We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Baking - Very Little Space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe

Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Counter service
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Baking - Very Little Space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The baking is beautiful. The lunches look good, but I have never had a lunch there so can't say for certain.

However, the draw backs are the following:

1) The cafe has very limited seating. If you manage to get a seat, it is very close to everyone else so there is absolutely no privacy for conversation. The ceilings are low and the tables close together so it gives a feeling of being crowded and you feel overheard by everyone around you.

2) The service is very slow. They need an extra body behind the counter. I have stood there for a very a long time several times which resulted in me just stopping to go in there. A few times I have given up and left.

3) If would be great if this cafe was open in the evenings in Lunenburg. They have a few seats and tables on the street to compliment what are inside. As there are a lot of tourists in town this time of year, there is absolutely no where to go and have a seat and a coffee or tea after dinner. You can't spend all your time in your hotel room. I think people would enjoy going in there for dessert, coffee, tea after dinner, maybe use the internet and have a chat or sit at the tables on the sidewalk.

Lunenburg always looks like it folds up at 5 p.m.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atlanticbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm Lobster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went in here on a recent visit to Lunenberg. We had awesome lobster rolls and a large coffee. Just what we needed to warm us up. We had planned on a cake but the rolls were so big and filling we did not have room left. Seating is limited here, but get a take away if it is full, you will not be disappointed. It is a lovely, friendly, warm and welcoming place, a must visit of you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katbob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“met friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had coffee and a cake at this cafe. Friendly staff. Prices a little more than Tim Hortons but the food is well worth the price. Good atmosphere. Clean and comfy. Would recommend to others visiting in Lunenburg.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sweet!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoy going every time I am in Lunenburg. Lots of sweets, pastries, cheesecakes, etc. to try. Many different choices of coffees and teas to try too. Seating is limited but quite quaint. There is seating outside which is beautiful on a warm summer day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 349sherib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou County, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The bridal party and friends enjoyed a wonderful rehearsal dinner in Kate's cafe after regular business hours. There were about twenty of us who had beautiful spinach-feta stuffed leg of lamb as well as a very tasty parmesan-encrusted chicken dish. With caesar salad, and sides of potato, and awesome grilled vegetables. Although it was buffet style with more than enough for all, tje wait staff were very pleasant and attentive to our needs. A selection of yummy desserts including a variety of cheesecakes. Highly recommend Kate's Sweet Indulgence!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing