We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is outstanding and Mary is wonderful”
Review of Topmast Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Topmast Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
amelia58
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The view is outstanding and Mary is wonderful”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed at the Top Mast for over 20 years and absolutely love it. You can not beat sitting on the deck at sunset and watching the colors of Lunenburg change. The buildings are so colorful, red, blue, purple and orange. You can watch sail boats and fishing boats come and go as well as the resident osprey. The rooms are clean and comfortable and some have kitchenettes so you can eat on your deck. The best , which I have saved to last, is Mary. She runs the office and make you feel so welcomed . She and Gary even made a little ramp to help my Dad, who uses a walker, get up the small step into the room. I would say that it is because of her kindness and warm friendly manner, we have come back year after year. It also helps that the view is "to die for"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Digby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Well i'll start by saying we stayed at this motel last Aug/2012 and again Aug/2013...we are a group of 6 women who just want to get away for the weekend...the motel is just perfect ...we cooked our own meals in the kitchen and enjoyed the beautiful view of Lunenburg...Mary always goes above and beyond to make our stay perfect, either by giving us directions, extra supplies etc...she is a true gem...Thanks again Mary we will see you next year...save our room for the third weekend in August!!! From your Digby friends.

Room Tip: Room # 11 has a great big deck perfect for views and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The reason we picked this motel was because of the view, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are small but clean and efficient. The staff was very friendly and the muffins in the morning were delicious. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

No question the view of Lunenburg is great from this location but I am sure we could have some other good photo ops. Stayed one night and if I had booked for two nights we would have moved.
The rooms are dated, simple but very clean. No A/C in our room. You can get a muffin and coffee on the morning but can just as easily go down the road for breakfast.
We are normally B&B people and have recently stayed in some outstanding places in NS and PEI at a significantly lower cost when you have to factor in breakfast costs re the Topmast. We think for what we got it is overpriced but if people are willing to pay that then it works for them

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The other reviewers are right - the view of Lunenburg is spectacular from the terraces attached to each room, the guest rooms are small and they are as clean as can be...but there is no air conditioning and on a hot day the ceiling fan just doesn't do it if there is no breeze coming through the windows. We stayed the one night. I talked with Mary when making the reservation but another woman checked us in...she too was very nice and gave me some brochures on sights to see in the area. I checked out with Mary in the morning and she was lovely, but nothing was ever said about muffins....we went down the road and grabbed a quick breakfast at Tim Horton's.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The topmast Motel has the most fabulous view of Lunenburg. Rooms are very nice and clean and comfortable. Staff is wonderful. Mary makes you feel like family and her Blueberry muffins are amazing. To bad it rained all weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoffa155008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and loved the location and the view. Our room had a small private terrace with a wonderful view. Unfortunately it was raining and we couldn't get the most out of it. The room was clean with a little Kitchener. The bathroom was also clean with everything you would need, towels, hair dryer, shampoo and so on. The price was reasonable and I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aries2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
116 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topmast Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topmast Motel

Property: Topmast Motel
Address: 92 Masons Beach Road | PO Box 958, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only property with the spectacular view of Lunenburg's UNESCO World Heritage site waterfront, and Old Town. 3/4 kilometer to Old Town; 1/2 kilometer to beach, tennis courts and trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Topmast Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topmast Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing