We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Ranked #6 of 7 Matane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at this place after taking the ferry from Baie-Comeau. The rooms are fairly clean, but the beds are not the greatest quality. They are very firm and you feel the springs. The hotel is located next to a shrimp processing plant, and since there is no A/C, opening the window for some fresh air gave way to the lovely scent of rotting seafood. Breakfast is not included and is way over priced, as is this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

I needed to stay here to wait for the morning ferry to Baie Comeau. The hotel was close to the ferry, restraunts, stores and service stations. The exterior was nicely kept and there was plenty of parking with ease. The clerk was very helpful. Check in was easy. I wish they'd get rid of the old style tvs(perhaps some more english channels).
They room was very comfortable(a little dated) and fresh. I had a great sleep.
A beautiful breakfast buffet was cooked for me(very nice) included in the price.
Check out was very easy. I would recommend this hotel without doubt as pride of ownership does show on this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We enjoy our vacation there. Everything was fine, but facility and mattress where basic for a 3 stars motel. A good point: the clerk at reception desk (it was maybe the manager, I don't know) was EXTREMELY kind and usefull. A big point for him.

We got the room which is the closest from the Saint-Laurent river; but the motel is next to Matane's port, which is a industrial port; no view from fisherman ship. If you want a cute view to the Saint-Laurent river; DON'T choose this motel.

You can eat a breakfast there; but I don't recommand-it. It's not very expensive, but orange juice was TINY, bacon too crunchy but egg where ok. For same price, go at McDonald's at 2-3 street from the motel.

We choose this motel because other Matane's motel where full; I recommed this motel if you would like a not-too-expensive motel in Matane.

Room Tip: OK motel, with basic service. Not a great view to the Saint-Laurent river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Sprawling motel from the 70's-80's. Attentive staff and quite clean. Free wifi. Beware of the sea-view rooms that have a patio door opening on the ground level parking lot... No AC or ventilation of any kind means that if you want air you must sleep with the patio door open and your room is therefore accessible to anyone prying open the flimsy screen door... Didn't have a problem but you never know.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Birthe Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisir une chambre sur le côté car celles donnant sur la route 132 peuvent être bruyantes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank QuietTraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matane hotels
2.5 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 4 in Matane
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
2.1 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 4 in Matane
224 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
5.4 mi away
Le Love du Pionnier
Le Love du Pionnier
#3 of 7 in Matane
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Motel La Vigie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Motel La Vigie

Address: 1600 avenue du Phare Ouest, Matane, Quebec G4W 3M6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matane
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Motel La Vigie 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel-Motel La Vigie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing