We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clevelands House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge(Port Carling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Inn(Port Carling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestwood Inn(Port Carling)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Crest Golf Resort(Muskoka District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
80
110
81
71
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
110
81
71
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportsping pongmonday nightpiebaked goodsthe main hotellong weekendmuskoka chairsall agesbeautiful lakelake rousseaucampgolfsummerfamiliesbabysittingbakery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We travelled here with our two children 4 and 1. The grounds are kept nice and the beach and scenery was very nice. We stayed in one of the renovated cottages which was ok.. However you can see from walking around that the buildings exterior all over the resort are in desperate need of repair and in some cases a complete tear down and re-build would probably be the best. Overall we had a good time considering it rained for two days. One suggestion is that they have a large room inside with a pool table, darts, card table, chess, tv, etc for days which is rains non stop. With two small kids it's hard to entertain them in such a tiny cottage. The kids programs were great and my 4 year old loved it. However that area also needs new fencing, toys inside, etc Looked a little dirty and dungy for Toddlers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello "Melanie D" and thank you for your review! Of course, we agree that our property and scenery are incredible - we may very well have the best lakefront location in Muskoka! That said, we also know we have a few spots on our property that need some attention due to the historic nature of the resort. We are proud to tell you that many of our outdoor facilities are scheduled for minor to major refurbishments next season. With regards to our day camp area, this is the first time I have received feedback on it's physical appearance and I will be touring that area today with our maintenance team. Our day camp is one of a kind and a place for families and children that we are very proud of, your feedback will be taken to heart ASAP. Thank you once again for your review!

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After we booked, we read many negative reviews and were nervous about our decision to stay there. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was ready when we arrived and was clean and had a great window view of the lake. Staff was very pleasant. We only stayed one night, but were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with 2 double beds, and got lucky with the location.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you "Harvey B" for your review and kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the resort and we appreciate that you have chosen to share it with the Trip Advisor Universe! We hope to see you again soon!

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The view is outstanding and most of it is fine, but the rooms in North Lodge are very small and poorly equipped for the nightly price plus $15 resort fee??. We had our bed changed after first night , but secondwas not much better, too soft and sags to the middle. Dukes Refresher has a great location but a limited pub type menu. We went to CJ Minnetts one night, food was fine but decoration could only be described as early reject.The site could be so much more, but little planning in locating facilities and lots of things are extra charge over and above the $15 per day resort fee. Definitely go to Abbey bakery , located at far end of the site for snacks, lunch or breakfast

Room Tip: Cottages are better, stay out of North Lodge. You must have a room with view of water.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adventurer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello "adventurer61" and thank you sharing your experience at Clevelands House with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate the positives you have shared and being as proud as we are of our location and the many activities we have at the resort, we are glad you have mentioned them! I am sorry that the room in our North Lodge did not meet the mark entirely with you. It is a lovely, historic lodge and as a result many of the rooms are small in that building. Although many have a great view. Although some families enjoy them for the price point, some do prefer our one bedroom suites and cottages. I do hope you will consider returning to the resort and perhaps try one of our larger accommodation types as I am sure you will be very happy with it. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Let me preface this review with upon embarking on this vacation my husband and I had no expectations. All we wanted was a trip for our family ( 3 kids: 9, 5 and 3 years), that would be fun and memorable. That is exactly what we got. The scenery was beyond beautiful, and the staff were great. Everyone was warm and welcoming. Every request was adhered to and promptly addressed. The amenities for the children were really amazing. From the ball pits, outdoor play areas, shuffle board, ping pong, swimming, beach play etc, there is something to do at all times and it is all included in the price. The expense comes into play if you want to go to the water park ( a floating series of jungle gyms in the lake) or if you want to jet ski or water ski. We liked it so much we have already booked for next year. And have enticed our family to do the same.

That being said our only reservations were the rooms. We were lucky in that the weather was amazing so, we spent relatively little time in the room. However, the rooms are where they miss the mark. From the fading astro turf welcoming, broken stair spindles, office ceilings, lack of sufficient lighting ( three lamps do not make for a bright room),mold in the bathrooms, no shower heads to very little water pressure. The new linens and new carpets do not make up for the fact that the place just felt old and run down. It reminded me of my first apartment when I asked all of my friends and family to donate any used furniture and what we got was a mish mash of stuff that most likely came from my grandmother's basement. Simply put where we stayed (hillside house) felt run down and neglected. However, it should be noted that it is not the cleaning staff it is the room. The cleaning staff (Clara) was great, the lack of attention to the room is what was lacking, that is a resort management issue.

This is unfortunate given that the grounds were so beautiful. I felt like the resort has spent all of this money on the surroundings and have forgotten that the guest experience also extends to the rooms. For this resort to extend beyond it has to start paying attention to the little things. I understand that this is a cottage experience, however if you call your self a "One of Ontario's Premier Family Muskoka Resorts - Muskoka's Most Memorable Experience" then you need to extend this to your accommodations, and not just hope and pray that you have nice weather so that no one needs to be in the rooms for too long.

That being said, we love Cleveland's house and are looking forward to next year when we will be requesting an updated room:)

Room Tip: Request an updated room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you "Jen L" for your review and your very kind words! We are so glad you took note of the facilities at the resort and that you and your family got out there and had some fun! Also, a HUGE thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our team - that feels great! With regards to your comments about our rooms, we know that we have some room for improvement and are dedicated to making improvements every year. This year, we installed new carpet in every guest room along with all new linens, new Kuerig coffee makers, and even take away souvenir mugs! Next summer, we have a plan in place to update a number of our outdoor spaces including the decks you mention in your review. Thank you once again "Jen L" for the time you have taken to write a review, we appreciate it very much! Jesse Hamilton, General Manager, jesse@clevelandshouse.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went last year at this time with son & his friend and they loved it so much that I was asked to take them again. I have recommended this place to all my friends ( recommend to me by friend - thanks Linda). For $20, you can't ask for more things for the kids to do. Water park is great. Tennis, floor hockey, life-size outside chess board etc..... All accessories included in that price ( hockey equipment, life jackets etc...)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews