We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, eco-friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I recently enjoyed a 2-night stay with Lorne & Janet at the Alicion, as part of an organized cycling tour. It is a beautiful heritage property, both inside and outside. My room, the only guest room on the first floor was spacious, quiet, and well equipped. The breakfasts were excellent, good before a morning of cycling. I made use of the guest computer and Lorne provided a place to safely store our bicycles overnight. I especially appreciated the hosts' passion for the environment, such as using refillable shampoo containers. I hope to return with my wife in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Alicion B&B. It is one of the prettiest old homes I have ever stayed in. Lorne and Janet were very gracious and friendly. The grounds are gorgeous. Each room is beautifully appointed and relaxing. Breakfasts were super. It is a short and scenic walk to the heritage area of Lunenburg. We wanted to stay there forever!

Room Tip: The Dragonfly room has windows on two sides for nice breeze and large bathroom. Tamarack has a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at the Alicion Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were so kind and helpful. The location and the surroundings were absolutely wonderful and I would recommend this spot to everyone. If and when I travel back to Lunenburg the Alicion Bed and Breakfast will definately be the place I will stay.

Thanks again for amazing experience.

G. Whitelaw

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear G. Whitelaw,

We are taking a moment to respond to the lovely reviews we have had over the season. We want to thank you for taking the time to recommend us. They inspire great memories.

All the best, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We feel very fortunate to have been able to spend three enjoyable days in Lunenburg at this B&B. Lorne and Janet were the kindest of hosts, feeding us very delicious and healthy breakfasts and giving us great leads to visit the many beautiful sights/activities in the area. We stayed in the Dragonfly Room and it was extremely comfortable with a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. We would enthusiastically recommend this B&B highly to anyone who needs to stay in the Lunenburg area.

Room Tip: The Dragonfly Room was roomy and very comfortable, with a bonus feature of a whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch_Noreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Hi Mitch and Noreen,

We thank you very much for the enthusiastic recommendation you provided after your visit. We are taking some time to catch up on expressing our appreciation. Please come back.

All the best, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights in Lunenburg, while staying at the graceful, serene Alicion b&b. Lorne and Janet have a wonderful stately home, well-appointed, with a great wrap around porch that we used to relax and read about the history of the area (with great readings provided on the coffee table). Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the design of the white bathroom that had everything we needed in a compact space. Breakfast was delicious and filling. The other guests were very friendly and helpful, while sharing breakfast and travel stories at the large dining table in the mornings. Lorne had great tips of where to eat in town. We highly recommend staying at the Alicion b&b in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Karen V,

We would like to thank you very much for the excellent review you provided after your visit. It reminds us of all the happy traffic going back and forth through our door and enjoying our veranda.

All the best, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We go to the Lunenburg Folk Harbour Festival every August, and since discovering Alicion perhaps a decade ago, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. There are lots of places with comfortable rooms and good breakfasts, but as B&B's go, Alicion is in a class of its own. Having been to many B&B's, including a dozen or so in the Lunenburg-Mahone Bay area, we can say unequivocally that this is our favourite. Lorne and Janet, the hosts, are dedicated to providing healthy, green accommodations, which unfortunately tend to be all too rare for B&B's, hotels and motels. After Lorne has served up his delicious breakfast, he often joins in the conversation, which, more often than not, is interesting, thoughtful and provocative, and its not uncommon to relax with Janet and Lorne on their lovely deck in the evening. Alicion has not seen the last of us!

Ruth and Herb Gamberg, Halifax

Room Tip: The three rooms we have stayed in were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthmg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Ruthmg,

We greatly appreciate the kind review you have provided. Having guests like you both is a real treat for us and when you come back every year, it makes it very special indeed.

Warm Regards, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in the Kingfisher room. The room was very comfortable, Lorne and Janet were lovely hosts, and the breakfasts were excellent. The location is ideal -- quiet but close to everything. We would highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ManuelaPB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Manuela,

Thanks very much for your high recommendation.

All the best, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 26 in Lunenburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing