We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visitor, beautiful scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor, beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We usually visit here every Summer. Our most recent stay was July 12th and we stayed in the Lily Pond Cottage. Nice and spacious, clean and amazing views of the ocean. We were lucky enough to have had a cruise ship in port all day until the wee hours of Sunday morning and the moonlight shining on the water and lights from the ship were awesome. Great location. Close to town, but just far enough to be able to enjoy the peace and quiet and view. The bunnies are always a hit with our kids and an added bonus. We will be back again nest Summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista9698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    35
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This review would have to be two parts since my family was split.

I stayed in the Atlantic View cottage which seemed to be the largest and furthest out. This was a spacious little house which was perfect for our little one to run around in. It contained basic items in the kitchen and bath. The smoke detector is a bit sensitive -- it seemed that whenever we cooked (even with windows open) it would go off with the faintest hint of smoke. There was plenty of outdoor space as well. We brought fresh lobster back and cooked it using the pots and pans that the owners let us use and we were able to feast on the picnic table outside. Overall very happy with the cottage.

My parents and sister stayed in a standard room and their experience was somewhat different than ours. This was the actual "motel" part of the property. The room is smaller, but still contained basic amenities. The view is great when cars aren't parked directly in front of the windows. There was a large group that also stayed there at the same time and they were up late, outside. Unfortunately, my parents and sister were unable to sleep well due to the noise level being so high.

For both rooms, the wi-fi was terrible :( This was a disappointment, but we managed. I would recommend booking a cottage over a standard room if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in the row have a higher noise level than the cottages. Recommend the cottages only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurbuTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I enjoyed very relaxed holidays in Atlantic View Motel. The view is breathtaking, the rooms very cozy and comfortable. I prefer the quiet location right at the sandy beach bay instead of sleeping in the center of the well known Town of Lunenburg, just in walking distance easy to reach. The owner (family from Switzerland) are very professional, helpful and familiar with the area since many years. Looking forward to another stay in May I recommend this lovely location to everybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenosehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

unfortunately left our planning last minute and ended up here....was asked for a deposit ahead of time, instead of just taking a credit card # to hold reservation. Cheque was not cashed on arrival and two months after vacation ...not impressed with Atlantic view...our view was of our vehicle which we had to park directly in our view of anything. Very old fashioned décor and rather small.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puffycop, Owner at Atlantic View Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We would like to clarify that we do accept Credit Card payments for deposits and always did.
We are sorry that you had a unpleasant stay but could it be that it has something to do with your personal cheque that was bounced because of non-sufficient funds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Loved the location and awoke to fog on the ocean. We enjoyed our stay.. the cabin was clean and homey. The staff was friendly. We would return there and stay longer than the one night. Would look forward to a bonfire and a moonlit night looking at the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wincikabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in a their smallest cabin and it wasn't any bigger than a hotel room. It was VERY basic and a couple of steps above camping, but the location is serene and the owners were super kind about not charging us for booking for the wrong night. We didn't realize it until we were way past the refund deadline, but they didn't charge us or act in the least be upset. These cottages are a couple of miles outside of town so you need a car to get to Lunenburg from there, but it's only minutes away. They came daily and changed the towels (not the sheets which is fine by me) and our unit had a small fridge, a coffee maker, hot water pot, dishes, pots and pans (no stove) and there was a grill next door. You have to wash your dishes in a tub with water from the tiny bathroom sink, so this isn't for people who want to be pampered. Note: bring a hairdryer! It was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This place was awesome. Bright sunny rooms with huge windows front and back looking out over the Atlantic Ocean. The staff was friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated. They had sample menus from the local restaurants which helped you choose a dinner venue. The rooms had coffee makers (with a small container of ground coffee rather than those horrible tasting pre packaged envelopes provided with most in room coffee machines) The location was amazing, only a few blocks from the Lunnenburg harbour . Comfortable beds and fast wifi.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "strip" of motel rooms, but the separate cottages looked similarly appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Motel & Cottages

Property: Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Address: 230 Masons Beach Rd, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful seaside destination in a woodland setting; just one minute from historic Lunenburg.You'll hear the waves lapping at the shoreline from your choice of accommodation - a cozy cottage, housekeeping unit, or comfortable motel room. In the morning have coffee on the beach or in our pond-site sitting area while the sea gulls and red-winged blackbird greet the day.Families will love the Atlantic View's ample green space and beach where children can run, play in the waves and swim. This is a perfect location for vacationing sea kayakers and cyclists, and golfers will have a spectacular and challenging nine-hole course just over the hill from us. Historic Old Town Lunenburg, designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO for its exceptional architecture, natural beauty and working waterfront, is only 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Atlantic View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing