We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You needn't look any further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alicion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You needn't look any further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lunenburg is one of our favorite places to visit, and over the years, we've stayed at more than a dozen different B&B's there. That is, until we discovered Alicion. We have just returned home from our 5th stay at Alicion, and will definitely return there for all our future trips to Lunenburg. The house and grounds are charming, the rooms comfortable, the food delicious, and best of all, the hosts, Lorne and Janet, are warm and welcoming, which makes visitors feel right at home. They are also conscientious about the environment, and so the food they serve is local and fresh. In fact, everything about the place is environmentally (and people) friendly. This makes them fairly unique among B&B's. No other B&B really compares to Alicion in our experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    31
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
239
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's a first class B&B, and Lorne and Janet are a great source of local info, plugged in to their community! Lo-carb breakfast, a great walking location just on the edge of the UNESCO defined heritage area, and great hiking minutes away make for an active, or peaceful stay! It's a classic down-east heritage home with modern luxurious appointments. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Alicion B&B for two nights in late July and had a wonderful time in the Lunenburg area. Lorne was a very accomodating host, who obviously takes great pride in his home. Stayed in the Dragonfly room which was very nice, and included a Hydrotherapy tub which was fun to use. Breakfast was very good with my favorite being a veggie and cheese frittata. They also have fresh fruit, yogurt, and a selection of beverages every morning. The town,and surrounding towns, are very picturesque and make for nice low-key adventure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

As a former travel writer, I have developed a keen sense regarding quality travel experiences and accommodations. My partner, Heinz and I had the good fortune to find the Alicion B&B during a recent trip to Nova Scotia. We used the local tourist guide and were lucky to get the last room in the house on a sunny July day. What a treat to arrive and find a beautifully preserved historic home that now was a B&B run by a lovely couple Lorne and Janet, who had former experience in the hospitality business. They made us feel extremely welcome but also knew exactly how to give us privacy in their lovely house. Our room was gorgeous, one of the nicest on our entire trip and the little touches like beautiful towels, lovely soaps and a gourmet breakfast was impressive and appreciated. There are times when one can recommend a property without any reservations and I can assure you this is one of those times. Since they only have four rooms you may need to book ahead or rely on last minute luck, but, you will not only love this lovely B&B but also Lunenburg which is a charming village with fantastic restaurants -- all within walking distance of the Alicion. We loved our stay --- and, the proof ---- We booked an extra night! You will have a great experience here!

Room Tip: All four are fabulous! Two with King beds and two with queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmsdale, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Alicion for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Our hosts were very helpful in giving us advice on where to eat in Lunenburg and Lorne gave us a map with directions to local hiking spots and other local sights to see. Our breakfasts were wonderful and the conversation during breakfast made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Our room, The Dragonfly, was amazing. The bed was so comfortable, I loved it. After walking around Lunenburg and hiking at The Ovens and Hirtel's Beach we really appreciated the hydrotherapy tub in our room. I would highly recommend staying at the Alicion if traveling to the Lunenburg area. It is definitely worth it!! It is on our list of places to re-visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaIsenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the most luxurious B&B my husband and I stayed in as we travelled along the coast of Nova Scotia. I loved the dark wood, antiques and framed nature photographs taken by Lorne - one of the hosts who has a background in environmental sciences. Janet gave us a warm welcome and took the time to make sure we were comfortable as well as giving us good advice on where to eat in Lunenburg. Lorne cooked and served wonderful breakfasts and sat with the group of us for awhile each morning. I enjoyed hearing about local political issues and discussing interesting topics beyond the weather. Lorne also gave us a map with directions to local hiking spots. Hirtel's Beach to Gaff Point was the best coastal hike we've ever done! The Alicion is a pleasant 10 minute walk into Lunenburg, passing other gorgeous homes in the neighbourhood and following a path to the main street. The bedroom (the Kingfisher) was spacious and beautifully appointed. If you're planning a trip to Lunenburg, I would highly recommend that you stay at the Alicion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Alicion was our home for four days as we explored the coast around Lunenberg. From the moment we made an email inquiry about lodging availability (hosts Janet and Lorne replied within a couple hours!), and continuing through our last evening sipping wine on the sunny veranda, we felt welcome, relaxed... even pampered staying in this beautiful, spacious old home. Compared with other places we stayed on our trip to Canada, the Alicion was far superior. Our room was bright and so clean and airy. Our breakfasts were delicious and quite varied. We got great tips on day trips, bicycle rentals and kayak tours. Lorne and Janet made us feel like friends, not customers. We cannot give them higher praise as hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank della m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing