We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”
Review of Arbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arbor View Inn
Ranked #26 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My Husband and I chose to spend our Anniversary at the "Arbor View" and were not disappointed! We chose the Annapolis Suite on the top floor, what a wonderful spacious room! We loved the victorian furniture, and the jet tub was a big plus! The soft warm robes were my favorite! I must say that the inn keepers were not intrusive at all! During our yummy breakfast we asked our host Cindy, if she could recommend a nice place for a hike. She said that she thought we might enjoy "Hurtle Beach". What a beautiful place and the veiw was magnificent! Cindy also recommended that we have lunch at the LaHave bakery, which was delicious! At the end of the day when we came back to the Inn it was so peaceful, we could have slept for hours!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33charity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

Cindy & Pete are such an absolute pleasure and truly made us feel at home in Lunenburg. Their heritage home was beautiful, impeccable and welcoming. Three nights of great sleep, and waking up to the most incredible breakfasts. They're a great example to other B&Bs and definately exceeded our expectations. Not to mention - they've got a great sense of humour and know how to make a perfect pot of tea at the end of a long day. Would gladly recommend them to anyone travelling to the area.

Room Tip: Great website shows all info
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theredshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Cindy & Pete run the best B&B we've ever stayed in. They are the most welcoming and engaging couple and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with them about the area. The period B&B is beatiful, and the large rooms are completed to the last detail. And if you like a great breakfast, then you're in the right place. A great value and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This is how every B&B should be run !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryPiperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arborview, Owner at Arbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Every so often we are fortunate to meet those friends you've never met. We had the good fortune of these awesome people electing us to stay with. Easy conversation following a wonderful breakfast to start the day is always a reminder as to why we got into this business. We appreciate all of our guests, no doubt, but it's not often you get to meet real bagpipers either! Good luck with your endeavours and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great place for the serious bed and breakfast crowd. We enjoyed the rich history of the house in a town know for it's Canadian history. The innkeepers knew so many details and were able to point us towards further sources of historical research, including pre-world war 1 letters from the Inn's original owners! Beds were great, room was spacious, and everything as promised on their website was delivered.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Arbor View Inn this past August and we certainly were not disappointed. Innkeepers Peter and Cindy were the ideal hosts in each and every way. They were hospitable, friendly, courteous, unintrusive and helpful in answering any and all questions regarding sights to see and places to eat.

The Inn itself was impressive with it's grand staircase, the large front foyer, the three tiered balcony and the clean, spacious rooms....not to mention the lovely, large grounds this little slice of heaven sat on. It was only a few steps off the beaten path yet close enough to the center of town that walking to the historic spots took only a few minutes.

Unfortunately for Peter and Cindy there was a large cancellation the night we stayed, yet fortunately for us we had the entire place to ourselves. Since Peter and Cindy have a totally private residence adjoining the main house we enjoyed the solitude and privacy we'd been craving.

The following morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast served up by Peter which included fresh local fruits, homemade cranberry scones, scrambled eggs, bacon and some of the best coffee we'd had on our entire trip.

I must also give mention that when I booked our room over the phone Peter was incredibly helpful in giving me tons of advice on other places to visit in Nova Scotia. He told me about Brier Island, Pictou Lodge and Inginish Beach on Cape Breton (all of which we ended up visiting thanks to him.) Thank you for your unwavering patience Peter. Your kindness and eagerness to help out a clueless traveller were greatly appreciated. More than you'll ever know.

I would strongly recommend this charming B+B to any one of my friends or family members. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krustytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

An elegant victorian inn in a quiet location. Best described by what it doesn't have. It doesn't have a smelly restaurant kitchen under your bedroom. It doesn't have a lack of parking. It doesn't have noisy tourists outside your window like all of the other inns in the downtown district. It is close enough to downtown to walk or just a quick trip in a car. The food is great and Cindy's scones really are to die for. But the best thing about this inn are it's owners Cindy and Pete who put themselves out to look after their guests neeeds and are well on the way to making this the inn of their dreams.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alma_eccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed two nights at this gracious inn recently to recuperate after a hectic month, and what a lovely idea it turned out to be. Our hosts were most accomodating of our needs, attentive but never intrusive, pampering us with a special tray to lounge with on the balcony (oh, that balcony! expansive, lined with planter's chairs, overlooking serene green gardens)
The rooms were thoughtfully appointed and the bath, spacious. Free wi-fi, common computer, community cookie jars/fruit bowls and hot/cold beverage stations were all included.
The breakfast was more like a buffet on a plate...fruit, fresh berries, applewood sausage, yogurt, eggs, flaky cranberry scones, juice, coffee and cereal, yum!
A truly peaceful place to retreat and rest, especially lovely for a quick getaway if you're local, like us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLunenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluenose Lodge
Bluenose Lodge
#20 of 26 in Lunenburg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor View Inn

Address: 216 Dufferin Street | PO Box 1242, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £98 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbor View (c. 1907) is an award winning 4,500 square-foot historical home situated on a one-acre estate above Lunenburg’s Front and Back Harbours. The Owners’ residence is a separate adjunct to the property and is adjoined through the Inn’s commercial kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor View Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing