We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clevelands House
Nearby Hotels
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Inn(Port Carling)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere House Resort & Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Crest Golf Resort(Muskoka District)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Tappattoo Resort(Parry Sound)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bracebridge)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestwood Inn(Port Carling)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
80
111
82
71
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
111
82
71
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportsping pongmonday nightpiebaked goodsthe main hotellong weekendmuskoka chairsall agesbeautiful lakelake rousseaucampgolfsummerfamiliesbabysittingbakery
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were on a jaunt.ca with golf at the Rock. The golf was fantastic! The jaunt advertised accommodation as a one bedroom suite but that was changed to a deluxe two room unit, which turned out to be a cottage on the lake. First, it was very dark inside - very hard to find light switches and the fact that one lightbulb was burned out did not help. So it was very hard to actually see anything in the room. If you want rustic, this is it - the view of the lake was great. But the bed was lumpy, the room smelled musty and the living room furniture was very old. There was a fridge but nothing else - no coffee machine etc. Not good for golf the next day.
Breakfast was slow and the toast orders were wrong. Wait staff was friendly but occupied.
A simple toast swap took 10 minutes - I asked for it unbuttered and it came slathered in butter so how hard is it to get two pieces of plain toast going? Here, apparently, a difficult task - spoiled the breakfast...
Bottom line - the jaunt got me there for the golf and I would do the Rock again but not the Cleveland House.

Room Tip: try staying in the main building - if musty odours bothers you, stay away from the cottages...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nimbleeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Probably the worst resort I have been to. We have been visiting this resort for over ten years and I absolutely do not recommend it! The service is so poor that there isn't a rating low enough. Thought the hour wait for lunch was simply an unfortunate situation , but when we waited two hours at the table for dinner ....with half the family never getting dinner at all, we were shocked .It seems that our order was never put in at all. Be careful with the food as it is obviously microwaved.......Too bad about the incredible waste of money they have put into renovating the dining room. Poor service, lack of trained dining staff , filthy bedroom carpets, dirty hot tub and stained towels are just a few of the negatives that even the gorgeous Canadian views cannot eclipse.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our daughter cote aged in Muskoka all her life and wanted the resort theme for her wedding Cleve's met all our expectations and more. The staff, especially Jane were brilliant
And met our every request, even replaced a wrecked rug the week of the wedding. The main dining room was beautiful, food excellent, service wonderful and a local band, topped off the event.

Can,t thank the staffs enough!

Some of the rooms still need some attention and a better cleaning staff could work wonders.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodelled one
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don33957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just recently spent one night at this resort for a short conference. This place has been around forever, and I suspect it has been eclipsed by some of the newer Muskoka rental resort properties like the JW Marriott (Formerly Red Leaves) up the road as well as Taboo, near Gravenhurst. Clevelands is clearly a bit tired and fraying at the edges. But they gave me a really nice room in the main house with several beds in it. Almost a room for an entire family. And I love walking around the grounds, with all the focus on the waterfront, which is beautiful. There is a great golf course adjacent to the property (The Rock), and the resort has tons of things to do. I think this is probably a really good choice for a family with small children in the summertime.
P.S. We went into Port Carling one night, and had a really good meal at Loon Docks. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are quite far from the Main House and require a good long walk.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our first visit to Clevelands House so we don't have any history to compare it to. First the positives: we stayed at a Terraceview Suite - the beds were comfy and the view was amazing. The place is definitely rustic and could use some attention to detail when it comes to cleaning, but it was very adequate for our family. The staff were also very friendly and approachable...when there was something missing they wouldn't miss a beat in making sure they met our expectations.
Unfortunately there are some drawbacks....I kind of wished I brought my pressure washer so I could give the exterior of the buildings a cleaning they really needed. The places has a lot of charm and so much more potential than it is currently been given. I'm concerned about what the place will look like in a couple years if there continues to be a lack of attention to the overall maintenance of the buildings and grounds.
There was also a lack of communication between the staff - particularly when it came to meal service and accessing amenities such as rentals, the games room and the kids park. There were times when we were left waiting at the front desk for a good 5-10 minutes (after we rang the bell) before someone came.
The resort is in a beautiful location - the staff were friendly and the potential is there - I'm really hoping for a more positive review in the next couple years!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewAdventures6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews