We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

First time for our family in the Muskoka area and we absolutely loved it. We stayed 3 nights and once we parked the car we didnt touch it untill we left. There is so much to do! Kids loved the waterpark. We did badminton, shuffboard, ping pong, canoeing and mostly relaxing in the Muskoka chairs in the even the evening.
Sure, Cleveland's house isnt new and its not posh and polished but we felt so comfortable there. Its old school Muskoma. We will be be back again next year for sure.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jdmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

What a wonderful review "Jdmoney". Please allow me to pass along our thanks from everyone here at Clevelands House Resort! Although every year we add something new for our guests to do on resort, we are proud to be "old school Muskoka". We can't wait to have you and your family back again soon!

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

For a true Muskoka cottage vacation, this is the the best family-oriented resort. There was so much to do that we didn't manage to get to half of it. Canoeing, kayaking, inflatable water park, bonfires, beach volleyball, shuffleboard, tennis, bananaboating, tubing, family games, waterskiing, fishing, boat cruises with knowledgeable guides, hiking, watershows, viewing wildlife up close... just to name a few. Cleves Day Camp is second to none, and perfect for a rainy day, or when parents need "down time". All of the staff were helpful, friendly and fun. The view and atmosphere was simply awesome, and the rooms were quiet for sleeping. The food was great. Clevelands House was perfect for everyone in our group: seniors, parents, and kids. My son said it was "the best vacation EVER!" and all of us are counting the days until we return!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LMontgomery2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I decided to take an 2 night trip to the lovely Muskoka area as a quick getaway from the big city. We were making fairly last minute arrangements and finally settled on the Clevelands house. Boy did we regret it! Before we arrived we were calling the front desk to make a reservation as the reservation hotline for the resort was closed at this point in the evening. The woman at the front desk said that she did not know if the hotel had space. I can't even imagine how much business this place must be losing due to the fact that their staff are unaware about the availability of rooms. However the next day we called the reservation hotline and they did in fact have several rooms available.

When we got to the resort, the front desk staff were extremely friendly which was the one of the only selling points of this resort. We were directed to a parking lot behind our building and after we parked it took us a while to find out how to even get into the building due to the abundance of unmarked doors. We were afraid we would open a door into somebody else's room. When we found the door into our building we had to walk up several rickety wooden steps that need repairing and a paint job. The hallways were gross and dark and dank and looked like you were stepping back into the 1960's. The room was no better. The key got stuck repeatedly in the door which were extremely sticky to open. The room barely had space for my 4 person family to move around in (the main hallway was about the width of my mother and I). The phone was on the wall and absolutely ancient. The bedrooms were DISGUSTING!!! The duvet cover in one of the rooms had brown stains on it so naturally I went to peel that off when it was time to sleep only to find that there was no sheet underneath. There was no sheet on any of the 3 beds-only duvet covers. So my options were to sleep with a dirty, stained duvet cover or without any sheet at all. Not to mention, even if the duvet cover wasn't stained it is the summer and unless I want to wake up drenched in sweat, I don't need a heavy duvet on me when I'm sleeping. The floor was clearly not vacuumed and dirty. The chest of drawers were covered in food crumbs and clothing tags, clearly from the last guests. The cleaning staff had clearly been there since there were fresh towels and made beds, but they had obviously not put a lot of effort into cleaning the room.

I did not dine at the restaurant so I can't comment on that.

The resort was however, chock full of activities. But if you are looking for a large sandy beach to lounge on, look elsewhere. The beach is pretty much an extension of the parking lot and is terribly small. They do have a water park though and can be very entertaining for children.

Abby's Bake House (which is not part of the property but in extremely close proximity) had absolutely fantastic sandwiches and pastries and is worth going to whether you are staying at the Clevelands House or the JW Marriott Rosseau. It was just wonderful!

We were planning to stay another night but we canceled and went up the street to the JW Marriott Rosseau. Do yourself a favour and spend a little extra to stay there! It was phenomenal! Clevleands House was a pigsty and absolutely not worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Avoid the Manor House!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelgirl9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Good Stuff

~ They had free Wi-Fi in the rooms. This is appreciated. I'm sure it was not easy to retrofit the old cabins with Wi-Fi

~ The waterpark is fun. Even though you had to pay $10 per day to use it. It was good value. Lots of different floaty items.

~ Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of activities. An impressive, seemingly limitless activity list.

~ Cabins are of a good size and well laid out so that you have a sense of privacy. Lots of nice old trees on the property.

~ Water show on Monday night is a must see. Do not miss this. Extremely impressive for an amateur show. Maybe the highlight of the week.

~ Lunch at Dukes restaurant was tasty. Hamburgers were excellent. Service fast and friendly.

~ Fun, loud music coming from Dukes on Friday and Saturday night. Sunday too. If you like the music like we did then you're fine. If not -this could bug you.

~ Housekeeping staff is working very hard. Arguably harder than any of the other staff. Lots of towels provided. Rooms are clean to the best of their abilities. They show up regularly.

~ Hiking and mountain bike trails around the property are beautiful and well worth checking out. However, watch for broken bridges and overhanging branches. The trails are not as well maintained as they should be.


The Not-So-Good Stuff

~ Our cabin was in a state of disrepair. Our family is ok with 'rustic' but our place went beyond that.

~ Roof leaked. A lot. In at least four different places.

~ About a third of the light bulbs in our cabin were burnt out.

~ Quite a bit of the equipment that they loan out for the sports programs is decrepit. Mountain bikes that slip gears.Tennis rackets without handles. Frisbees cracked.

~ When was the last time you saw a be back in 10 minutes sign? At Cleveland's house you will see them a lot. It is like all of the staff have constant personal emergencies they need to tend to. This happened to us at least four times. With both the sports desk and the water-sports hut.

~ When was the last time you saw an employee eat a burger and fries on the service counter in front of you? At Cleveland's house you can see it in action. You can even see him take bites of the burger before he answers your questions.

~ The food in CJ Minett's Restaurant was disappointing for our family. Maybe just not to our tastes.

~ The day we did some laundry in the laundry room it was filthy. It looked like nobody had been in there to clean it up for years. Honestly, it was shocking. Mid-week someone had tidied in there.

Overall, the feeling we got from Cleveland's House was - "Who's In Charge?". The staff were friendly enough but seemed to be left entirely to their own devices. If they didn't want to clean something up - they didn't. If they wanted to leave their workplace for personal reasons - they did. If they wanted to drive around in a golf cart all day avoiding work - zoom, zoom. The state of the facilities and the lack of supervision just didn't square with the prices charged. Did this ruin our holiday? No, we had fun and kept very active at Cleveland's House. Would we return? Not a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bagavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid, it was mediocre at best. The wooden stairs on the way up to our room were rickety, the room was average but our fridge was broken and it was very outdated.
We enjoyed the pool and activities but the cost for some was out of this world, considering the outstanding amount you pay to come in the first place.
The public restrooms were awful, cramped, smelled of MOLD and the ladies room was full of mirrors (very uncomfortable).
In closing, the brochures made a lot of promises it couldn't keep. Very disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you "Brad D" for your time in sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Your review is one we are doing some thinking about as we are very confident in the value in our room rates. We know our rooms are a little more rustic than a 4 or 5 star hotel but at the same time, we wouldn't have it any other way. We are also very proud of the countless number of activities that are included FREE with our room rates including yoga classes, guided hikes and canoe trips, morning tournaments like bocce ball and croquet, pool parties, movie nights, beach volleyball games, beer tasting classes, etc. We feel quite great about the value we offer. However, we also know we might not always meet the expectations of everybody and we always believe in learning from every Trip Advisor review. We are also happy to report that we will be completing a renovation on a number of our public washrooms this winter! Thank you once again for your review.
Jesse Hamilton
General Manager
jesse@clevelandshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It's a cottage resort. It is not the Plaza hotel. It's awesome for families or couples or anyone looking for the outdoorsy cottage experience. There are tons of organized activities, everything right there: tennis, golf, waterskiing, swimming, camp fires complete with sing along, beach volleyball. The beauty is it's all organized and on a schedule. No need to have to convince your friends to do this or that. You feel like doing something, you join the group. The staff are amazing and very friendly and helpful. They might not know the answer, but they'll find someone who does. They have a great program whereby if a staff member is doing a great job you give them a card/ticket. These cards/tickets are entered into a draw for a fund towards their tuition. Great program and I think very motivational for the staff. They have an amazing kids camp where you can drop the kids off and they are split up based on age group. The activities again are on a schedule and the activities change hourly to keep them busy and entertained. Great way for them to make friends their age and a great way to split up squabbling siblings! Mom and Dad can then go play some golf! Sweet! There are tennis clinics for kids and parents. Family games, giant checkers in the garden, ping pong, basketball, yoga, movies at night etc. etc. You can't get bored. The food is great you have two great restaurants to choose from a little pricey but the food is good. There is a small fridge in the room so you can bring snacks or little things to have for breakfast or lunch. The bakery is a short walk away and right on the water in an old chapel. We love it. We discovered it this summer and have been twice already and are planning a full week to end of the summer. I hope they never change it and turn it into just another fancy hotel up north. This is Dirty Dancing all the way. (the atmosphere I'm talking about). Would be an awesome place to have a wedding.

Room Tip: Rooms can either be a pool view or a lake view. Personally we weren't in the room all that lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you "Sandy C", that just may be our best review ever! You have captured all the incredible things that happen here at Clevelands House and have shared them with the world! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to see you again soon.
Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We came here very excited to spend a week as a family. 8 of us, 4
Adults and 4 kids. A two bedroom cottage that is stated to accommodate 9 people. The mattresses were disgusting. The pull out sofa was over 20 years old and its spring coils practically popping out. This place needs a major overhaul. The CJ Minette restaurant had very little value for the pricing. Overall, staff are friendly and helpful (like Brandy the head of housekeeping) but they are working with limitations. For the same price, we will go elsewhere next year and no doubt have much better experience.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Cara_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Oh no "Cara_Toronto", we are so sorry to hear that you did not find what you were looking for here at Clevelands House this summer. Your feedback is very helpful. I can assure you that our ownership and leadership teams care a great deal for our guest experience. In fact, we have our very own C.A.R.E. philosophy, which not only tasks our team to care for our guests every day but also to do our part in Creating Authentic Relationship Experiences with them. Just last week as an example, we installed a bunk bed in a cottage to make sure there was more room for a family than the beds there would provide. Thank you once again for your feedback and no matter where you may choose to travel next, we wish you and your family an amazing getaway.
Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
341 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 55 in Muskoka District
267 reviews
20 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Muskoka Lakes > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: £143 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Minett, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing