We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
Review of Boscawen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boscawen Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We will come back to have our wedding here ;) The customer service was all around amazing. The breakfast was fantastic with an incredible view. We felt very welcome and certainly recommend this to anyone visiting the Lunenburg area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    32
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boscawen Inn. The property and inn is beautiful (I can see why people host weddings here!) but not nearly as lovely as the couple that owns it. Jonathan and Judy pay special attention to their guests to ensure that their stay is everything and more than expected - I felt like I was in a fairy tale! The turret room is beautiful - as discussed in previous posts. The breakfast was delicious and provided a lot of options. In addition, Judy and Jonathan provided great recommendations for dinner as well as for things to do and see in Lunenburg. Lastly, my boyfriend and I are a young couple and don't often have opportunities to enjoy such luxuries as the Boscawen Inn. We both felt that Judy and Jonathan made this extra special for us! Thanks! We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reefhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I recently were married at the Boscawen on Dec 21st, 2013. We could not have chosen a better venue. The couple that owns the Inn could not have been more helpful or accommodating. They made sure that everything we could have asked for was taken care of, and even more. When there was a small hiccup with someone of our floral arrangements on the wedding day, they made all the requisite phone calls and ensured everything was back on track.

The inn itself is an old Victorian-era manor, and it has been converted nicely into an inn. There is a very welcoming feel to it at all, as if you're staying at a friend's house as opposed to a hotel. The majority of our wedding guests stated that they were also very impressed with the venue and intend on staying there should they ever end up back in Lunenburg. I can assure you, we will stay here many times more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou County, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On the evening of the winter solstice, we celebrated our son and new daughter's wedding at the Boscawen. Everything was perfect! We visited the inn and met Johnathan and Judy back in March, 2013 and felt the kids had made the right choice then. And they surely had. From the time we arrived two nights before the wedding to the moment we left, we were in friendly, capable and professional hands.
The inn truly is ideal for a small-ish wedding. There were about 45 of us in total and we filled the inn over two nights. The inn was beautifully decorated and an awful lot of painting and redecorating of many rooms had been done since our previous visit. All our guests loved the spot! We held the actual ceremony in front of the fireplace in the downstairs parlour. As soon as the ceremony was over, Johnathan and Judy were pouring champagne as waiters circulated with hors d'oeuvres. The inn-leepers were dressed smartly, and I, for one greatly appreciated how they went about their business - the business of making their guests welcome.
Everything we asked about over the months prior relating to the wedding was tended to, or suggestions given.
The catererer for the Boscawen Inn is Sweet and Saucey. The meal that Mary Ann and her staff prepared for us was truly the best. A little biased here, but I don't think I have been to another wedding with better food than this one. From the hors d'oeuvres offered at the after ceremony reception ( four delicious choices) through to a late supper of seafood chowder ( we are in Lunenburg after all) every dish was well presented and served at the right temperature. We had a parsnip soup, four additional appetizers including lobster bisque shots, and filet mignon which were all totally yummy! And being a few days prior to Christmas, a lovely egg nog bread pudding rounded off dinner. The service was exceptional, swift and attentive. I truly can't say enough about the catererer or the inn-keepers.
Bottom line - If I ever decided to get married again ( to the same woman that I married 43 years ago) it would be there - it was that great!

Thank you so very much to all concerned! And prospective brides and grooms - Just Say Yes To The Inn!

Room Tip: We like the Turret room, even although it awaits being re-decorated and it is at the top of two flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What can I say that has not already been said? Yes, the Boscawen Inn requires an investment of time and money but the new owners Judy and Jonathan are doing just that. They purchased the Boscawen Inn and have embraced the restoration as a labour of love, determined to restore the Inn to her original glory. The Inn was built as a Father’s gift to his daughter on her wedding day in 1888.
The pride of workmanship reflecting the era is visible everywhere. It is mind boggling when you consider that skilled artisans achieved this without the assistance of modern day tools. In 1995, the town was listed as a UNESCO Heritage Site World.
The breakfast reflected the beautiful room where we ate. It was delicious and plentiful but most of all it was relaxing just to sit and enjoy the luxuriousness of our surroundings. I would be remiss in not mentioning the views from this room and the Admiral’s deck. They were remarkable and one could only imagine Lunenburg’s history unfolding from these vantage spots.
Our biggest disappointment was that our itinerary did not allow another night as guests of the Boscawen Inn. The warmth and genuine sincerity from our hosts definitely enhanced our stay and helped create memorable moments.

Thank you.

Christmas Greetings from Victoria!

Room Tip: We loved the 'turret' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dole67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
You forgot one thing - great guests! I am not sure why but for some reason the Boscawen attracts the best people. I love meeting all the different, wonderful people that visit and finding out about their travels or what brings them to this special town. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this delightful 125 year old building in Lunenburg.....a couple of blocks off the main street, but nothing in Lunenburg is far away, so this short stroll is delightful. And the view of the harbour and golf course is so fantastic. We stayed in the corner room with the turret window. Very quiet space, large bathroom - all in all well worth the trip. November is a pretty quiet time to be there, so we had our run of the inn if we wanted:) Owners Judy and Jon and their staff Dina were so warm and inviting. J and J have owned the Boscawen for only 1 year, can't wait to go back to see how they update whilst keeping the charm.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front, with view of the harbour - just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virton, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

went there for two days for a first visit with friends. We expected tradition, we had it all.
Ideally situated in the UNESCO heritage village this building has been an inn for many years. You really could count on a special ambience with a lot of something of a very nice past.
We liked it! The rooms we had weren't too big but the furniture was nice and the view on the bay was what we were looking for! Batrooms could be better but are ok.
Friendly staff.
The only problem we had was that because we arrived in November, breakfast isn't served anymore at that time of year. Pity.

Room Tip: Choose sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jepial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscawen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscawen Inn

Property: Boscawen Inn
Address: 150 Cumberland Street | PO Box 489, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscawen Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boscawen, as seen on Amazing Race, is the perfect spot to set up base and visit Nova Scotia. Jon and Judy are looking forward to meeting you and will strive to ensure your visit to Lunenburg will be the best it can be. The Boscawen is available for destination weddings, spa getaways or just a quiet weekend with a good book. We are already filling up for weddings in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boscawen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscawen Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing