was changed to a deluxe two room unit, which turned out to be a cottage on the lake. First, it was very dark inside - very hard to find light switches and the fact that one lightbulb was burned out did not help. So it was very hard to actually see anything in the room. If you want rustic, this is it - the view of the lake was great. But the bed was lumpy, the room smelled musty and the living room furniture was very old. There was a fridge but nothing else - no coffee machine etc. Not good for golf the next day.
Breakfast was slow and the toast orders were wrong. Wait staff was friendly but occupied.
A simple toast swap took 10 minutes - I asked for it unbuttered and it came slathered in butter so how hard is it to get two pieces of plain toast going? Here, apparently, a difficult task - spoiled the breakfast...
Bottom line - the jaunt got me there for the golf and I would do the Rock again but not the Cleveland House.

Room Tip: try staying in the main building - if musty odours bothers you, stay away from the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nimbleeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Probably the worst resort I have been to. We have been visiting this resort for over ten years and I absolutely do not recommend it! The service is so poor that there isn't a rating low enough. Thought the hour wait for lunch was simply an unfortunate situation , but when we waited two hours at the table for dinner ....with half the family never getting dinner at all, we were shocked .It seems that our order was never put in at all. Be careful with the food as it is obviously microwaved.......Too bad about the incredible waste of money they have put into renovating the dining room. Poor service, lack of trained dining staff , filthy bedroom carpets, dirty hot tub and stained towels are just a few of the negatives that even the gorgeous Canadian views cannot eclipse.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our daughter cote aged in Muskoka all her life and wanted the resort theme for her wedding Cleve's met all our expectations and more. The staff, especially Jane were brilliant
And met our every request, even replaced a wrecked rug the week of the wedding. The main dining room was beautiful, food excellent, service wonderful and a local band, topped off the event.

Can,t thank the staffs enough!

Some of the rooms still need some attention and a better cleaning staff could work wonders.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodelled one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don33957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just recently spent one night at this resort for a short conference. This place has been around forever, and I suspect it has been eclipsed by some of the newer Muskoka rental resort properties like the JW Marriott (Formerly Red Leaves) up the road as well as Taboo, near Gravenhurst. Clevelands is clearly a bit tired and fraying at the edges. But they gave me a really nice room in the main house with several beds in it. Almost a room for an entire family. And I love walking around the grounds, with all the focus on the waterfront, which is beautiful. There is a great golf course adjacent to the property (The Rock), and the resort has tons of things to do. I think this is probably a really good choice for a family with small children in the summertime.
P.S. We went into Port Carling one night, and had a really good meal at Loon Docks. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are quite far from the Main House and require a good long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our first visit to Clevelands House so we don't have any history to compare it to. First the positives: we stayed at a Terraceview Suite - the beds were comfy and the view was amazing. The place is definitely rustic and could use some attention to detail when it comes to cleaning, but it was very adequate for our family. The staff were also very friendly and approachable...when there was something missing they wouldn't miss a beat in making sure they met our expectations.
Unfortunately there are some drawbacks....I kind of wished I brought my pressure washer so I could give the exterior of the buildings a cleaning they really needed. The places has a lot of charm and so much more potential than it is currently been given. I'm concerned about what the place will look like in a couple years if there continues to be a lack of attention to the overall maintenance of the buildings and grounds.
There was also a lack of communication between the staff - particularly when it came to meal service and accessing amenities such as rentals, the games room and the kids park. There were times when we were left waiting at the front desk for a good 5-10 minutes (after we rang the bell) before someone came.
The resort is in a beautiful location - the staff were friendly and the potential is there - I'm really hoping for a more positive review in the next couple years!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewAdventures6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Took advantage of a great stay and play offer that included golf at The Rock. After reading some of the negative reviews prior to our stay I was concerned what we were getting into. Our stay was Sept. 18 so we also wondered what facilities would still be available, especially the pool and hot tub given there was frost the past two nights. Instead of a suite room we were given a two bedroom cottage overlooking the water. It had everything we needed and included a full bathroom and a separate two piece bathroom. It was very clean - the only negative would be the bedrooms have lamps only and can be a little dark. Loved the porch with the chairs and lounge.

We took a tour around the property and quickly found everything was available - shuffleboard, basketball, great tennis courts, outdoor ping pong tables and to our surprise the pools were not only open but nicely heated - what a treat after our golf. The large hot tub was also great and very relaxing - use the large one and activate the jets!

This place has a rustic charm to it. No - it is not brand new, but there is something nicer about it because of that. Breakfast was an absolute treat. Friendly service and a very enjoyable pre game meal for our second round of golf. Will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
17.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
133 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: £162 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Minett, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing