We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge la Seigneurie
Ranked #2 of 7 Matane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed during the summer of 2013, for 1 night and we did not like anything about this place. We were greated by the owner who wanted us to taste crocodile for supper. Of course, everyone goes to Matane to eat crocodile! We did not want to eat there, so we were positively ignored by the owner. Everything is dark, old, thin walls, depressing. No view of the river: but the best view on the back of a McDonald's restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marteli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent just one night at Auberge la Seigneurie in Matane. It is a small, somewhat older place (no elevator!) lovingly furnished and with lots of atmosphere and charme.

It is a family-run hotel with very friendly hosts and a good - but set - breakfast. The location is good, as it is just off the main road but nevertheless quiet (with a garden that could need some tending to).

The room we had was extremely small and cramped - especially considering that it was quite expensive. The room might be ok for a single traveler - but, of course, at a lower price.

Value for money: poor, which is a shame as basically this could be a very nice and inviting place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in this auberge for one night after crossing over by boat. It is located right in the middle of town but it is not noisy. It is furnished in a nice antique way and the rooms all have the names of people of the owners' family which I think is quite nice. Breakfast was really well-presented and tasted nice. The owners were friendly and helpful. The only few negative points were that the bathroom was tiny as it had been fitted in recently and that you could hear nearly everything that went on outside on the landing and in the room next to you which woke us up at 7am...I enjoyed staying there for one night but I am not sure I would want to stay for a week...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Quaint, tastefully decorated, smallish bedrooms with comfortable beds and tiny but clean, serviceable ensuite bathrooms. Such a warm feeling of friendliness, interest and genuine desire to please were exhibited by both the host and hostess. And the dinner and breakfast next morning - alone, worth a trip around the Gaspesie. At check-out time, Marie-Eve kindly provided us with directions to the fabulous bakery supplying the Auberge. A fresh baguette, the superb smoked Matane salmon we purchased at the Auberge and some good wine made for a gourmet in-room evening meal after our next day's journey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good day,

we have stayed at this Auberge on Monday Sept 17; we had the William room and apart from the bathrooms being in wardrobes, we had an great stay; the bed was comfortable, the bed sheets were crisp and you can tell that they are also quality-made; the breakfast consisted of piece of quiche, some yogurts and croissants. Unfortunately, they do not cook dinner on mondays; however we had picnic type of dinner on the balcony next to the room. Very lovely !

We would go back !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watchermontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This place was absolutely gorgeous. The owners (new owners as of April 2011) were so nice. I went there for three nights and had such a wonderful experience here that I couldn't bear to stay at a hotel afterwards in another town. Marie-Eve is a wonderful hostess and very kind. When we first arrived, we were given another room than the one that we had reserved but it was even bigger (Gabriel). Beds were made everyday and clean towels were at our disposal everyday as well. Very clean room and wi-fi worked very well which was necessary for my work. The family is very nice and discreet. Breakfasts were delicious. I fell in love with the place and would love to go back. Any negative comments I read about this place were way way off! Not a place to pass up!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Clearly the new owners have take note of comments from other reviews as when we stayed at the end of September we had little to complain about. The welcome from Marie-Eve was very good and our room clean and comfortable (William room), albeit with a rather small bathroom and toilet which had clearly been fashioned from built in wardrobes, but which functioned perfectly! The highlight for us was the recently opened restaurant which now serves evening meals which are excellent value for a 5 course meal, cooked by Marie-Eve's husband who is a trained chef. The waitresses were also well trained and gave good friendly service. Breakfast was eggs benedict (no choice given) but well cooked.
We would recommend staying here for the restaurant alone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matane hotels
0.4 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 4 in Matane
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 4 in Matane
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
2.2 mi away
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
#5 of 7 in Matane
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge la Seigneurie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge la Seigneurie

Address: 621 St-Jerome, Matane, Quebec, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matane
Price Range: £46 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge la Seigneurie 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge la Seigneurie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing