We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boscawen Inn
Nearby Hotels
Smugglers Cove Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Homeport Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgewater Hotel(Bridgewater)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
154
35
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
35
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden furnitureperfect venuehot food to orderphotography workshophoneymoon suiteoutdoor deckowners and staffbuffet stylelittle bit of heavenwonderful deckb blunenburg harbournew ownerscharm and charactertwo twin bedsyogurtdelicious hot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On the evening of the winter solstice, we celebrated our son and new daughter's wedding at the Boscawen. Everything was perfect! We visited the inn and met Johnathan and Judy back in March, 2013 and felt the kids had made the right choice then. And they surely had. From the time we arrived two nights before the wedding to the moment we left, we were in friendly, capable and professional hands.
The inn truly is ideal for a small-ish wedding. There were about 45 of us in total and we filled the inn over two nights. The inn was beautifully decorated and an awful lot of painting and redecorating of many rooms had been done since our previous visit. All our guests loved the spot! We held the actual ceremony in front of the fireplace in the downstairs parlour. As soon as the ceremony was over, Johnathan and Judy were pouring champagne as waiters circulated with hors d'oeuvres. The inn-leepers were dressed smartly, and I, for one greatly appreciated how they went about their business - the business of making their guests welcome.
Everything we asked about over the months prior relating to the wedding was tended to, or suggestions given.
The catererer for the Boscawen Inn is Sweet and Saucey. The meal that Mary Ann and her staff prepared for us was truly the best. A little biased here, but I don't think I have been to another wedding with better food than this one. From the hors d'oeuvres offered at the after ceremony reception ( four delicious choices) through to a late supper of seafood chowder ( we are in Lunenburg after all) every dish was well presented and served at the right temperature. We had a parsnip soup, four additional appetizers including lobster bisque shots, and filet mignon which were all totally yummy! And being a few days prior to Christmas, a lovely egg nog bread pudding rounded off dinner. The service was exceptional, swift and attentive. I truly can't say enough about the catererer or the inn-keepers.
Bottom line - If I ever decided to get married again ( to the same woman that I married 43 years ago) it would be there - it was that great!

Thank you so very much to all concerned! And prospective brides and grooms - Just Say Yes To The Inn!

Room Tip: We like the Turret room, even although it awaits being re-decorated and it is at the top of two flights of stairs. Very nice view! And we are in a turret!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What can I say that has not already been said? Yes, the Boscawen Inn requires an investment of time and money but the new owners Judy and Jonathan are doing just that. They purchased the Boscawen Inn and have embraced the restoration as a labour of love, determined to restore the Inn to her original glory. The Inn was built as a Father’s gift to his daughter on her wedding day in 1888.
The pride of workmanship reflecting the era is visible everywhere. It is mind boggling when you consider that skilled artisans achieved this without the assistance of modern day tools. In 1995, the town was listed as a UNESCO Heritage Site World.
The breakfast reflected the beautiful room where we ate. It was delicious and plentiful but most of all it was relaxing just to sit and enjoy the luxuriousness of our surroundings. I would be remiss in not mentioning the views from this room and the Admiral’s deck. They were remarkable and one could only imagine Lunenburg’s history unfolding from these vantage spots.
Our biggest disappointment was that our itinerary did not allow another night as guests of the Boscawen Inn. The warmth and genuine sincerity from our hosts definitely enhanced our stay and helped create memorable moments.

Thank you.

Christmas Greetings from Victoria!

Room Tip: We loved the 'turret' room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dole67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

You forgot one thing - great guests! I am not sure why but for some reason the Boscawen attracts the best people. I love meeting all the different, wonderful people that visit and finding out about their travels or what brings them to this special town. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this delightful 125 year old building in Lunenburg.....a couple of blocks off the main street, but nothing in Lunenburg is far away, so this short stroll is delightful. And the view of the harbour and golf course is so fantastic. We stayed in the corner room with the turret window. Very quiet space, large bathroom - all in all well worth the trip. November is a pretty quiet time to be there, so we had our run of the inn if we wanted:) Owners Judy and Jon and their staff Dina were so warm and inviting. J and J have owned the Boscawen for only 1 year, can't wait to go back to see how they update whilst keeping the charm.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front, with view of the harbour - just fantastic.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

went there for two days for a first visit with friends. We expected tradition, we had it all.
Ideally situated in the UNESCO heritage village this building has been an inn for many years. You really could count on a special ambience with a lot of something of a very nice past.
We liked it! The rooms we had weren't too big but the furniture was nice and the view on the bay was what we were looking for! Batrooms could be better but are ok.
Friendly staff.
The only problem we had was that because we arrived in November, breakfast isn't served anymore at that time of year. Pity.

Room Tip: Choose sea view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jepial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great B&B with lots of character. The hosts are super nice and helpful. The breakfast was good (the fruit was not fantastic, but everything else was). I enjoyed the view from my cozy room, from the terrace, the public rooms and the breakfast room, and I enjoyed the feel of history all around me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews