We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rob & Doreen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alicion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
“Rob & Doreen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We so enjoyed our stay with Lorne & Janet who were the ideal hosts at their lovely home. which was full of amazing antiques and was decorated tastefully in a style that matched the elegance of this century old mansion. Close to the Bluenose and waterfront Lunenburg it is in an ideal location to all the sights of this beautiful seaside town. What a pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    31
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
239
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Thank you Janet and Lorne for our stay at your B&B!! You were very warm, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Friendly setting and guests were welcomed to use the living space and veranda. Lorne catered to our food allergies at breakfast and gave generous portions!
Everything was in walking distance, and our hosts provided us with a map and dinner suggestions.
Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable! We will recommend staying to anyone visiting the lovely town of Lunenburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angekennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and it was just great. It is in a lovely old home beautifully restored, very quiet, well equipped and in a perfect location. The hosts were warm and friendly, very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit in the area. The breakfasts were generous and delicious. We would stay there again and recommend it to friends. The website accurately describes the rooms and they are as good as they look if not better!
Thank you Janet and Lorne.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Alicion Bed & Breakfast. September, 2013

The restored home is beautifully maintained, comfortable, clean and inviting. The Hosts, Lorne & Janet Johanson are warm and engaging. We enjoyed breakfast with Lorne and his shared philosophy on Environmental issues.

Lunenburg is a quaint town on the south coast of Nova Scotia and includes some terrific restaurants, interesting walking, artists, history and a wonderful Fisherman's Museum, all walkable from the B&B.

We heartily recommend this visit and stay.

Jack & Miriam

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We so much enjoyed our stay, at The Alicion. Janet and Lorne are excellent hosts and their home is beautiful. We loved the Dragonfly room. The B&B is in a great location-within walking distance of everything you want to see, in Lunenberg. Breakfasts are wonderful and a great atmosphere, to interact with your fellow guests. This was our favorite spot, in Nova Scotia and
we will always remember our time on the veranda! Thank you, Janet and Lorne and a special thanks also to Suzanne (loved your waffles!) Marcia and John TN, USA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 961Marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have a great experience as the Alicion B&B in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. The location was terrific, within walking distance of downtown, and the breakfast was superb. Enjoyed meeting the hosts and the other guests. Our room was very clean and quiet. Their suggestions for dinner were right on !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the Alicion B&B for three nights in the Periwinkle room. The inn is located within walking distance of the old town of Lunenberg. Parking is in the front of the inn, and was very convenient. Our room was comfortable and had a hydrotherapy tub (very relaxing). This was a B&B which really encouraged a green, environmental approach to living. The parlor and porch were the perfect places to go to read and relax. Our breakfasts were made with local ingredients and were very tasty and healthy. Lorne made a different hot breakfast each morning. The owners, Lorne and Janet, were very accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed visiting with them. One treat, was to be able to walk over to the local Farmer's Market on Thursday morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing