We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like You are in the Country Side”
Review of Homeport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homeport Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feels Like You are in the Country Side”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This very clean and comfortable motel is run by a couple of friendly ladies who are always on hand to assist with your needs. You are walking distance to a chain grocery store and Tim Hortons. The motel provides bar-b-q's for guests to use. Laundry facilities are also on site.
Take a stroll to see the ship yards where the Bluenose II is under construction.
Beautiful area, great affordable place to stay.
Check out an area called Blue Rocks before you leave here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    38
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Homeport Motel for one night during our visit to Lunenburg and Mahone Bay. The motel is located on a beautiful, wooded, well-landscaped property about a 2-minute drive from downtown Lunenburg. There's also a Tim Hortons, gas station, and liquor store within a minute's walk. Our room was quite large and very clean, with a comfortable bed and nice linens. Clean, good-sized bathroom with plenty of towels. It's an older property, but everything looks very clean and well cared for. The owner is very sweet, and gave us great advice on places to eat and park in downtown Lunenburg. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina,Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A very comfortable and clean motel that was perfect for us after a long day of driving and sighseeing. We were in the middle row of motel rooms.........two queen beds. The owner was just closing things up when we phoned from another town and she waited up for us to arrive (we arrived around 10:00 pm). Nice bright reading lights and good lighting throughout which I always appreciate. Very clean and efficient bathroom. Good location, as others have mentioned. I am glad I had read about this place on TripAdvisor....it was exactly what we needed for a great night's sleep. And, in the morning, as we were packing up....we discover that the people in the next motel room our from our home town and know people that live on our block at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildrover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I made our first trip to Nova Scotia in July 2012. We visited many towns and stayed in several motels. When we got to the Homeport Motel, we were immediately met by Gertrude, the owner, who was not only very pleasant, but also gave us EXCELLENT advice on things to see and do. Her good will and good advice lasted throughout our entire stay… she was always available to help, and a true joy and pleasure to speak with! My wife and I truly believe that she cared that we had a good stay and very memorable experience. Our room was large, well cared-for, and spotless. The bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in while on the road! Everything you need for a fun, good, worry-free stay, is at the Homeport Motel. We will be back the next time we come to Nova Scotia! SJC

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJC57377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford,UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The motel is attractive and well run. Rooms are a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room was well equipped with cutlery, paper plates, coffee machine, coffee mugs, microwave. There are nice gas barbecues you can use and picnic tables on the grass. We couldn't get the air-conditioner to work in our room, but were comfortable sleeping with the windows open (mesh fly screens on the windows). A bonus was having a guest laundry (one washing machine & one dryer) at very reasonable prices - $2.50 and $2. Supermarket and liquor store right next door, Tim Hortons over the road. Easy to walk into Lunenburg, first along the road (with footpath) and then along a very pleasant path through a park. It takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pincourt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We booked this hotel from the referral of the info office in Lunenberg. We paid without able to see room and we were all very pleasantly surprised. Very clean, well supplied family unit, spacious unit with large bathroom and 2 bedrooms slept 6 persons. Beautiful grounds with picnic tables and bbq's to use. Owner Gertrude was very accommodating with quick check in and hospitality. Oh yes, before we forget, the bed and bed sheets were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Fast registration hours before the official check in time. Surprised to find such a clean, well supplied kitchenette. Coffee machine, coffee, dishes, hair dryer, lots of clean white towels, anything we thought we needed we found. Green lawns and beautiful mature trees on property. Quiet and bed was so comfortable with good quality sheets. Tim Horton's coffee shop and Hardware store across the street Grocery store and liquor store just next door. I plan to stay here again and bring my dogs next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0rkyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
6.6 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
99 reviews
10.1 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Motel

Property: Homeport Motel
Address: 167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeport Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Homeport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Hotel Lunenburg
Homeport Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing