We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable Motel”
Review of Topmast Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topmast Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Belleville
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable Motel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Topmast is located on a hill, and each room has a spectacular view of the historic town of Lunenburg. Our room was small, but comfortable, and included a fridge and microwave oven. Beds were comfortable. Each room has a deck. There's no air conditioning, but our room was equipped with a ceiling fan as well as an oscillating fan on a stand. Staff were friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for something a little cheaper and not right in the middle of town, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

It's beautiful and gorgeous view. Nice clean motel with complete amenities in the room. I love the 'spill towel' idea. Travelling with 2 kids under 6 accidents always happened. Very friendly staff. Very recommended motel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwitya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just wanted to say a special thank you for sending us back our hat that we left behind!! The room was exceptionally clean, and the view was beautiful. We will definitely stay here again.
Thanks so much, Cliff and Mandy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amelia58
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed at the Top Mast for over 20 years and absolutely love it. You can not beat sitting on the deck at sunset and watching the colors of Lunenburg change. The buildings are so colorful, red, blue, purple and orange. You can watch sail boats and fishing boats come and go as well as the resident osprey. The rooms are clean and comfortable and some have kitchenettes so you can eat on your deck. The best , which I have saved to last, is Mary. She runs the office and make you feel so welcomed . She and Gary even made a little ramp to help my Dad, who uses a walker, get up the small step into the room. I would say that it is because of her kindness and warm friendly manner, we have come back year after year. It also helps that the view is "to die for"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Well i'll start by saying we stayed at this motel last Aug/2012 and again Aug/2013...we are a group of 6 women who just want to get away for the weekend...the motel is just perfect ...we cooked our own meals in the kitchen and enjoyed the beautiful view of Lunenburg...Mary always goes above and beyond to make our stay perfect, either by giving us directions, extra supplies etc...she is a true gem...Thanks again Mary we will see you next year...save our room for the third weekend in August!!! From your Digby friends.

Room Tip: Room # 11 has a great big deck perfect for views and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The reason we picked this motel was because of the view, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are small but clean and efficient. The staff was very friendly and the muffins in the morning were delicious. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

No question the view of Lunenburg is great from this location but I am sure we could have some other good photo ops. Stayed one night and if I had booked for two nights we would have moved.
The rooms are dated, simple but very clean. No A/C in our room. You can get a muffin and coffee on the morning but can just as easily go down the road for breakfast.
We are normally B&B people and have recently stayed in some outstanding places in NS and PEI at a significantly lower cost when you have to factor in breakfast costs re the Topmast. We think for what we got it is overpriced but if people are willing to pay that then it works for them

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
112 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topmast Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topmast Motel

Property: Topmast Motel
Address: 92 Masons Beach Road | PO Box 958, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only property with the spectacular view of Lunenburg's UNESCO World Heritage site waterfront, and Old Town. 3/4 kilometer to Old Town; 1/2 kilometer to beach, tennis courts and trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Topmast Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topmast Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing